Is Concealment considered 'hampered terrain' for purposes of a Charge?


Rules Questions


If you are moving through squares that have Concealment, say from the spell `Fog Cloud`, does this count as hampered terrain?

Situation:

Enemy mage case `Fog Cloud` between us. The Barbarian declares that he wishes to Charge the enemy mage. But GM ruled that the he couldn't see the mage and thus couldn't Charge.


harmor wrote:

If you are moving through squares that have Concealment, say from the spell `Fog Cloud`, does this count as hampered terrain?

Situation:

Enemy mage case `Fog Cloud` between us. The Barbarian declares that he wishes to Charge the enemy mage. But GM ruled that the he couldn't see the mage and thus couldn't Charge.

I would say no. Concealment isn't difficult terrain, but it does provide concealment, which doesn't let the barbarian target the mage with attacks or spells.

You couldn't shoot the mage with an arrow, so you couldn't charge him. He could run through, but not charge him.

If someone were to, on the other hand, try to charge through a pitch-black room... I think they have to make like a DC 10 acrobatics check to not fall prone, since they're "blinded" or something? I like that. It sounds good.

Dark Archive

harmor wrote:

If you are moving through squares that have Concealment, say from the spell `Fog Cloud`, does this count as hampered terrain?

Situation:

Enemy mage case `Fog Cloud` between us. The Barbarian declares that he wishes to Charge the enemy mage. But GM ruled that the he couldn't see the mage and thus couldn't Charge.

Concealment is unrelated to difficult terrain - it would not impede the charge except in that the charging character would be charging a "square" in this case - same as if the target were invisible. The mage in the scenario you describe would benefit from concealment (assuming the barbarian guesses the correct square).

If you can charge an invisible or blurred character (and you can), then you can charge a character sitting in a fog cloud.

It's just not easy.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

However, the charge rules specifically require that you have line of sight to your target. The DM ruled correctly. It also states 'If any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you can't charge.' Since I believe fog cloud slows movement, that also prevents the charge.


The answer is "Yes -areas of concealment hamper terrain." Besides the fact that according to the rules you can't charge a person you can't see (see second sentence), visibility conditions otherwise negate the use of the charge action. Fog cloud provides poor visibility, poor visibility hampers movement, and you cannot charge while your movement is hindered. Here are the relevant passages from the PRD (emphasis mine):

PRD charge rules say wrote:

You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles). If any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you can't charge.

If you don't have line of sight to the opponent at the start of your turn, you can't charge that opponent.

PRD Hampered Movement Table says: wrote:
"Poor Visibility = x2 Movement Cost"

That's my reasoning there. I'm pretty sure I'm accurate.

EDIT: Quick on the draw there, TriOmega! No fair -I had to quote stuff!!
=-)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is Concealment considered 'hampered terrain' for purposes of a Charge? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.