"Trip-Locking Doesn't Work" - Official Ruling or Not?


Rules Questions

551 to 556 of 556 << first < prev | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | next > last >>

Callarek wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
his point was that your first explanation was incorrect by the rules, even though he did seem to be rude by the way he worded his response.
I do apologize for that, sometimes I miss making the DC for those Tact & Diplomacy checks.

All of us get frustrated sometimes.


wraithstrike wrote:
Come and get me does not come into play until 12th level. By that time a lot of monsters have really high CMD's, and his point was that your first explanation was incorrect by the rules, even though he did seem to be rude by the way he worded his response.

User a tripping reach weapon (guisarme?) then. Unexpected strike is able to be used at 2nd level on. If monsters CMD is the issue, then trip-locking won't work anyway, so why bring it up?

My point is there is plenty of ways to be able to trip someone out of turn, keeping your standard action open to ready for tripping them when they get back up.


Callarek wrote:


So, explain to me how you are EVER going to be in a position (without a non-PF item like the Belt of Battle) to be able to spend TWO STandard actions in a single round?

Here's how you do it:

Tripper is fighting ProneBoy, and it is Tripper's turn.

Tripper: I ready to trip him when he attacks me a second time.
ProneBoy: I attack Tripper. Now I make my iterative attack.
Tripper: My ready goes off, I trip ProneBoy. My init is set to right before ProneBoy's.
ProneBoy: I finish my attack on Tripper.

Next round:
Tripper: I ready to trip ProneBoy.
ProneBoy: I stand up.
Tripper: I take my AOO.
ProneBoy: Now I've stood up, I'll...
Tripper: My ready goes off, I trip ProneBoy. Tripper's initiative is set.
ProneBoy: I'll stand up again.

Following round:
Tripper: goes back to round 1...

-James


Tarantula wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
Come and get me does not come into play until 12th level. By that time a lot of monsters have really high CMD's, and his point was that your first explanation was incorrect by the rules, even though he did seem to be rude by the way he worded his response.

User a tripping reach weapon (guisarme?) then. Unexpected strike is able to be used at 2nd level on. If monsters CMD is the issue, then trip-locking won't work anyway, so why bring it up?

My point is there is plenty of ways to be able to trip someone out of turn, keeping your standard action open to ready for tripping them when they get back up.

The reach weapon is actually a bad idea since you can't take the AoO if the monster is within 5 feet of of you. It is better pulled off with a normal weapon. Even if the bad guy has reach you may be able to 5 ft step to within 5 feet. Then on the next round he is tripped since he does not know you have "come and get me".

PS:Why am I helping you? Disregard everything I just typed.

PS2:I did not bring "come and get me" up. I just responded to it. :)


james maissen wrote:
Callarek wrote:


So, explain to me how you are EVER going to be in a position (without a non-PF item like the Belt of Battle) to be able to spend TWO STandard actions in a single round?

Here's how you do it:

Tripper is fighting ProneBoy, and it is Tripper's turn.

Tripper: I ready to trip him when he attacks me a second time.
ProneBoy: I attack Tripper. Now I make my iterative attack.
Tripper: My ready goes off, I trip ProneBoy. My init is set to right before ProneBoy's.
ProneBoy: I finish my attack on Tripper.

Next round:
Tripper: I ready to trip ProneBoy.
ProneBoy: I stand up.
Tripper: I take my AOO.
ProneBoy: Now I've stood up, I'll...
Tripper: My ready goes off, I trip ProneBoy. Tripper's initiative is set.
ProneBoy: I'll stand up again.

Following round:
Tripper: goes back to round 1...

-James

I thought you had to ready an action based on an observation such as I ready to trip him if he does ______. He may try to crawl away, and then stand up. :)


wraithstrike wrote:
He may try to crawl away, and then stand up. :)

That could work for him. It would provoke of course and take two move actions.

At which point on your next turn you'd move up and start over again.

Is it completely optimal and/or fool-proof? No. But it does do the job that they want, even though it takes more effort on Tripper's part than they might like,

James

551 to 556 of 556 << first < prev | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / "Trip-Locking Doesn't Work" - Official Ruling or Not? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.