Animal Companions - Do They Get Skill Bonuses


Rules Questions


For example, would a lion animal companion get the racial bonus to hide checks in undergrowth that a lion gets? Would a hawk companion get a bonus to Perception checks? I cannot find anything that suggests that they would. Anyone have any idea?

Dark Archive

No, they don't get anything beyond what you can find in the core rulebook.


Rake wrote:
For example, would a lion animal companion get the racial bonus to hide checks in undergrowth that a lion gets? Would a hawk companion get a bonus to Perception checks? I cannot find anything that suggests that they would. Anyone have any idea?

Yes they get it.

From the PRD:
Animal Companions

An animal companion's abilities are determined by the druid's level and its animal racial traits. Table: Animal Companion Base Statistics determines many of the base statistics of the animal companion. They remain creatures of the animal type for purposes of determining which spells can affect them.


wraithstrike wrote:

Yes they get it.

From the PRD:
Animal Companions

An animal companion's abilities are determined by the druid's level and its animal racial traits.

That's not referring to the Bestiary statblocks, though. It's referring to the Animal Companion statblocks, which don't include racial bonuses to skills.


Zurai wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:

Yes they get it.

From the PRD:
Animal Companions

An animal companion's abilities are determined by the druid's level and its animal racial traits.

That's not referring to the Bestiary statblocks, though. It's referring to the Animal Companion statblocks, which don't include racial bonuses to skills.

If they are already listed why tell us to include them?

I really don't know if that is the case, but I will ask for errata to clear it up. I don't see anything called out as racial traits in the stat blocks though. It also does not make sense that you only get what is in the core book.
Does this also mean we ignore the size bonus/penalty to AC since that is not listed?

<rant> It is really strange how some rules are detailed or others are obscure. Either hold my hand the entire way or assume I have common sense all the time. Mixing the two only confuses people.</rant>

Owner - Pikes Comics

For Society this has already been answered in the FAQ. They do not get the racial bonuses.


lostpike wrote:
For Society this has already been answered in the FAQ. They do not get the racial bonuses.

I know but Society often has its own rules for balance reasons.

Scarab Sages

Well, the quote is:

"An animal companion's abilities are determined by the druid's level and its animal racial traits."

If you take that separately, you get:

"An animal companion's abilities are determined by the druid's level" = The table that has the druid's level, animal HD, saves, bab, str/dex plus, etc.

"and its animal racial traits." = The information below under each individual animal, what ability scores they start with, special qualities they might have, etc.

The fact that they do list *some* racial qualities with animals (sprint, grab, the alligator's death roll) is a good indication that they only meant the animal companion to have what they listed.


Karui Kage wrote:

Well, the quote is:

"An animal companion's abilities are determined by the druid's level and its animal racial traits."

If you take that separately, you get:

"An animal companion's abilities are determined by the druid's level" = The table that has the druid's level, animal HD, saves, bab, str/dex plus, etc.

"and its animal racial traits." = The information below under each individual animal, what ability scores they start with, special qualities they might have, etc.

The fact that they do list *some* racial qualities with animals (sprint, grab, the alligator's death roll) is a good indication that they only meant the animal companion to have what they listed.

If they do not specifically say the ones in the core book then to me it means all of them. I don't think its a big deal for the most part, but they do need to clarify what you do and don't get. There should at least be guidelines such as ______ is an exception to the normal rules.


wraithstrike wrote:
If they do not specifically say the ones in the core book then to me it means all of them.

Then why list the animal companion traits at all? By your interpretation, they should just use the bestiary stats and balance be damned.


Zurai wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
If they do not specifically say the ones in the core book then to me it means all of them.
Then why list the animal companion traits at all? By your interpretation, they should just use the bestiary stats and balance be damned.

Darn you Zurai for making sense. :)

I think my point has been made though, no reason to take it to 300 posts.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Animal Companions - Do They Get Skill Bonuses All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.