Mystic Theurge converting spells to cures


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

If a mystic theurge learns an arcane spell in a divine slot, can he then spontaneously convert that spell to a cure spell and is it of the level of the divine slot or the arcane spell?
The way I read it the theurge would convert it to a cure spell of the divine spell slot level.


Ace Smith wrote:

If a mystic theurge learns an arcane spell in a divine slot, can he then spontaneously convert that spell to a cure spell and is it of the level of the divine slot or the arcane spell?

The way I read it the theurge would convert it to a cure spell of the divine spell slot level.

I beleive so. Its memorized effectively like any other cleric spell so he should be good to go.


Hmm. At first glance I thought you were right, but...

Spoiler:

A good cleric (or a neutral cleric of a good deity) can channel stored spell energy into healing spells that she did not prepare ahead of time. The cleric can “lose” any prepared spell that is not an orison or domain spell in order to cast any cure spell of the same spell level or lower (a cure spell is any spell with “cure” in its name).

The ability specifically refers to the spell level of the prepared spell, not the level of the slot.

By a literal reading of the RAW... If I memorize a Divine Favor(level 1 cleric spell) in a level 2 spell slot, then convert it to a cure spell, it would convert into a cure light wounds, not cure moderate wounds.

A level 3 arcane spell is still a level 3 spell even it is memorized in level 4 cleric slot.

Of course, nothing in that passage prevents a mystic theurge from converting a spell memorized in an arcane spell slot into a cure spell. It states "any prepared spell". It says nothing about only being able to convert divine or cleric spells.

Silver Crusade

Charender wrote:

Hmm. At first glance I thought you were right, but...

** spoiler omitted **

The ability specifically refers to the spell level of the prepared spell, not the level of the slot.

By a literal reading of the RAW... If I memorize a Divine Favor(level 1 cleric spell) in a level 2 spell slot, then convert it to a cure spell, it would convert into a cure light wounds, not cure moderate wounds.

A level 3 arcane spell is still a level 3 spell even it is memorized in level 4 cleric slot.

Of course, nothing in that passage prevents a mystic theurge from converting a spell memorized in an arcane spell slot into a cure spell. It states "any prepared spell". It says nothing about only being able to convert divine or cleric spells.

I would agree with this statement.


Charender wrote:

Hmm. At first glance I thought you were right, but...

** spoiler omitted **

The ability specifically refers to the spell level of the prepared spell, not the level of the slot.

By a literal reading of the RAW... If I memorize a Divine Favor(level 1 cleric spell) in a level 2 spell slot, then convert it to a cure spell, it would convert into a cure light wounds, not cure moderate wounds.

A level 3 arcane spell is still a level 3 spell even it is memorized in level 4 cleric slot.

Of course, nothing in that passage prevents a mystic theurge from converting a spell memorized in an arcane spell slot into a cure spell. It states "any prepared spell". It says nothing about only being able to convert divine or cleric spells.

Technically you don't even have to be a mystic theurge to use that ruling either, a simple cleric/wizard could use the wizard spells to spontaneously cast cure/inflict by strict RAW. Orison and domain spells are the only off-limit spells listed.


So..... “lose” any prepared spell.... would mean that cleric/sorcerer and cleric/bard would not work

looks to skylancer4


Oliver McShade wrote:

So..... “lose” any prepared spell.... would mean that cleric/sorcerer and cleric/bard would not work

looks to skylancer4

HEY! I'm just pointing out what RAW says, not saying I like it... That being said I did use wizard for a reason ;)


Oliver McShade wrote:

So..... “lose” any prepared spell.... would mean that cleric/sorcerer and cleric/bard would not work

looks to skylancer4

Yep, I was thinking the same thing. In this case, a strict reading of the raw gets some weird results.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mystic Theurge converting spells to cures All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.