"Wild" Armor Enhancement


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I have a question on this armor enhancement. It states the following:

**
Wild: The wearer of a suit of armor or a shield with this ability preserves his armor bonus (and any enhancement bonus) while in a wild shape. Armor and shields with this ability usually appear to be covered in leaf patterns. While the wearer is in a wild shape, the armor cannot be seen.
**

Does the armor in question impost any movement or armor check penalties or does it just fortify the new wildshape with an armor bonus?

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Shar Tahl wrote:

I have a question on this armor enhancement. It states the following:

**
Wild: The wearer of a suit of armor or a shield with this ability preserves his armor bonus (and any enhancement bonus) while in a wild shape. Armor and shields with this ability usually appear to be covered in leaf patterns. While the wearer is in a wild shape, the armor cannot be seen.
**

Does the armor in question impost any movement or armor check penalties or does it just fortify the new wildshape with an armor bonus?

While I am thinking about it, does it apply a max dex bonus?

I am asking because I plan on having my druid in Stoneplate. It gives you a hefty movement penalty and ACP.


When you wild shape, the armor dissappears and all bonuses and penalties dissappear as well.

The wild enchantment gives you the armor bonus but says nothing about also giving you the penalties.

I would say the penalties are not there.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

That's what I was thinking (and hoping!)


Some other threads discussed this in length. The +3 cost is high enough to justify not having the penalties.
Here's hoping you stay in wildshape all day long, though, because you'd suffer hefty penalties in your original form (isn't there a Strength requirement?)

However, some GMs might see as "munchkinism" the fact that you'd don an armor you're not proficient with, with the only excuse that the penalties disappear when you're in wild shape. And you could find your character facing an antimagic zone more than once...

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Louis IX wrote:

Some other threads discussed this in length. The +3 cost is high enough to justify not having the penalties.

Here's hoping you stay in wildshape all day long, though, because you'd suffer hefty penalties in your original form (isn't there a Strength requirement?)

However, some GMs might see as "munchkinism" the fact that you'd don an armor you're not proficient with, with the only excuse that the penalties disappear when you're in wild shape. And you could find your character facing an antimagic zone more than once...

He will be taking heavy proficiency at 7th level and my druid will have 20 unenhanced strength. He is a melee druid.


I'd agree that when wild shaped the armor disappears and poses no armor check or max dex penalties to the druid.

However, if a player were to try and make use of Wild armor for an armor type hes not proficient with, I'd find a way to make him suffer for that bit of cheese.

It would also be a reasonable response to say that if hes not proficient with the armor, the armor check and max Dex penalties apply in wild shape, but would not apply if he were proficient with said armor.


Father Dale wrote:


However, if a player were to try and make use of Wild armor for an armor type hes not proficient with, I'd find a way to make him suffer for that bit of cheese.

Bad DM, no cookie.

-James


Father Dale wrote:

I'd agree that when wild shaped the armor disappears and poses no armor check or max dex penalties to the druid.

However, if a player were to try and make use of Wild armor for an armor type hes not proficient with, I'd find a way to make him suffer for that bit of cheese.

It would also be a reasonable response to say that if hes not proficient with the armor, the armor check and max Dex penalties apply in wild shape, but would not apply if he were proficient with said armor.

While I wouldn't make him suffer per say, I would create a situation or two where their choice has consequences.


james maissen wrote:
Father Dale wrote:


However, if a player were to try and make use of Wild armor for an armor type hes not proficient with, I'd find a way to make him suffer for that bit of cheese.

Bad DM, no cookie.

-James

James James James....why must you always respond so negatively to anything I say?

Obviously I wouldn't make him 'suffer,' it was a hyperbolic use of the word.

And if anything I am far too giving of a GM than I should be...my players will tell you the same.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / "Wild" Armor Enhancement All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.