>>Ask *James Jacobs* ALL your Questions Here!<<


Off-Topic Discussions

25,551 to 25,600 of 77,810 << first < prev | 507 | 508 | 509 | 510 | 511 | 512 | 513 | 514 | 515 | 516 | 517 | next > last >>
Liberty's Edge

Hi there.

If I multiclass as a Druid/Samurai, how does the relationship between the Animal Companion class ability and the Mount class ability work?

At level 1 as a Druid I can summon a horse Animal Companion for a Medium sized PC. If my next level is in Samurai, does my Horse Animal Companion retain the Druid Level 1 qualities and/or the Samurai mount abilities?

This came up because I was trying to create a tiger riding Samurai.

1 Level in Druid (summon horse Animal Companion) followed by 6 levels in Samurai. If the horse retains animal companion status, I can dismiss the animal companion then find a new mount (in this case a Large sized Tiger for my Samurai).

I know this is a bit of a silly logic/rule knot but if you could shed light on this, I'd appreciate it.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I understand what you're trying to do and you have two choices.

1. Bribe your DM to say yes on the matter.

2. If you're looking for rules however than you have a problem.

Your levels only stack for an animal companion that follows the limitations of both classes. If you get a little tiger, than it does not progress beyond Druid level 1. YOur horse gets the benefit from both classes but tiger only from your Druid levels.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Pawns, Rulebook Subscriber

James, now that the Mythic playtest is out, I have a brief story and a question.

In a home brew game one of my roommates runs (party being myself - Human fighter/cleric, our other roommate - gnome wizard, and a friend - Human bard) one of the characters has chanced upon a small sliver of god hood by putting her arcane mark on the wall of a temple of many gods. She has begun to be worshiped and has grown in power as the game has gone on. Being a narcoleptic gnome wizard, her only domain at the moment is that of dreams. She does have a cleric (yours truly) and followers throughout the world. Before I started running CotCT and fully immersing myself in Golarion I had told some of my other gaming friends about our narcoleptic godling, and one of them fell in love with Pocket immediately. So when we started CotCT she asked me if she could play a gnome bard who worshiped Pocket. I agreed as any good cleric would to expand the scope of my church. Then I got to reading and found that Pocket and Desna are actually quite similar. I decided that in my canon, Pocket is another dimension's avatar of Desna. I invited the player who plays Pocket to make a cameo in my game (as the character was doing a bit of dimension hopping anyway) and we had a fun session with them getting Pocket back to her dimension hopping airship. Now that story time is over here's my question:

How would you stat up a Mythic Gnomish avatar of Desna?

I've been wanting to tell you about Pocket for awhile and I just suddenly had the idea to ask this question while talking to Ashley about Pocket.

Liberty's Edge

LazarX wrote:

I understand what you're trying to do and you have two choices.

1. Bribe your DM to say yes on the matter.

2. If you're looking for rules however than you have a problem.

Your levels only stack for an animal companion that follows the limitations of both classes. If you get a little tiger, than it does not progress beyond Druid level 1. YOur horse gets the benefit from both classes but tiger only from your Druid levels.

That makes sense. Unfortunately! :)

Oh well...

Here's a follow up: I know that Samurai can take Cavalier Orders but can Cavaliers take Samurai orders?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Silverhand wrote:
LazarX wrote:

I understand what you're trying to do and you have two choices.

1. Bribe your DM to say yes on the matter.

2. If you're looking for rules however than you have a problem.

Your levels only stack for an animal companion that follows the limitations of both classes. If you get a little tiger, than it does not progress beyond Druid level 1. YOur horse gets the benefit from both classes but tiger only from your Druid levels.

That makes sense. Unfortunately! :)

Oh well...

Here's a follow up: I know that Samurai can take Cavalier Orders but can Cavaliers take Samurai orders?

That is again a DM question. Note that particular Samurai orders like the Rhonin are a result of status and social background as opposed to organizations that you join. like the Order of the Dragon. In order for a Cavalier to have become a Rhonin he would have had to been the equivalent of a Samurai in a Rokugan or Tian like setting serving a Rokugan or Tien style lord.

Simmilarly a Samurai taking Cavalier orders would only be doing so if he had cut himself off from his home culture, becoming in social status a Rhonin, even if the isn't getting those game mechanics.

Liberty's Edge

Quote:
Simmilarly a Samurai taking Cavalier orders would only be doing so if he had cut himself off from his home culture, becoming in social status a Rhonin, even if the isn't getting those game mechanics.

Fair point. Here's the problem: I'm trying to create a Cavalier with Order of the Warrior for a Pathfinder Society game. In this case I need a firm ruling or I can't proceed with character creation. :( Is there any citation I can use to figure out if this is PFS legal? :)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Silverhand wrote:
Quote:
Simmilarly a Samurai taking Cavalier orders would only be doing so if he had cut himself off from his home culture, becoming in social status a Rhonin, even if the isn't getting those game mechanics.
Fair point. Here's the problem: I'm trying to create a Cavalier with Order of the Warrior for a Pathfinder Society game. In this case I need a firm ruling or I can't proceed with character creation. :( Is there any citation I can use to figure out if this is PFS legal? :)

Check the game rules for the class and the Additional Resource section.

As I recall however there was no such reverse ruling made for the Cavalier. I myself would have problems with it because again the Order of the Warrior is a Tien Xia social order that you pretty much have to be born into. The Order of the Rhonin results from abandoning the Order of the Warrior so it has a similar problem. It's a lot easier for a Samurai to go renegade from his culture to adopt Western orders than for the reverse to happen.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Silverhand wrote:

Hi there.

If I multiclass as a Druid/Samurai, how does the relationship between the Animal Companion class ability and the Mount class ability work?

At level 1 as a Druid I can summon a horse Animal Companion for a Medium sized PC. If my next level is in Samurai, does my Horse Animal Companion retain the Druid Level 1 qualities and/or the Samurai mount abilities?

This came up because I was trying to create a tiger riding Samurai.

1 Level in Druid (summon horse Animal Companion) followed by 6 levels in Samurai. If the horse retains animal companion status, I can dismiss the animal companion then find a new mount (in this case a Large sized Tiger for my Samurai).

I know this is a bit of a silly logic/rule knot but if you could shed light on this, I'd appreciate it.

A druid/samurai would have an animal companion AND a mount. Each would function based on the appropriate class level. You could use your animal companion as a mount, but it wouldn't gain any of the special samurai mount abilities.

With your GM's permission, of course, you could combine the two abilities to get a single tiger mount.


So, me and some of my players have had a long running debate ever since Ultimate Magic came out. How do you/the others at Paizo pronounce Magus?

Paizo Employee Creative Director

LazarX wrote:

I understand what you're trying to do and you have two choices.

1. Bribe your DM to say yes on the matter.

2. If you're looking for rules however than you have a problem.

Your levels only stack for an animal companion that follows the limitations of both classes. If you get a little tiger, than it does not progress beyond Druid level 1. YOur horse gets the benefit from both classes but tiger only from your Druid levels.

While I appreciate folks getting into this thread... it's confusing if it turns into a free-for-all with answers. Try to limit posts to this thread to questions for me to answer; thanks!

(If I answer a question and you want to add something or ask if I screwed something up or correct the answer, that's fine—just please don't answer for me, since that's technically off-topic.)

At this point, if you want to continue the druid/samurai mount discussion and work up some homebrew/ad-hoc/house rule answers, that's cool, but that should be its own thread.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Cori Marie wrote:

James, now that the Mythic playtest is out, I have a brief story and a question.

In a home brew game one of my roommates runs (party being myself - Human fighter/cleric, our other roommate - gnome wizard, and a friend - Human bard) one of the characters has chanced upon a small sliver of god hood by putting her arcane mark on the wall of a temple of many gods. She has begun to be worshiped and has grown in power as the game has gone on. Being a narcoleptic gnome wizard, her only domain at the moment is that of dreams. She does have a cleric (yours truly) and followers throughout the world. Before I started running CotCT and fully immersing myself in Golarion I had told some of my other gaming friends about our narcoleptic godling, and one of them fell in love with Pocket immediately. So when we started CotCT she asked me if she could play a gnome bard who worshiped Pocket. I agreed as any good cleric would to expand the scope of my church. Then I got to reading and found that Pocket and Desna are actually quite similar. I decided that in my canon, Pocket is another dimension's avatar of Desna. I invited the player who plays Pocket to make a cameo in my game (as the character was doing a bit of dimension hopping anyway) and we had a fun session with them getting Pocket back to her dimension hopping airship. Now that story time is over here's my question:

How would you stat up a Mythic Gnomish avatar of Desna?

I've been wanting to tell you about Pocket for awhile and I just suddenly had the idea to ask this question while talking to Ashley about Pocket.

First off... we don't use the suffix "ish" for things like the word "gnome." We'd say, "A mythic gnome avatar."

As for how I would stat up a mythic gnome avatar of Desna... I'd wait for the mythic rules to be set in stone, first of all. And then I'd design the character as a unique monster, akin to how we design deity heralds and the like. I wouldn't build a mythic gnome avatar of Desna as a player character.

Liberty's Edge

James Jacobs wrote:


A druid/samurai would have an animal companion AND a mount. Each would function based on the appropriate class level. You could use your animal companion as a mount, but it wouldn't gain any of the special samurai mount abilities.

With your GM's permission, of course, you could combine the two abilities to get a single tiger mount.

Okay, then I'd end up with two separate creatures. A Samurai mount and an Animal companion - but their abilities would not combine.

That said: would my Medium tiger level up to Large upon my reaching level 7 or would the tiger remain unchanged?

Paizo Employee Creative Director

ChaoticAngel97 wrote:
So, me and some of my players have had a long running debate ever since Ultimate Magic came out. How do you/the others at Paizo pronounce Magus?

MEY-gus

Click to go to the dictionary.com page for the word; you can hear the word pronounced by clicking the speaker link next to the word.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Silverhand wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:


A druid/samurai would have an animal companion AND a mount. Each would function based on the appropriate class level. You could use your animal companion as a mount, but it wouldn't gain any of the special samurai mount abilities.

With your GM's permission, of course, you could combine the two abilities to get a single tiger mount.

Okay, then I'd end up with two separate creatures. A Samurai mount and an Animal companion - but their abilities would not combine.

That said: would my Medium tiger level up to Large upon my reaching level 7 or would the tiger remain unchanged?

Your Medium tiger would level up to Large once you reached level 7 as a druid. Your samurai levels won't help there.

Liberty's Edge

James Jacobs wrote:
Your Medium tiger would level up to Large once you reached level 7 as a druid. Your samurai levels won't help there.

Thank you!

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:
4) Aroden raised the starstone up from the bottom of the Inner Sea and created the Isle of Kortos and founded Absalom. He was already mythic at that point, and was probably already a demigod. Only Norgorber, Iomedae, and Cayden Cailean have actually done the test of the starstone to successfully become deities

Were most of the failures a paraphrase of that famous quote from the Dune Movie?

"Many men have tried this test."

"They tried and failed?"

"They tried and died."

-Reverend Mother Gaius Mohiam and Paul Atreides


James, quick question regarding Hateful Rager and Ranger, specifically the Favored Enemy special rules both classes bestow upon a character.

Is the Ranger's Favored enemy rule considered the same thing as that of the Hateful Rager's? For example if I chose Human at Level 1 for a ranger, would it continue to advance as I switched to Hateful Rager at level 7 and received favored enemy at level 8 (the hateful rager one).

Or, are they considered separate rules, despite having the same name and general rules? I.E. The Ranger selects human as first favored enemy, then selects goblin. Then, as a hateful rager, he selects human again. If this is the case, would the abilities stack? Human and Human grant +4, or only +2 in total because sometimes abilities don't stack, like some other spells and item powers that have been ruled upon.

Background wise, I'd consider them two different abilities, because the Hateful Rager uses fury, hatred, anger, and rage as his focus points, while the Ranger uses his skill and practice as his.

However, rules wise, I'd like to consider them just a natural progression on the same ability, meaning he can have 3 Favored enemy classes by Level 8 and Four by level 14 (6 ranger, 8 Hateful Rager).

Despite what I'd like, the Hateful Rager treats the Favored enemy rule a *bit* different when Raging. (Also makes the Hateful Rager a wonderful fear inspiring psychotic with the right builds, love it).

Now, if they are considered the same ability, I'll probably start asking questions about the Ranger Ability Hunter's Bond, but that's for another time.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

1 person marked this as a favorite.
LazarX wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:
4) Aroden raised the starstone up from the bottom of the Inner Sea and created the Isle of Kortos and founded Absalom. He was already mythic at that point, and was probably already a demigod. Only Norgorber, Iomedae, and Cayden Cailean have actually done the test of the starstone to successfully become deities

Were most of the failures a paraphrase of that famous quote from the Dune Movie?

"Many men have tried this test."

"They tried and failed?"

"They tried and died."

-Reverend Mother Gaius Mohiam and Paul Atreides

Some of them. Sometimes, failing at the test does other things than kill you...

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Major_Blackhart wrote:

James, quick question regarding Hateful Rager and Ranger, specifically the Favored Enemy special rules both classes bestow upon a character.

Is the Ranger's Favored enemy rule considered the same thing as that of the Hateful Rager's? For example if I chose Human at Level 1 for a ranger, would it continue to advance as I switched to Hateful Rager at level 7 and received favored enemy at level 8 (the hateful rager one).

Or, are they considered separate rules, despite having the same name and general rules? I.E. The Ranger selects human as first favored enemy, then selects goblin. Then, as a hateful rager, he selects human again. If this is the case, would the abilities stack? Human and Human grant +4, or only +2 in total because sometimes abilities don't stack, like some other spells and item powers that have been ruled upon.

Background wise, I'd consider them two different abilities, because the Hateful Rager uses fury, hatred, anger, and rage as his focus points, while the Ranger uses his skill and practice as his.

However, rules wise, I'd like to consider them just a natural progression on the same ability, meaning he can have 3 Favored enemy classes by Level 8 and Four by level 14 (6 ranger, 8 Hateful Rager).

Despite what I'd like, the Hateful Rager treats the Favored enemy rule a *bit* different when Raging. (Also makes the Hateful Rager a wonderful fear inspiring psychotic with the right builds, love it).

Now, if they are considered the same ability, I'll probably start asking questions about the Ranger Ability Hunter's Bond, but that's for another time.

They're from different classes, but very similar. The bonuses granted are untyped, so if you pick the same favored enemy for both classes, those bonuses would stack. But the progression in power as you level up doesn't stack—your levels in barbarian do not enhance your ranger-granted favored enemy bonuses.

Sczarni RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

What is the holy symbol for Count Ranalc?

Of the alternate channel abilities from Ultimate Magic, which fit his portfolio? I was thinking darkness for his shadow portfolio, but I am unsure of what the other choices may be available for a hidden priest to be played in PFS. The contracts/oaths could serve for betrayal, but nothing seems to work for his exile portfolio.


James this is a super dated question but I have free time and wanted to finish some games I began sometimes a few years back

In the original Dragon Age Origins what was your favorite class and race.

I think I saw you like being an Elf rogue. I had an Elf mage that never finished but was considering trying something else.

I heard the Dwarf backstory was great too.

The Exchange

James Jacobs wrote:
Silverhand wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:


A druid/samurai would have an animal companion AND a mount. Each would function based on the appropriate class level. You could use your animal companion as a mount, but it wouldn't gain any of the special samurai mount abilities.

With your GM's permission, of course, you could combine the two abilities to get a single tiger mount.

Okay, then I'd end up with two separate creatures. A Samurai mount and an Animal companion - but their abilities would not combine.

That said: would my Medium tiger level up to Large upon my reaching level 7 or would the tiger remain unchanged?

Your Medium tiger would level up to Large once you reached level 7 as a druid. Your samurai levels won't help there.

How does this interact with the description of the druid's animal companion class feature in the core rulebook?

Quote:
Class Level: This is the character's druid level. The druid's class levels stack with levels of any other classes that are entitled to an animal companion for the purpose of determining the companion's statistics.

given that

Quote:
Mount (Ex): A samurai gains the service of a loyal and trusty steed to carry him into battle. This mount functions as a druid's animal companion...

That seems to indicate the samurai levels would help.


Going back to a few things that came up a few pages ago:

James Jacobs wrote:
Filby Pott wrote:
Around what Challenge Rating range should one of the Whore Queens or Malebranche fall into?
Whore Queens CR 26–30, while the Malebranche are probably 21–25.

1)I was thinking the same thing. To extrapolate a bit, would it be feasible to say that Malebranche are essentially standard CR16 Horned Devils with 8 Mythic Ranks (making them CR 24 as it currently stands) with each having one or two unique powers? To me, that seems to be the route to take. Thoughts?

Filby Pott wrote:


James Jacobs wrote:


MMCJawa wrote:


Speaking of Arcadia, are there any particular Native American monsters you are itching to stat up? I know that Native American folklore tends to not get as much attention as other areas of the world, but there are some interesting creatures, beyond Sasquatch, Thunderbirds, and Wendigo.

I'd like to see a Raven Mocker myself
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Raven_mocker

The Manitou.

To the extent that I'm shocked and ashamed that we haven't done anything with Manitous yet.

I think manitous would make a great "hook" in the development of Arcadia, in the same way kami and oni really helped flesh out the flavor of Tian Xia.

2)This is a great idea. Just as Tian Xia has Oni and Vudra has Rakshasa as Native Outsiders, Manitou would be an excellent choice for Arcadia to do the same. No question here - just seconding the idea.


James Jacobs wrote:
AlgaeNymph wrote:
Alleran wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:
It's because she's smarter than most of us, for one thing, and because she keeps track of her clones, and if she's active, she'd know pretty quickly if one of her clones has gone off the ranch. I'm not really willing to reveal much more about Sorshen at this point though...
So Ileosa keeps track of Sorshen's clones? That sounds... very interesting indeed.
I'm pretty sure he meant to say that Sorshen kept track of her clones, if only because I wouldn't describe Ileosa as smart.

Yeah. Sorshen knows where her clones are and tracks them

Ileosa does not.

Ah. So in that case, then, how would it be that Ileosa wouldn't be tricked by somebody in one of Sorshen's clone bodies into thinking it was the real Sorshen? How is it that she could be so absolutely certain that it was not the real Sorshen, if even Karzoug (who knew Sorshen personally) could potentially be tricked?

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:
AlcatrazZ wrote:

Dear JJ,

Just to clarify, one simple question:

The rogue talent "Offensive Defense" grant a dodge bonus to ac for each sneak attack die rolled for one round. This bonus stack with itself if the rogue hit two different attacks?

** spoiler omitted **

** spoiler omitted **

As written, yes, it would stack if you got multiple sneak attack hits in. That's unlikely to be the intent of the rule, though—if you run it that way and it feels too powerful, then cap the maximum you can get per round to equal the rogue's number of sneak attack dice.

SKR repleied to that in the "Bride of the FAQ Attack!" blog, made Tuesday, February 28, 2012:

Quote:

Does the dodge bonus from the “offensive defensive” rogue talent (Advanced Player’s Guide, page 131) stack with itself? Does it apply to everyone, or just to the target I’m attacking?

There are two issues relating to this rogue talent.

One, in the first printing it provided a +1 circumstance bonus against the attacked target, which was a very weak ability. The second printing update changed it from a circumstance bonus to a dodge bonus, but accidentally omitted the “against that creature” text, which made it a very strong ability.

Two, it doesn’t specify whether the dodge bonus stacks with itself, and because this creates a strange place in the rules where bonuses don’t stack from the same source but dodge bonuses always stack. While we haven’t reached a final decision on what to do about this talent, we are leaning toward this solution: the dodge bonus only applies against the creature you sneak attacked, and the dodge bonus does not stack with itself. This prevents you from getting a dodge bonus to AC against a strong creature by sneak attacking a weak creature, and prevents you from reaching an absurdly high AC by sneak attacking multiple times in the same round.

Sean K Reynolds
Designer


Some questions on Miracle

1: How does an item of miracle work? Does it use the deity of the creator or the user?
2: Short of harming himself, granting those with no existing magic abilities magic (this one I'm not even sure applies to him doing it instead of you), and helping Rovagug and his worshipers, is there anything Nethys won't do in a miracle?
3: What's Pharasma's stance on "generating" children as a miracle?

Paizo Employee Creative Director

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Thomas LeBlanc wrote:

What is the holy symbol for Count Ranalc?

Of the alternate channel abilities from Ultimate Magic, which fit his portfolio? I was thinking darkness for his shadow portfolio, but I am unsure of what the other choices may be available for a hidden priest to be played in PFS. The contracts/oaths could serve for betrayal, but nothing seems to work for his exile portfolio.

We haven't designed his holy symbol yet, so I can't say off the top of my head. Darkness is a good choice for his alternate channel.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Kate_C wrote:

James this is a super dated question but I have free time and wanted to finish some games I began sometimes a few years back

In the original Dragon Age Origins what was your favorite class and race.

I think I saw you like being an Elf rogue. I had an Elf mage that never finished but was considering trying something else.

I heard the Dwarf backstory was great too.

My favorite race and class from Dragon Age was indeed elf rogue.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Belafon wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:
Silverhand wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:


A druid/samurai would have an animal companion AND a mount. Each would function based on the appropriate class level. You could use your animal companion as a mount, but it wouldn't gain any of the special samurai mount abilities.

With your GM's permission, of course, you could combine the two abilities to get a single tiger mount.

Okay, then I'd end up with two separate creatures. A Samurai mount and an Animal companion - but their abilities would not combine.

That said: would my Medium tiger level up to Large upon my reaching level 7 or would the tiger remain unchanged?

Your Medium tiger would level up to Large once you reached level 7 as a druid. Your samurai levels won't help there.

How does this interact with the description of the druid's animal companion class feature in the core rulebook?

Quote:
Class Level: This is the character's druid level. The druid's class levels stack with levels of any other classes that are entitled to an animal companion for the purpose of determining the companion's statistics.

given that

Quote:
Mount (Ex): A samurai gains the service of a loyal and trusty steed to carry him into battle. This mount functions as a druid's animal companion...
That seems to indicate the samurai levels would help.

It functions as the druid's animal companion, but doesn't stack with druid levels. "Functions as" is just how we avoid reprinting the entire section on druid animal companions in the samurai entry.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

The Block Knight wrote:

Going back to a few things that came up a few pages ago:

James Jacobs wrote:
Filby Pott wrote:
Around what Challenge Rating range should one of the Whore Queens or Malebranche fall into?
Whore Queens CR 26–30, while the Malebranche are probably 21–25.

1)I was thinking the same thing. To extrapolate a bit, would it be feasible to say that Malebranche are essentially standard CR16 Horned Devils with 8 Mythic Ranks (making them CR 24 as it currently stands) with each having one or two unique powers? To me, that seems to be the route to take. Thoughts?

One of the things that appeals to me about the CR 21-25 range is that it doesn't require Mythic stuff. I'd personally prefer to stat up the Malebranche without resorting to mythic stuff, but instead just have them be horned devils with lots of class levels, probably.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Alleran wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:
AlgaeNymph wrote:
Alleran wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:
It's because she's smarter than most of us, for one thing, and because she keeps track of her clones, and if she's active, she'd know pretty quickly if one of her clones has gone off the ranch. I'm not really willing to reveal much more about Sorshen at this point though...
So Ileosa keeps track of Sorshen's clones? That sounds... very interesting indeed.
I'm pretty sure he meant to say that Sorshen kept track of her clones, if only because I wouldn't describe Ileosa as smart.

Yeah. Sorshen knows where her clones are and tracks them

Ileosa does not.

Ah. So in that case, then, how would it be that Ileosa wouldn't be tricked by somebody in one of Sorshen's clone bodies into thinking it was the real Sorshen? How is it that she could be so absolutely certain that it was not the real Sorshen, if even Karzoug (who knew Sorshen personally) could potentially be tricked?

Because she knows Sorshen better than Karzoug. Remember... when Karzoug was alive, so was Sorshen, and they were contemporaries and thus resisted letting the other find out their secrets.

Illeosa has a distinct advantage over Karzoug in that she gets to look at thousands of years of research and history and the object of her study isn't actively trying to stop her from learning more about her.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I was looking the spell Blood money from Rise of the Runelords anniversary edition:

Blood Money wrote:


School transmutation; Level magus 1, sorcerer/wizard 1, witch 1
CASTING
Casting Time 1 swift action
Components V, S
EFFECT
Range 0 ft.
Effect 1 material component
Duration Instantaneous

DESCRIPTION
You cast blood money just before casting another spell. As part of this spell's casting, you must cut one of your hands, releasing a stream of blood that causes you to take 1d6 points of damage. When you cast another spell in that same round, your blood transforms into one material component of your choice required by that second spell. Even valuable components worth more than 1 gp can be created, but creating such material components requires an additional cost of 1 point of Strength damage, plus a further point of damage for every full 500 gp of the component's value (so a component worth 500–999 gp costs a total of 2 points, 1,000–1,500 costs 3, etc.). You cannot create magic items with blood money.

For example, a sorcerer with the spell stoneskin prepared could cast blood money to create the 250 gp worth of diamond dust required by that spell, taking 1d6 points of damage and 1 point of Strength damage in the process.

Material components created by blood money transform back into blood at the end of the round if they have not been used as a material component. Spellcasters who do not have blood cannot cast blood money, and those who are immune to Strength damage (such as undead spellcasters) cannot use blood money to create valuable material components.

In the hand of a witch with strength 11+ (even through the use of bull strength) it become rally impressive. Raise dead and Reincarnate for free, Greater restoration for free if you have the Endurance patron.

Really useful.
Sure, she would need a few lesser restoration to return at full strength, but it can be a good trade off.

So, a couple of questions:

1) it that working as intended? i.e. you cant a witch to cast those spells for no monetary cost?

2) If that is working as intended and the witch know resurrection, it is possible for the to use Blood money and a less valuable diamond to satisfy the requirement for a Resurrection (10.000 gp diamond)?
I.e., it is possible to provide half of the material requirements for a spell through blood money and half through normal means?


^ I can already see issues with casting time and "end of the round".

Now Fabricate...


The knife master rogue archetype allows you to turn your d6 sneak attack dice into d8s when you wield a knife-like weapons. The faceless stalker comes with 2d6 sneak attack dice. When applying knife master rogue archetype levels to a faceless stalker, does the sneak attack damage that the faceless stalker have change from d6s to d8s?


I have a question about the spell Weaponwand from Inner Sea Magic.

Weaponwand description:
When you cast this spell on a weapon, you cause a portion of the weapon to open like the skin of a partially peeled apple, revealing a space large enough to insert a single wand within. As part of the spell’s casting, you can insert a single wand into the weapon, at which point the weapon returns to its original form with the wand held inside of it without negatively impacting the weapon’s integrity. For the spell’s duration, a character who wields the transmuted weapon is also considered to be wielding the wand as well. You can attack normally with the weapon or use the weapon as if it were the encased wand. If the effect created by the wand requires an attack roll to successfully strike a foe, you may make the attack roll as if you were making an attack with the weapon at its highest bonus (including any bonuses the weapon would normally receive) rather than just a normal attack with the wand—doing so does not allow you to add the weapon’s damage to the wand’s attack roll, but instead allows you to use your skill with the weapon to boost your chance of hitting with the spell.

At the end of the spell’s duration, the encased wand is ejected from the weapon. If you have a free hand, you may catch the weapon as a free action; otherwise, the wand drops to the ground. If the weapon housing the wand is broken or destroyed during the duration of weaponwand, the encased wand is similarly broken or destroyed.

I gathered that the intent seems to be to use the spell with a melee weapon, but it doesn't actually limit it to melee weapons only. My question is, how does this interact with ranged weapons?

Also, it says you can't add the weapon's damage bonus to the wands attack roll (bolded above). Is this some kind of error in the spell? Does this allow me to use something like a Weaponwand Inflict Light Wounds Longsword and get my normal Longsword damage in addition to the Inflict Light Wounds (kind of like a spell-storing weapon). Or was it meant that you can make an attack roll with the weapon, and deal the effects of the wand, but none of the weapons damage?

My primary reason for asking is because I want to send some bounty hunters after my party, one of which will be an Inquisitor. They intend to knock the party unconscious (some of them), but don't want to kill any of them. The Inquistor will be an archer, and I was wondering if Weaponwand would allow him to, in effect, shoot Cure X Wounds arrows? If the spell isn't meant to add the weapon damage, I was envisioning something like when the bow is fired using a charge from the wand, the arrow knocked is actually the spell in arrow form.

The Exchange

What skills can a PC use to manipulate Numerian technology? I allowed a PC to use Disable Device/Use Magic Device to reprogram a Clockwork. Is this how you would handle it?

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

smashthedean wrote:
Is there any precedent for two dieties "sharing" a Cleric and both granting her divine power for spells/domains?
James Jacobs wrote:
Not that I know of. Not that I'd really want to let into print, either—keeping clerics as "one deity specialists" is really one of the core themes of the class.

The Godclaw that Hellknights worship?


And what about that fusion of Desna and Gozreh, Shmye-Magalla or whatever she was called? Mwangi deity fusion of some sort.


What is the Arcane Material Component of the Protection From Alignment spells? It used to be a pinch of silver in d20, but the Pathfinder PRD omits that line.

Shadow Lodge

just had a look at the Inner Sea Bestiary...curious about the syrinx, the progenitors of the stryx...

where on golarion are they common?...are they still enslaving the stryx or did more than the colony in Cheliax manage to escape?...were the stryx who encountered ancient Azlant emissaries of the syrinx or were they independent?

Liberty's Edge

Mr. Jacobs,

I know that weapons, armor, and magic items found in an adventure is sold for half of their purchase price. Coinage found is full value, obviously.

How much should the players receive for selling:

1) a painting that the AP says is valued at 500 gp;
2) jewelry (such as a dented crown valued at 20 gp);
3) a gold holy symbol valued at 100 gp;
4) a masterwork weapon that has an increased artistic value (say, a masterwork longsword that is valued at 800 gp).

I think I've hit the big examples I need. Thanks!

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

A question about chill touch and similar spells with an istantaneous duration and multiple touches.
The touches after the first round count as held charges and so disappear if you cast any other spell?


Thank you for being so helpful in the past. I have another popular question for you.
Would a +4 or +5 bane weapon, becoming +6 or +7, bypass DR/Epic against a creature it was bane to?
(+4 magical beast bane weapon bypasses Tarrasque’s DR 15/Epic, for example)

Paizo Employee Creative Director

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Diego Rossi wrote:

In the hand of a witch with strength 11+ (even through the use of bull strength) it become rally impressive. Raise dead and Reincarnate for free, Greater restoration for free if you have the Endurance patron.

Really useful.
Sure, she would need a few lesser restoration to return at full strength, but it can be a good trade off.
So, a couple of questions:

1) it that working as intended? i.e. you cant a witch to cast those spells for no monetary cost?

2) If that is working as intended and the witch know resurrection, it is possible for the to use Blood money and a less valuable diamond to satisfy the requirement for a Resurrection (10.000 gp diamond)?
I.e., it is possible to provide half of the material requirements for a spell through blood money and half through normal means?

Keep in mind that blood money only really works if you cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 round or less, since the components created vanish after that time. So you can't combine this spell with raise dead or resurrection, both of which have a casting time of 1 minute. Nor can you do so with greater restoration, which has a casting time of 3 rounds.

1) Yes, working as intended, in other words.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

deuxhero wrote:

^ I can already see issues with casting time and "end of the round".

Now Fabricate...

That's an interesting observation.

In this case, I'd probably say that the item created by casting the spell this way vanishes as soon as the blood money spell ends, since that's as long as the created component (and thus, the object created by the component) lasts. But I could see it not working that way—being able to essentially make stuff out of your blood like this is kinda cool.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Odraude wrote:
The knife master rogue archetype allows you to turn your d6 sneak attack dice into d8s when you wield a knife-like weapons. The faceless stalker comes with 2d6 sneak attack dice. When applying knife master rogue archetype levels to a faceless stalker, does the sneak attack damage that the faceless stalker have change from d6s to d8s?

Yes it does. The faceless stalker's sneak attack dice add on and combine seamlessly with rogue levels, so a knife master rogue faceless stalker would indeed have all its dice changed to 1d4 for all weapons but knives, which become 1d8.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Tels wrote:

I have a question about the spell Weaponwand from Inner Sea Magic.

** spoiler omitted **

I gathered that the intent seems to be to use the spell with a melee weapon, but it doesn't actually limit it to melee weapons only. My question is, how does this interact with ranged weapons?

Also, it says you can't add the weapon's damage bonus to the wands attack roll (bolded above). Is this some kind of error in the spell? Does this allow me to use something like a Weaponwand Inflict Light Wounds Longsword and get my normal Longsword damage in addition to the Inflict Light Wounds (kind of like a spell-storing weapon). Or was it meant that you can make an attack roll with the weapon, and deal the effects of the wand, but none of the weapons damage?

My primary reason for asking is because I want to send some bounty hunters after my party, one of which will be an Inquisitor. They intend to knock the party unconscious (some of them), but don't want to kill any of them. The Inquistor will be an archer, and I was wondering if Weaponwand would allow him to, in effect, shoot Cure X Wounds arrows? If the spell isn't meant to add the weapon damage, I was envisioning something like when the bow is fired using a charge from the wand, the arrow knocked is actually the spell in arrow form.

If I remember correctly, the spell was indeed written with the assumption of a melee weapon, but there's no reason it can't work with a ranged weapon like a bow. In this case, I'd say that you couldn't use the wand to link touch attack spells to your ranged attacks, and if you shoot an arrow beyond the maximum range of a ranged spell, the spell fizzles (but the arrow can still hit and do damage normally).

It won't allow you to shoot cure wounds arrows, in other words.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Chris Mortika wrote:
smashthedean wrote:
Is there any precedent for two dieties "sharing" a Cleric and both granting her divine power for spells/domains?
James Jacobs wrote:
Not that I know of. Not that I'd really want to let into print, either—keeping clerics as "one deity specialists" is really one of the core themes of the class.
The Godclaw that Hellknights worship?

Clerics of that Hellknight group still worship and gain their spells from one of the deities in the group. (The whole concept of the Godclaw is something that had a somewhat rough transition from D&D to Pathfinder, I'll grant that.)

Paizo Employee Creative Director

TheLoneCleric wrote:
What skills can a PC use to manipulate Numerian technology? I allowed a PC to use Disable Device/Use Magic Device to reprogram a Clockwork. Is this how you would handle it?

Clockworks aren't Numerian technology, first of all; they're magical constructs. As such, you'd make Knowledge (arcana) checks or Spellcraft checks to do something like that to a Clockwork.

For actual Numerian technology, I'd probably rely on Disable Device, but I'd also be tempted to introduce two new skills—Knowledge (technology) and something akin to Computer Use. I could, actually, see Knowledge (engineering) be a better choice than introducing Knowledge (technology), and Linguistics, perhaps, for Computer Use.

25,551 to 25,600 of 77,810 << first < prev | 507 | 508 | 509 | 510 | 511 | 512 | 513 | 514 | 515 | 516 | 517 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Gamer Life / Off-Topic Discussions / >>Ask *James Jacobs* ALL your Questions Here!<< All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.