Undead and resurrection


Rules Questions


OK... going over some issues of undead and resurrection I came upon a couple of conflicting statement...

First, the Undead Type states that:

Quote:
Resurrection and true resurrection can affect undead creatures. These spells turn undead creatures back into the living creatures they were before becoming undead.

Indicating that these spells do function on undead.

However... Both Resurrection and True Resurrection state that:

Quote:
You can resurrect someone killed by a death effect or someone who has been turned into an undead creature and then destroyed.

Which seems to somewhat counter what the Undead Type states.

Is the Undead Type correct, or the spells?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I think you will notice that both lines of text contain the word "can", and therefore do not contradict each other at all. :)


However the conditions of how these spells "can" work are different between both description.

1: Will restore an undead to life.
Vs..
2: Will restore only after undead is slain.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

i believe the spells require the target to be willing, so generally you'll only be able to use them after you destroy the undead and they revert to the alignment and attitude they had in life. But in the rare exception that the undead wants to be saved the spell would work on them.


That is a point in the spell's favor, for sure.

I just thought it was interesting to see how the Undead Type seemed to allude to these spells being able to restore said creatures to life.

Dark Archive

Prolly a flavor mechanic for the Tragic LG vampire who you can save at the end of the story with a timely resurrection.8D

Grand Lodge

Chakka wrote:
i believe the spells require the target to be willing, so generally you'll only be able to use them after you destroy the undead and they revert to the alignment and attitude they had in life. But in the rare exception that the undead wants to be saved the spell would work on them.

Nice save. I recall this situation came up in a 2e session once - we couldn't decide if it would work either.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Undead and resurrection All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.