Bardic performance multiple times a round


Rules Questions


Can a Bard start 2 Bardic performance's in 1 round?

Example: A 13th level Bard can start a Bardic performance as a swift action. So he could

Swift - Start Dirge of Doom.
Standard - Cast a spell like Slow.
Free - Stop Dirge of Doom.
Move - Start Inspire Courage.

This makes sense to me. As far as I can see you can only have 1 Bardic performance at 1 time. But it does not stop you from doing this.


As far as I know, yes.


It depends on your interpretation of the rules. If starting a performance requires a swift action, this is not legal because you can't trade move actions for swift actions (could you imagine the issues with high level casters? Yikes.). However, if you interpret yourself to simply have the option of choosing standard, move, or swift then it's fine.

As a DM I'd rule in favor of choosing, but I'd require it to use 2 rounds of bardic performance each round you did this. I realize that you're only maintaining a bardic performance for a single round, but if you started & stopped during your turn I'd still charge you a single round- so the same should apply for 2 effects.


Sean FitzSimon wrote:
If starting a performance requires a swift action, this is not legal

I read that it's optional. Bold mine:

PRD wrote:
At 7th level, a bard can start a bardic performance as a move action instead of a standard action. At 13th level, a bard can start a bardic performance as a swift action.


Grick wrote:
Sean FitzSimon wrote:
If starting a performance requires a swift action, this is not legal

I read that it's optional. Bold mine:

PRD wrote:
At 7th level, a bard can start a bardic performance as a move action instead of a standard action. At 13th level, a bard can start a bardic performance as a swift action.

I agree (hence my last statement), but I don't have my books handy to actually read the text that they have. A fair amount of the PRD text is paraphrased.


Cool I missed the "can" in the sentence so I agree to. I also agree it will cost 2 rounds that's fair and not a big deal when your 13th level lol. But ya I was just making sure it seemed to work in my head, all though lots of things do haha.

The Exchange

RMR wrote:

Can a Bard start 2 Bardic performance's in 1 round?

Example: A 13th level Bard can start a Bardic performance as a swift action. So he could

Swift - Start Dirge of Doom.
Standard - Cast a spell like Slow.
Free - Stop Dirge of Doom.
Move - Start Inspire Courage.

This makes sense to me. As far as I can see you can only have 1 Bardic performance at 1 time. But it does not stop you from doing this.

By RAW, yes. In a single round, you can do any one of the following:

Swift action, two move actions, one or more free actions
Swift action, move action, standard action, one or more free actions
Swift action, full round action, one or more free actions

And yes, this does allow high level casters to cast two spells in one round (assuming one is quickened).

However, unless you take the Lingering Performance feat from the APG, or you're casting the slow spell in a threatened area, the above scenario would be a waste of time, since the effects of Dirge of Doom would end the moment you started Inspire Courage. But yes, it would work.


Nightwish wrote:

However, unless you take the Lingering Performance feat from the APG, or you're casting the slow spell in a threatened area, the above scenario would be a waste of time, since the effects of Dirge of Doom would end the moment you started Inspire Courage. But yes, it would work.

I think the point is to use Dirge of Doom to give -2 to the saving throws for the Slow effect.

Ending the Dirge of Doom would not provide new saving throws to those slowed, so I'm not sure why that would be a waste of time.

That said, I would expect most DM's would suggest that you would use up 2 rounds of performance to utilize this trick. Although you are only using part of a round for each performance, you keep track of performances by rounds and to my knowledge don't get to use fractions..

The Exchange

Treantmonk wrote:
Nightwish wrote:

However, unless you take the Lingering Performance feat from the APG, or you're casting the slow spell in a threatened area, the above scenario would be a waste of time, since the effects of Dirge of Doom would end the moment you started Inspire Courage. But yes, it would work.

I think the point is to use Dirge of Doom to give -2 to the saving throws for the Slow effect.

That's true, I forgot about the -2 to saves.


RMR wrote:

Can a Bard start 2 Bardic performance's in 1 round?

Example: A 13th level Bard can start a Bardic performance as a swift action. So he could

Swift - Start Dirge of Doom.
Standard - Cast a spell like Slow.
Free - Stop Dirge of Doom.
Move - Start Inspire Courage.

This makes sense to me. As far as I can see you can only have 1 Bardic performance at 1 time. But it does not stop you from doing this.

yep

James Jacobs wrote:
Zark wrote:

So does this mean that a level 8 bard, could:

round 1) start Dirge of Doom as a move action + cast spell

round 2) maintain Dirge of Doom as a free action + cast spell as a
standard action + switch to Inspire Courage as a move action.
or
round 2) maintain Dirge of Doom as a free action + cast spell as a
swift action (using a rod) + switch to Inspire Courage as a standard action + move

Yup.

And here is a link to that thread

But even with Lingering Performanec you can't have two Performances active the same round.


Correction, Zark: you can't have two bardic performance effects active at the same time. Starting one immediately ends the previous, but it's been demonstrated that you could activate the ability more than once during a round.


Sean FitzSimon wrote:
Correction, Zark: you can't have two bardic performance effects active at the same time. Starting one immediately ends the previous, but it's been demonstrated that you could activate the ability more than once during a round.

Read again. That's what I said.


Not I, I wouldn't let it use multiple rounds, the bard doesn't have that many rounds of bardic music a day as it is, the more uses he can get out of it, the better to keep on par with the others and to last longer in a quest day.


Zark wrote:
But even with Lingering Performanec you can't have two Performances active the same round.

That's actually the bit I was referring to. I didn't mean to offend.


Sean FitzSimon wrote:
Zark wrote:
But even with Lingering Performanec you can't have two Performances active the same round.
That's actually the bit I was referring to. I didn't mean to offend.

NP :-)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bardic performance multiple times a round All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.