Bardic Performance and potions


Rules Questions


OK, I did not find anything in the RAW on this one way or another so I suspect it will be up to DM interpretation. I am interested in peoples read on this.

Can I character with bardic Performance Orate drink a potion while the bardic performance free action is in effect, or do they have to stop orating and use an action next round to restart Bardic performance?

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Theo Stern wrote:

OK, I did not find anything in the RAW on this one way or another so I suspect it will be up to DM interpretation. I am interested in peoples read on this.

Can I character with bardic Performance Orate drink a potion while the bardic performance free action is in effect, or do they have to stop orating and use an action next round to restart Bardic performance?

You can perform Move and Standard action with the free action of upkeep of bardic performance, so yes you can drink a potion.

That said, you don't have to sing, you can dance, play instruments, tell some jokes, recite a poem...etc...


This character has Orate, which is why the question, but I suppose you could pause your oration long enough to quaff a potion and continue orating after all you would need to pause for breath


Theo Stern wrote:
This character has Orate, which is why the question, but I suppose you could pause your oration long enough to quaff a potion and continue orating after all you would need to pause for breath

and technically he can use any perform, including one he is untrained in, to do bardic performance.


You don't actually need to be using perform for the entire time bardic performance is going. You basically give your speech, or play your song, or do your dance, or whatever, then hold onto the magic it creates for x rounds.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
ProfessorCirno wrote:
You don't actually need to be using perform for the entire time bardic performance is going. You basically give your speech, or play your song, or do your dance, or whatever, then hold onto the magic it creates for x rounds.

Wow that's an interesting interpretation. For the record, I allowed the potion use, but this would allow other verbal actions like casting a spell. can you point to RAW that backs this up? I mean it says an audible performance needs to be heard, to be effective, does that mean it only needs to be heard the first round?

Thanks


Theo Stern wrote:
ProfessorCirno wrote:
You don't actually need to be using perform for the entire time bardic performance is going. You basically give your speech, or play your song, or do your dance, or whatever, then hold onto the magic it creates for x rounds.

Wow that's an interesting interpretation. For the record, I allowed the potion use, but this would allow other verbal actions like casting a spell. can you point to RAW that backs this up? I mean it says an audible performance needs to be heard, to be effective, does that mean it only needs to be heard the first round?

Thanks

No, we can't. The reason is that there is nothing in the bardic performance rules that prevents you from taking other actions. It is free to maintain the performance. You can talk, cast spells, or do anything else that you want durring the bardic performance.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Theo Stern wrote:
ProfessorCirno wrote:
You don't actually need to be using perform for the entire time bardic performance is going. You basically give your speech, or play your song, or do your dance, or whatever, then hold onto the magic it creates for x rounds.

Wow that's an interesting interpretation. For the record, I allowed the potion use, but this would allow other verbal actions like casting a spell. can you point to RAW that backs this up? I mean it says an audible performance needs to be heard, to be effective, does that mean it only needs to be heard the first round?

Thanks

That's also the correct interpretation.

Bardic performance abilities do NOT require any ranks at all in a specific perform. We specifically decoupled them from the Perform skill so that there was less of a "skill tax" on bards. While a couple of the bardic performance abilities benefit from having ranks in a Perform skill, they don't require them.

In any event, no matter WHAT kind of performance you choose to do when you use a bardic performance ability, the ability to work other actions (such as potion drinking or spellcasting or attacking) into your performance is part of what makes bards great performers.

Activating a bardic performance is a standard action until 7th level, at which point activating it is a move action. Then, at 13th level, activating it is a free action. Maintaining bardic performance once it's activated is a free action. This means that you CAN cast spells or attack or use magic items or whatever while you're maintaining a bardic performance, and after 7th level, you can even activate and attack or spellcast.

Liberty's Edge RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32, 2011 Top 16

Not only does nothing in the rules prevent you from using your other actions in any way while maintaining your performance (other than starting another one), just look at someone giving a speach (using oration). They often take pauses to take a sip of water.


Pathfinder Companion, Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Maintaining a bardic performance is a free action (under Bardic Performance in the Bard section). Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort; you can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally (under Actions in Combat: Action Types in the Combat section).

Plus, James Jacobs has explicitly stated on the messageboards that under PfRPG rules, bards can attack and/or cast spells while maintaining a bardic performance.

EDIT: Look up there! He saved me searching for a reference. :)


Caineach wrote:
Theo Stern wrote:
ProfessorCirno wrote:
You don't actually need to be using perform for the entire time bardic performance is going. You basically give your speech, or play your song, or do your dance, or whatever, then hold onto the magic it creates for x rounds.

Wow that's an interesting interpretation. For the record, I allowed the potion use, but this would allow other verbal actions like casting a spell. can you point to RAW that backs this up? I mean it says an audible performance needs to be heard, to be effective, does that mean it only needs to be heard the first round?

Thanks

No, we can't. The reason is that there is nothing in the bardic performance rules that prevents you from taking other actions. It is free to maintain the performance. You can talk, cast spells, or do anything else that you want durring the bardic performance.

Yea I agree with that, but the rules do say If a bardic performance has audible components, the targets must be able to hear the bard for the performance to have any effect, and such performances are language dependent. That indicates to me, that the Bard is still Orating the following rounds, sure I agree they could still take actions, but if for example they were hit with a silence spell , the performance would no longer work. With ProfessorCirno's interpretation that would not be the case as you would no longer be orating just maintaining the magic. I agree that by the RAW you can take any other actions, I just assume that means you can pause your oration for your other action if necessary and continue it, with ProfessorCirno's version, there are other implications which is why I asked for a refrence


James Jacobs wrote:
Theo Stern wrote:
ProfessorCirno wrote:
You don't actually need to be using perform for the entire time bardic performance is going. You basically give your speech, or play your song, or do your dance, or whatever, then hold onto the magic it creates for x rounds.

Wow that's an interesting interpretation. For the record, I allowed the potion use, but this would allow other verbal actions like casting a spell. can you point to RAW that backs this up? I mean it says an audible performance needs to be heard, to be effective, does that mean it only needs to be heard the first round?

Thanks

That's also the correct interpretation.

Bardic performance abilities do NOT require any ranks at all in a specific perform. We specifically decoupled them from the Perform skill so that there was less of a "skill tax" on bards. While a couple of the bardic performance abilities benefit from having ranks in a Perform skill, they don't require them.

In any event, no matter WHAT kind of performance you choose to do when you use a bardic performance ability, the ability to work other actions (such as potion drinking or spellcasting or attacking) into your performance is part of what makes bards great performers.

Activating a bardic performance is a standard action until 7th level, at which point activating it is a move action. Then, at 13th level, activating it is a free action. Maintaining bardic performance once it's activated is a free action. This means that you CAN cast spells or attack or use magic items or whatever while you're maintaining a bardic performance, and after 7th level, you can even activate and attack or spellcast.

Thank you James, the last thing I would like clarification on is whether the performance is being maintained or the magic. I.E. is the bard still performing and can just do other things during the performance whereby a silence spell could still interrupt an oration? Or are they just maintaining the magic from the one round oration when they initiated it?

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Theo Stern wrote:
Thank you James, the last thing I would like clarification on is whether the performance is being maintained or the magic. I.E. is the bard still performing and can just do other things during the performance whereby a silence spell could still interrupt an oration? Or are they just maintaining the magic from the one round oration when they initiated it?

Maintaining a performance means that the effect still has the qualities (be they auditory or visual) used to activate it. So a silence spell would indeed shut down an orating bard's maintained bardic performace. Although he could switch to a dance or other visual performance to restart the effect if he wanted.


James Jacobs wrote:
Theo Stern wrote:
Thank you James, the last thing I would like clarification on is whether the performance is being maintained or the magic. I.E. is the bard still performing and can just do other things during the performance whereby a silence spell could still interrupt an oration? Or are they just maintaining the magic from the one round oration when they initiated it?
Maintaining a performance means that the effect still has the qualities (be they auditory or visual) used to activate it. So a silence spell would indeed shut down an orating bard's maintained bardic performace. Although he could switch to a dance or other visual performance to restart the effect if he wanted.

Thank you James

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bardic Performance and potions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.