Tumbling through an enemy


Rules Questions


I had a question about failing acrobatics checks and tumbling through enemies.

Let's say that Lenny the halfling rogue wants to tumble through Chuckie the ogre's square so that he can flank Chuckie with Wilfred the light-armor fighter. Lenny decides to just cross straight through Chuckie's squares. He rolls acrobatics to tumble, making sure to move half speed to avoid the +10 to his DC, but rolls a 1. His acrobatics result is, comically, a 4. As a result, he takes an attack of opportunity.

1) Is Lenny's movement completed?
2) If it is not, where does Lenny go?

Wilfred decides to get through Chuckie so that he can be on the other side of him (he believes this to be a sound tactical advantage). Wilfred moved through Chuckie's square, but only the bottom-right corner of his square. He also rolls a 1, and gets, comically, a -3.

1) Is Wilfred's movement completed?
2) If it is not, where does Wilfred go?

Chuckie the ogre, after smiting and murdering Wilfred, gains a level of experience in mid-combat and selects Stand Still as his bonus feat. Lenny, always the village idiot, repeats both his and Wilfred's actions down to the roll.

1)If Lenny moves through Chuckie and is hit by stand still, where does he stop?
2)Can Chuckie decide when Lenny provokes from him?
3)If Lenny provokes from Chuckie while moving through his square, where does Lenny go?
4) If an attack of opportunity stops a person moving through your square, is Stand Still a redundant ability for this case?

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Ice Titan wrote:

I had a question about failing acrobatics checks and tumbling through enemies.

Let's say that Lenny the halfling rogue wants to tumble through Chuckie the ogre's square so that he can flank Chuckie with Wilfred the light-armor fighter. Lenny decides to just cross straight through Chuckie's squares. He rolls acrobatics to tumble, making sure to move half speed to avoid the +10 to his DC, but rolls a 1. His acrobatics result is, comically, a 4. As a result, he takes an attack of opportunity.

1) Is Lenny's movement completed?
2) If it is not, where does Lenny go?

Wilfred decides to get through Chuckie so that he can be on the other side of him (he believes this to be a sound tactical advantage). Wilfred moved through Chuckie's square, but only the bottom-right corner of his square. He also rolls a 1, and gets, comically, a -3.

1) Is Wilfred's movement completed?
2) If it is not, where does Wilfred go?

Chuckie the ogre, after smiting and murdering Wilfred, gains a level of experience in mid-combat and selects Stand Still as his bonus feat. Lenny, always the village idiot, repeats both his and Wilfred's actions down to the roll.

1)If Lenny moves through Chuckie and is hit by stand still, where does he stop?
2)Can Chuckie decide when Lenny provokes from him?
3)If Lenny provokes from Chuckie while moving through his square, where does Lenny go?
4) If an attack of opportunity stops a person moving through your square, is Stand Still a redundant ability for this case?

For the first part i would say this:

No where under the skill does it say, 'if you fail to tumble through a square your movement stops' but it does say that you suffer an AoO.

This is how we play it...he just continues his move since he has done nothing else...he just cant go through his foe since he failed the check..... Just make sure you count the squares moved correctly...


Unless he's taken Fleet twice, the halfling wouldn't get through the ogres squares if he moved half his speed. So to be able to tumble through he has to move at his full speed.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

1) Is Lenny's movement completed?

No. He can continue his movement, including attempting to tumble through again given enough movement.

2) If it is not, where does Lenny go?

Generally in my games I treat it as a failed overrun, putting the character in the nearest unoccupied square infront of the tumble target. However I am pretty sure following the rules you would be returned to the last legal square you occupied.

1)If Lenny moves through Chuckie and is hit by stand still, where does he stop?

He stops in the square he would have been leaving when he provoked. If that square is not legal he is returned to the last legal square he occupied.

2)Can Chuckie decide when Lenny provokes from him?
No. Lenny decides his own path. Chuckie can decide wether or not to take his oppurtunity attack after each individual square however.

3)If Lenny provokes from Chuckie while moving through his square, where does Lenny go?

Last legal square he occupied. Again I house rule to this to the closest legal square infront of the target as per a failed overrun, but the rule is there.

4) If an attack of opportunity stops a person moving through your square, is Stand Still a redundant ability for this case?

The attack of opportunity doesn't stop movement at all. The failed tumble check, means that movement is lost. Stand Still would prevent the target from moving afterward with any remaining movement so its not redundant.


LuZeke wrote:
Unless he's taken Fleet twice, the halfling wouldn't get through the ogres squares if he moved half his speed. So to be able to tumble through he has to move at his full speed.

You might also want to mention that "Lenny" isn't a traditional name for a halfling rogue. It'd have just as much to do with the purpose of the thread.

Quote:

2)Can Chuckie decide when Lenny provokes from him?

No. Lenny decides his own path. Chuckie can decide wether or not to take his oppurtunity attack after each individual square however.

For the purposes of game mechanics, I'd assume Lenny takes each square at a time, and the DM prompts Chuckie to take each attack of opportunity as the movement progresses. If Lenny moves out of Chuckie's range somehow without Chuckie taking the attack (a very unlikely thing, since he provokes as he leaves the last threatened square, but, bear with me) Chuckie "loses" the AoO. This'd be true for, say, a reach-weapon user as well.

Quote:
The attack of opportunity doesn't stop movement at all. The failed tumble check, means that movement is lost.

I see it now. It's in Ch.8 as part of "Movement, Position and Distance" as part of the "Moving through a square" text. I wish that the Acrobatics section had a "Failure:" or "Try Again:" section in it.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
LuZeke wrote:
Unless he's taken Fleet twice, the halfling wouldn't get through the ogres squares if he moved half his speed. So to be able to tumble through he has to move at his full speed.

He could take two half-speed move actions to get there but be unable to make an attack.


Ice Titan wrote:
I had a question about failing acrobatics checks and tumbling through enemies.

ummmmmm, is the enemy incorporeal by chance? because tumbling through him would be very, very difficult. unless you can tumble very fast, but that just leaves a big red mess.


I am pretty sure he was talking about tumbling through the enemy's space ::roll-eyes::


i know what he meant. i just couldn't resist though.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Tumbling through an enemy All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.