How is a creature's Caster Level calculated?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

I was looking at some Mephit abilities, and I noticed that this 3 HD creature has a 6 CL for their abilities (i.e. Summon Mephit and special abilities like the Steam Mephit's - Boiling Rain).

Ideally it should have only a 3 CL. Is it basically getting a +3 racial bonus to it's CL?

To summon a Mephit with a Summon spell, it is a 4th level spell, so if they were to assign a CL to the ability for the minimum level needed to cast the spell, then the CL would be 7.

Could someone help clarify this... or are these just numbers that the designers assigned to creatures with no real forumla?

Thanks.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Kor - Orc Scrollkeeper wrote:

I was looking at some Mephit abilities, and I noticed that this 3 HD creature has a 6 CL for their abilities (i.e. Summon Mephit and special abilities like the Steam Mephit's - Boiling Rain).

Ideally it should have only a 3 CL. Is it basically getting a +3 racial bonus to it's CL?

To summon a Mephit with a Summon spell, it is a 4th level spell, so if they were to assign a CL to the ability for the minimum level needed to cast the spell, then the CL would be 7.

Could someone help clarify this... or are these just numbers that the designers assigned to creatures with no real forumla?

Thanks.

A monster's caster level does not have to follow any specific rules. The general guideline is that a caster level for a monster's spell-like abilities should be equal to the monster's CR, but in many cases we choose not to do that. Sometimes, we deliberately underpower a monster's Spell Like Ability because it's a strong monster in other ways, but in some cases, as with the mephits, we raise the caster level. It's a decision we make on a case by case basis for each monster and for each set of spell like ability.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / How is a creature's Caster Level calculated? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.