Some splash weapons questions


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

So using a splash weapon...

"Prepare to throw splash weapon" is listed as a full round action on the combat table... what is this? Does this mean draw it, and do XXX to make it work, then throw it or is it just a full round action to prep it then a standard action to throw it? Do you have to draw the splash weapon first (a move action) then prep it? In the splash weapon section it doesn't really talk about this, it just says ... you can throw one as a touch attack...

It seems like the worst possible reading here is that it takes almost 2 full rounds to launch an alchemists flask which seems nuts.

We've always played it that launching a splash weapon is a standard action but it seems this indicates it's a full round action at minimum. Maybe you can prepare a few before combat and then just draw and throw them like normal weapons? If it's full round action to draw prep and launch one then it's a bit worse than I thought but not too terrible. Anything more than a full round makes it nearly worthless.

More questions next post...

Shadow Lodge

Exactly which feats work with splash weapons. Here is what I think works and doesn't:

Works

Arcane Strike: Seems like yes, unfortunately alchemists aren't arcane 'casters' :(
Greater Weapon Focus
Improved Precise Shot
Mounted Archery
Point Black Shot
Precise Shot:
Throw Anything: Explicitly DOES work and +1 to attack rolls yeah!
Weapon Focus: Seems like it works.
Weapon Specialization: Seems like it works

Doesn't Work

Deadly Aim: Does not apply to weapons that attack as a touch attacks
Quick Draw: Explicit in text that splash weapons don't work
Rapid Shot: Without quick draw I'm not sure how this would be viable
Shot on the Run: Seems like the whole full round action thing makes it a no.
Two Weapon Fighting: The bit about prepping a splash weapon seems to preclude throwing 2 in a round.

????
Vital Strike Chain: Alchemist bombs don't get vital strike or at least the bonus damage isn't doubled. I suspect this won't work at all with splash weapons since 'prepping' is a full round action.

Sneak Attack
Doesn't work with splash weapons.

Favored Enemy
Not entirely clear, is it a precision thing or something else? I'm leaning towards no.

Critical Hits
I'm not sure what the deal is on critical hits. Alchemists bombs don't seem to crit so I'm leaning towards no but don't like it. I would probably say yes to a player here but... I'm not sure. This would also exclude the critical feats.

Scarab Sages

0gre wrote:
Prepare to throw splash weapon" is listed as a full round action on the combat table... what is this?

My interpretation of this is that it uses up a full round action to pull out a splash weapon, and then ready it to throw once conditions are met...such as "Throw alchemists fire once enemies enter the room". Just like a readied action...

Although I'm probably wrong :P

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Weapon focus is specifically called out by the alchemist class, so I'm going to think that it can work with splash weapons.

Also, where specifically is it indicated that alchemist bombs don't crit? Not disagreeing, just not sure where to see the exact rule.

Shadow Lodge

Mandreth wrote:
0gre wrote:
Prepare to throw splash weapon" is listed as a full round action on the combat table... what is this?

My interpretation of this is that it uses up a full round action to pull out a splash weapon, and then ready it to throw once conditions are met...such as "Throw alchemists fire once enemies enter the room". Just like a readied action...

Although I'm probably wrong :P

So throwing alchemists fire in a normal round would be like throwing any other item (except you can't use quick draw :(

That is certainly how I've played it. I just stumbled across this 'prepping' thing when I was poking through the splash weapons and it completely baffled be.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
0gre wrote:
Mandreth wrote:
0gre wrote:
Prepare to throw splash weapon" is listed as a full round action on the combat table... what is this?

My interpretation of this is that it uses up a full round action to pull out a splash weapon, and then ready it to throw once conditions are met...such as "Throw alchemists fire once enemies enter the room". Just like a readied action...

Although I'm probably wrong :P

So throwing alchemists fire in a normal round would be like throwing any other item (except you can't use quick draw :(

That is certainly how I've played it. I just stumbled across this 'prepping' thing when I was poking through the splash weapons and it completely baffled be.

I think the "Full Round Action" applies to Oil (as opposed to Alchemist Fire). That's one of the advantages to Alchemists fire, no prep.

From PRD:

Oil: A pint of oil burns for 6 hours in a lantern or lamp. You can also use a flask of oil as a splash weapon. Use the rules for alchemist's fire (see Special Substances and Items on Table: Goods and Services), except that it takes a full-round action to prepare a flask with a fuse. Once it is thrown, there is a 50% chance of the flask igniting successfully.

Shadow Lodge

Abciximab wrote:

I think the "Full Round Action" applies to Oil (as opposed to Alchemist Fire). That's one of the advantages to Alchemists fire, no prep.

From PRD:

Oil: A pint of oil burns for 6 hours in a lantern or lamp. You can also use a flask of oil as a splash weapon. Use the rules for alchemist's fire (see Special Substances and Items on Table: Goods and Services), except that it takes a full-round action to prepare a flask with a fuse. Once it is thrown, there is a 50% chance of the flask igniting successfully.

That's a good point. I hadn't looked into the PRD. I generally don't like to reference obsolete rules but this one entry in the table doesn't seem to make any sense otherwise. I'm going to stick with move to draw and standard to throw then.


I think Abciximab has it right. "Prepare a splace weapon" is refering to things that need to be lit like the oil. In that case, I believe it is a move to draw, a full round to lite, and a standard to throw. They could be preped ahead of time, but then you have open oil in your pack while traveling.


0gre wrote:
That's a good point. I hadn't looked into the PRD. I generally don't like to reference obsolete rules but this one entry in the table doesn't seem to make any sense otherwise. I'm going to stick with move to draw and standard to throw then.

Obsolete? Not sure what is meant by that, this is from the Pathfinder Reference Document. I would expect it says the same thing in the core rule book, though I don't have mine handy at the moment.

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/equipment.html

Shadow Lodge

Abciximab wrote:
0gre wrote:
That's a good point. I hadn't looked into the PRD. I generally don't like to reference obsolete rules but this one entry in the table doesn't seem to make any sense otherwise. I'm going to stick with move to draw and standard to throw then.

Obsolete? Not sure what is meant by that, this is from the Pathfinder Reference Document. I would expect it says the same thing in the core rule book, though I don't have mine handy at the moment.

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/equipment.html

D'oh, I misread your post.


Abciximab wrote:


I think the "Full Round Action" applies to Oil (as opposed to Alchemist Fire). That's one of the advantages to Alchemists fire, no prep.

Thanks for clearing this out.

This should be clarified in the Combat Action chart, as this confusing FRA "Prepare splash weapons" entry has been lingering there for ages...


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Can a myrmidarch use ranged spellstrike with a splash weapon?


bump

Shadow Lodge

Umbranus wrote:

Can a myrmidarch use ranged spellstrike with a splash weapon?

It's ranged, it's a weapon, nothing explicitly says no, so I'm guessing yes. That being said, spellstrike does say:

Quote:
If successful, this melee attack deals its normal damage as well as the effects of the spell.

...and ranged spellstrike is a modification to the original, so the attack has to hit in order to work. I'd rule that the spell itself is carried by the flask, so only the creature DIRECTLY hit by the splash weapon gets hit by the spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Some splash weapons questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.