Red Mantis Assassin's Red Shroud ability question.


Rules Questions


The Red Shroud ability says that when he dies he can chose to disintegrate into a cloud of red mist that leave no trace of existence.

A couple questions.

1 Does that ability work if the Red Shroud is active or at anytime. I'm thinking at anytime.

2 Does it destroy his items too. I'm thinking yes it does.

Thanks for the help.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

RMR wrote:

The Red Shroud ability says that when he dies he can chose to disintegrate into a cloud of red mist that leave no trace of existence.

A couple questions.

1 Does that ability work if the Red Shroud is active or at anytime. I'm thinking at anytime.

2 Does it destroy his items too. I'm thinking yes it does.

Thanks for the help.

1) Only works when the red shroud is active. If you kill a Red Mantis when the red shroud isn't active, the body just lies there. The trick is offing the assassin before she has a chance to red shroud it up!

2) It does NOT destroy the items. The gear remains behind untouched. (It's kinda lame to "rob" PCs of the loot and the clues, in other words!) The melting body effect is basically just there to prevent creatures from using things like speak with dead or simulacrum or the like to learn more about the assassin's secret club.


Cool thanks for the clear up of that ability.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Red Mantis Assassin's Red Shroud ability question. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.