Does Following Step provoke attacks of opportunity?


Rules Questions


12 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Step Up says you can make a 5-foot step as an immediate action to follow someone who 5-foot stepped away from you. Following Step says you may move up to 10 feet when someone 5-foot steps away from you (which I guess you would do to get into a better position such as flanking).

What I want to know is whether the latter feat provokes or not. Step Up is clearly using a 5-foot step and as such does not provoke. Following Step, however, seems like normal movement that would provoke (albeit "free" normal movement).

Feat Descriptions:
Step Up (Combat)

You can close the distance when a foe tries to move away.

Prerequisite: Base attack bonus +1.

Benefit: Whenever an adjacent foe attempts to take a 5-foot step away from you, you may also make a 5-foot step as an immediate action so long as you end up adjacent to the foe that triggered this ability. If you take this step, you cannot take a 5-foot step during your next turn. If you take an action to move during your next turn, subtract 5 feet from your total movement.

Following Step (Combat)

You can repeatedly close the distance when foes try to move away, without impeding your normal movement.

Prerequisites: Dex 13, Step Up.

Benefit: When using the Step Up feat to follow an adjacent foe, you may move up to 10 feet. You may still take a 5-foot step during your next turn, and any movement you make using this feat does not subtract any distance from your movement during your next turn.

Normal: You can only take a 5-foot step to follow an opponent using Step Up.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

This seems pretty straight forward to me.

Following Step explicitly says "When using the Step Up feat..." and the Step Up feat is clerly using a 5'foot Step that doesn't provoke.

So, when using Following Step you are using the same type of movement as Step Up (the non-provoking 5'foot Step) except you are allowed to move twice as far.

If this is not true, then the second sentence of the Following Step feat is irrelevant ("You may still take a 5-foot Step during your next turn"). There would be no need to tell you that you have your 5-foot Step available if you're using ordinary movement for Following Step; this extra sentence is saying "Even though you are taking an extra long 5'foot Step right now, you don't lose your 5'foot step on your next round".


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

That seems logical.

Liberty's Edge

Very much so, although I wouldn't personally mind a 7 word addendum to clarify attached to the end, as it is not 100% clear this is the case.

Sovereign Court

*necro!* Has there been any new information on this lately? How is this applied in PFS?

Sczarni

Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

There is no controversy as far as I've seen. DM_Blake outlined it pretty well above.

Sovereign Court

It would be the only 10ft 5ft step in the game though, that I know of. That's sufficiently "surprising" that I would want more than an implicit argument for it.


Ascalaphus wrote:
It would be the only 10ft 5ft step in the game though, that I know of. That's sufficiently "surprising" that I would want more than an implicit argument for it.

You won't get one. The developers have better things to do than satisfy the curiosity of every player or game master who is unwilling to create house rules.

Sczarni

Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
Ascalaphus wrote:
It would be the only 10ft 5ft step in the game though, that I know of. That's sufficiently "surprising" that I would want more than an implicit argument for it.

I think this would be the perfect example of an exception to the general rule.

Since you'll likely be using Following Step to, you know, follow your opponent, it would generate an AoO every time if it worked your way.

Pretty sure the only reasonable conclusion is that it doesn't.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does Following Step provoke attacks of opportunity? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.