Question about damage using 2 handed weapons and Power Attack


Rules Questions


I know that using a 2 handed weapon that damage is calculated by taking your regular damage modifier (my characters case is +7)and multiplying it by 1.5 making my damage +10 after rounding down. My question is when I use Power Attack, that also multiplies damage by 1.5, do I use my regular damage modifier of +7 or do I use the +10 from 2 handed use and then add +4 for my 7 BAB in the final calculation? Or have I got the whole thing wrong?! lol


keltic1701 wrote:
I know that using a 2 handed weapon that damage is calculated by taking your regular damage modifier (my characters case is +7)and multiplying it by 1.5 making my damage +10 after rounding down. My question is when I use Power Attack, that also multiplies damage by 1.5, do I use my regular damage modifier of +7 or do I use the +10 from 2 handed use and then add +4 for my 7 BAB in the final calculation? Or have I got the whole thing wrong?! lol

You actually get 1.5x Power Attack damage as well with a two-handed weapon. So you appear to have 24 Strength, thus giving you a +7 to damage from Strength, and +10 for two-handed weapons. While Power Attacking with a two-handed weapon, in exchange for the -2 to hit, you would add an additional +6 to the damage (and if you have 7 BAB, then next level this increases to +9). So you would do 2d6+16 Power Attacking with a Greatsword. With a one-handed weapon like a Longsword, you would Power Attack for 1d8+11.


keltic1701 wrote:
I know that using a 2 handed weapon that damage is calculated by taking your regular damage modifier (my characters case is +7)and multiplying it by 1.5 making my damage +10 after rounding down. My question is when I use Power Attack, that also multiplies damage by 1.5, do I use my regular damage modifier of +7 or do I use the +10 from 2 handed use and then add +4 for my 7 BAB in the final calculation? Or have I got the whole thing wrong?! lol

I am not sure what you mean by that last bit, but Rogue Eidolon got it right.


Rogue Eidolon wrote:
keltic1701 wrote:
I know that using a 2 handed weapon that damage is calculated by taking your regular damage modifier (my characters case is +7)and multiplying it by 1.5 making my damage +10 after rounding down. My question is when I use Power Attack, that also multiplies damage by 1.5, do I use my regular damage modifier of +7 or do I use the +10 from 2 handed use and then add +4 for my 7 BAB in the final calculation? Or have I got the whole thing wrong?! lol
You actually get 1.5x Power Attack damage as well with a two-handed weapon. So you appear to have 24 Strength, thus giving you a +7 to damage from Strength, and +10 for two-handed weapons. While Power Attacking with a two-handed weapon, in exchange for the -2 to hit, you would add an additional +6 to the damage (and if you have 7 BAB, then next level this increases to +9). So you would do 2d6+16 Power Attacking with a Greatsword. With a one-handed weapon like a Longsword, you would Power Attack for 1d8+11.

I have a +7 from a Strength of 20 that gives me a +5 damage, +1 damage for enchantment to the greatsword and another +1 damage for Weapon Training for Heavy Blades. Sorry...should have broken this down in my original post.

I'm a bit confused on how you got the + 6 and +9 damage. From my understanding of Power Attack with a -1 to attack and you get a +2 to damage. After +4 on BAB it goes up to -2 attack and +4 to damage. Could you break down how you got +6 and +9? Thanks


keltic1701 wrote:

I have a +7 from a Strength of 20 that gives me a +5 damage, +1 damage for enchantment to the greatsword and another +1 damage for Weapon Training for Heavy Blades. Sorry...should have broken this down in my original post.

I'm a bit confused on how you got the + 6 and +9 damage. From my understanding of Power Attack with a -1 to attack and you get a +2 to damage. After +4 on BAB it goes up to -2 attack and +4 to damage. Could you break down how you got +6 and +9? Thanks

When you power attack using a 2 handed weapon, the value goes up to +3 damage for -1 to hit. So for your -2 to hit, you get +6 to damage (and at +8 base attack bonus, it increases to -3 to hit, and thus +9 to damage).

Note, though, that using a weapon 2 handed doesn't increase your total damage bonus, only what comes from strength. So, for you, you get +5 from strength, +1 from your enchanted sword, and +1 from weapon training. If you're using that sword 2 handed, you get +7 from strength, but still only +1 from the sword and +1 from weapon training. You do, of course, add power attack on top of that, should you be using it for your attack.


DrowVampyre wrote:
keltic1701 wrote:

I have a +7 from a Strength of 20 that gives me a +5 damage, +1 damage for enchantment to the greatsword and another +1 damage for Weapon Training for Heavy Blades. Sorry...should have broken this down in my original post.

I'm a bit confused on how you got the + 6 and +9 damage. From my understanding of Power Attack with a -1 to attack and you get a +2 to damage. After +4 on BAB it goes up to -2 attack and +4 to damage. Could you break down how you got +6 and +9? Thanks

When you power attack using a 2 handed weapon, the value goes up to +3 damage for -1 to hit. So for your -2 to hit, you get +6 to damage (and at +8 base attack bonus, it increases to -3 to hit, and thus +9 to damage).

Note, though, that using a weapon 2 handed doesn't increase your total damage bonus, only what comes from strength. So, for you, you get +5 from strength, +1 from your enchanted sword, and +1 from weapon training. If you're using that sword 2 handed, you get +7 from strength, but still only +1 from the sword and +1 from weapon training. You do, of course, add power attack on top of that, should you be using it for your attack.

Ohhh! Ok...the Power Attack damage bonus itself is increased by 50% making the +2 a +3! I misread the rule. I understand now, thanks!!


keltic1701 wrote:
DrowVampyre wrote:
keltic1701 wrote:

I have a +7 from a Strength of 20 that gives me a +5 damage, +1 damage for enchantment to the greatsword and another +1 damage for Weapon Training for Heavy Blades. Sorry...should have broken this down in my original post.

I'm a bit confused on how you got the + 6 and +9 damage. From my understanding of Power Attack with a -1 to attack and you get a +2 to damage. After +4 on BAB it goes up to -2 attack and +4 to damage. Could you break down how you got +6 and +9? Thanks

When you power attack using a 2 handed weapon, the value goes up to +3 damage for -1 to hit. So for your -2 to hit, you get +6 to damage (and at +8 base attack bonus, it increases to -3 to hit, and thus +9 to damage).

Note, though, that using a weapon 2 handed doesn't increase your total damage bonus, only what comes from strength. So, for you, you get +5 from strength, +1 from your enchanted sword, and +1 from weapon training. If you're using that sword 2 handed, you get +7 from strength, but still only +1 from the sword and +1 from weapon training. You do, of course, add power attack on top of that, should you be using it for your attack.

Ohhh! Ok...the Power Attack damage bonus itself is increased by 50% making the +2 a +3! I misread the rule. I understand now, thanks!!

Indeed, you've got it. Good gaming!

Liberty's Edge

everything posted so far makes sense but i cant seem to find a way to add it into my hero lab as an adjustment. I have a barbarian lvl 16 w 25 strength +7 weilding a +5 great axe with weapon focus greataxe +1 and a sacred bonus of +2 if i go power attack where does that put my damage bonus. currently according to Hero Lab (Pathfinder) I am +17dmg with my great axe. if i get the correct bonus I can make a Macro that will display it on the game ( Gaming on roll 20)even if i cant get it to show on Hero Lab..so do i wind up with a +20 damage bonus or +18???

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Hero Lab is a tool best used if you already understand the rules. I wouldn't recommend using it to learn the game. It is also prone to errors and can slow down gameplay if you're not proficient with it.

Power Attack only increases damage based on your Base Attack Bonus (BAB). It doesn't matter how many other bonuses you're adding, they won't increase the damage from Power Attack at all (unless they specifically say so; I can think of only one).

With a two-handed weapon, if your BAB is anywhere from...
+1 to +3, then bonus damage will be +3
+4 to +7, then bonus damage will be +6
+8 to +11, then bonus damage will be +9
+12 to +15, then bonus damage will be +12
+16 to +19, then bonus damage will be +15
+20, then bonus damage will be +18


So your level 16 barbarian subtracts 5 from his attack roll to add 15 damage above EVERYTHING else he has. So +10 (2H STR), +5 (Axe), +2 (Sacred) = +17. Weapon focus only adds to attack rolls, not damage. I don't know what the sacred bonus is but I included it in case it applies to damage. You are also +7 (STR) +5 (Axe), +1 (WF), +2 (Sacred) to hit for a total of +15 to hit (not counting BAB).

For clarity, that's +15 to hit, +17 damage. Normally.

When you use Power Attack, you take -5 to hit and gain +15 damage for a modified total of +10 to hit, +32 damage.


ancientdm wrote:
everything posted so far makes sense but i cant seem to find a way to add it into my hero lab as an adjustment. I have a barbarian lvl 16 w 25 strength +7 weilding a +5 great axe with weapon focus greataxe +1 and a sacred bonus of +2 if i go power attack where does that put my damage bonus. currently according to Hero Lab (Pathfinder) I am +17dmg with my great axe. if i get the correct bonus I can make a Macro that will display it on the game ( Gaming on roll 20)even if i cant get it to show on Hero Lab..so do i wind up with a +20 damage bonus or +18???

General note: Only Str and Power Attack bonuses are x1.5 for two-handed weapons; other damage bonuses are not multiplied. It's hard to tell from your example whether you were adding the +1 from magic before multiplying by 1.5. So the formula is:

(STR bonus x 1.5) + (Power Attack Bonus x 1.5) + Any other bonuses

Also note that at each stage, odd numbers round down. So a +5 Str bonus gives you +7, not +7.5.

In Hero Lab:
If you have the Power Attack feat, it displays as an option on the In Play tab. Check that box to turn it on and clear the box to turn it off.

If you have a two-handed weapon, Hero Lab will correctly apply the 1.5 str and 1.5 Power Attack and then add any other bonuses. This works whether you have the weapon equipped or not ("equipped" = "checked on the Weapons tab").

If you have a one-handed weapon that can be used two-handed, Hero Lab will not calculate the two-handed bonuses unless you equip the weapon in both hands (i.e., check both of the boxes beside the weapon). If the weapon is not equipped, Hero Lab displays only the one-handed values.

Does that help?


Yeah, I was coming by to post that as well Gwen.

I see the OP totaling his damage to +7, but including enhancement bonuses and other things in that amount and trying to multiply by 1.5.

When you wield a weapon two handed, only strength and power attack are multiplied by 1.5.

Everything else is just flatly applied, unless it has something to state otherwise.

So, if you have +5 strength modifier you would add 7 damage from strength because you're two-handing.


Yeah, the OP seemed to be confused about that some 5 years ago, but in the end he seemed to get it.

The RNP (Recent Necromancer Poster) had different questions.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about damage using 2 handed weapons and Power Attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.