Questions about Metamagic Rods


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game, Companion, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Is there any restriction to the number of metamagic rods of a particular type that character can possess and use? What I am trying to determine is if there a cap to the number of times a particular ability can be used per day. Could a character have two Lesser Metamagic Rods of Maximize and use the Maximize ability 6 times per day?

Further, I would assume that the rod is limited to a number of uses per day to prevent the user from passing the item to another spell caster to use.

I could not find anything in the rules specifically about these questions.


1970Zombie wrote:
Could a character have two Lesser Metamagic Rods of Maximize and use the Maximize ability 6 times per day?

Yep. Part of the reason you won't find anything in the rules about it is because that's how D&D worked through 3.X. If you have 100 potions, you can drink all 100 potions all in consecutive actions if you'd like. . .


However, there is nothing to stop a player from passing a rod to another caster. But the uses per day is per rod, not per caster. Also, remember the cost and caster level to create - 17th level to create any of the rods, even lesser.


Major__Tom wrote:
However, there is nothing to stop a player from passing a rod to another caster. But the uses per day is per rod, not per caster. Also, remember the cost and caster level to create - 17th level to create any of the rods, even lesser.

You don't need to be 17th caster level to craft a maximize metamagic rod.

Requirements Craft Rod, Maximize Spell feat; Cost 7,000 gp (lesser), 27,000 gp (normal), 60,750 gp (greater)

PRD wrote:
For potions, scrolls, and wands, the creator can set the caster level of an item at any number high enough to cast the stored spell but not higher than her own caster level. For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the item itself.

Liberty's Edge

Major__Tom wrote:
However, there is nothing to stop a player from passing a rod to another caster. But the uses per day is per rod, not per caster. Also, remember the cost and caster level to create - 17th level to create any of the rods, even lesser.

Caster Level is not a prerequisite to create any magic item unless it calls it out specifically. The metamagic rods don't call out caster level. Caster level thus is not a prerequisite for creating a metamagic rod.


Howie23 wrote:
Caster Level is not a prerequisite to create any magic item unless it calls it out specifically. The metamagic rods don't call out caster level. Caster level thus is not a prerequisite for creating a metamagic rod.

Well, since Craft Rod does have a caster level prereq (9th), rods do have a caster level requirement. . . kind of. Just not 17th level. . .

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game, Companion, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Major__Tom wrote:
However, there is nothing to stop a player from passing a rod to another caster. But the uses per day is per rod, not per caster. Also, remember the cost and caster level to create - 17th level to create any of the rods, even lesser.

I would think it should be that way, charges per day, but the rules entries for each rod start with "The wielder can cast up to three spells per day ...". There is no mention of charges per day. I could see this getting abused.


1970Zombie wrote:
I could see this getting abused.

The rod doesn't know who "the wielder" is. Regardless of who wields it (one wizard or one thousand wizards), 3 charges is all you get per day. You don't reset the charges because you get a new wielder.


1970Zombie wrote:
Major__Tom wrote:
However, there is nothing to stop a player from passing a rod to another caster. But the uses per day is per rod, not per caster. Also, remember the cost and caster level to create - 17th level to create any of the rods, even lesser.
I would think it should be that way, charges per day, but the rules entries for each rod start with "The wielder can cast up to three spells per day ...". There is no mention of charges per day. I could see this getting abused.

The rules assume that items that items are only used by one person, so they will be written from that point of view.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
1970Zombie wrote:

Is there any restriction to the number of metamagic rods of a particular type that character can possess and use? What I am trying to determine is if there a cap to the number of times a particular ability can be used per day. Could a character have two Lesser Metamagic Rods of Maximize and use the Maximize ability 6 times per day?

Further, I would assume that the rod is limited to a number of uses per day to prevent the user from passing the item to another spell caster to use.

I could not find anything in the rules specifically about these questions.

The rods can be used 3x day. TOTAL. Also you can only use ONE rod per spellcasting action. That's pretty much the limits right there.


Does the spell actual level apply for the level limit of the rod or the slot used (i.e. a lesser rod of silent spell used on a still fireball( 3rd level spell in a 4th level slot)?


warren Burgess wrote:
Does the spell actual level apply for the level limit of the rod or the slot used (i.e. a lesser rod of silent spell used on a still fireball( 3rd level spell in a 4th level slot)?

It uses the spell level, which is not changed by metamagic feats applied (except Heighten).


Ok thanks

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Questions about Metamagic Rods All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.