Question about barbarian chew


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

The rules for shoanti barbarian chew say, "It ... increases the duration of barbarian rage entered into during the next hour by 1 round."

Since any given rage can last for as many rounds as I want it to (until I run out), how exactly does this work?

Say I chew some chew, and then enter a rage that lasts 3 rounds. Later in the day, I chew some more chew, and then enter a rage that lasts 4 rounds. Does that mean I only spent 5 rounds of rage that day, since the chew gave me an "extra round" each time? Does that mean I could theoretically have an infinite number of 1-round rages, as long as I don't run out of chew?

Or does it just mean that my total number of rage rounds per day goes up by one, as long as I chewed some chew within the last hour?


Michael Gentry wrote:

The rules for shoanti barbarian chew say, "It ... increases the duration of barbarian rage entered into during the next hour by 1 round."

Since any given rage can last for as many rounds as I want it to (until I run out), how exactly does this work?

Say I chew some chew, and then enter a rage that lasts 3 rounds. Later in the day, I chew some more chew, and then enter a rage that lasts 4 rounds. Does that mean I only spent 5 rounds of rage that day, since the chew gave me an "extra round" each time? Does that mean I could theoretically have an infinite number of 1-round rages, as long as I don't run out of chew?

Or does it just mean that my total number of rage rounds per day goes up by one, as long as I chewed some chew within the last hour?

During that hour, the rages last for one round after you stop spending rounds of rage on them.

So let's say you have 10 rounds of rage, and you're chewing the good stuff. You enter a rage on Round 1 of the combat (spending a round of rage) and then spend another round of rage on Round 2, but then you decide not to spend any more rounds of rage after that because the fight looks almost over. You get a third round of rage for free, then you're fatigued for six rounds. You spent 2 of your 10 rounds of rage on that fight.


Yup. We use Barbarian Chew is a variation of the Bard feat Lingering Song from the APG. But it only adds one round in place of two.


You should also keep in mind that it stains the characters teeth a dark- and blood-red. We ruled in a +1 bonus to Intimidate checks if the NPC had not seen Shoanti chew's effects before, but it has a -1 penalty to Diplomacy.

But that's just a houserule!


Well if you ask me any type of chew should give a -4 to any diplomacy check... real world or in game. /grin


Well, that was the stain I was referring to. Chewing during diplomacy...? Auto-fail.

Blegh.

Liberty's Edge

I know this a necro, but better to build on this thread than start anew.

Couldnt a barbarian just not spend the rage point in the second round (and rage free for the chew) and then on round three spend a rage point to continue his rage? Seems better than guessing how long combat will last.

Grand Lodge

Coridan wrote:

I know this a necro, but better to build on this thread than start anew.

Couldnt a barbarian just not spend the rage point in the second round (and rage free for the chew) and then on round three spend a rage point to continue his rage? Seems better than guessing how long combat will last.

Barring other abilities, at the beginning of his turn on round 3 he's fatigued and unable to rage.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about barbarian chew All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.