Looking through the playtest document, I have a somewhat finicky request: can you please make it absolutely clear whether each "bonus feat" needs prerequisites or not?
The Core Rulebook did an excellent job at this. I was really impressed! The Advanced Player's Guide playtest document does a pretty good job, but it misses a few cases. I know this is going to come off as horribly nit-picky, but nevertheless:
- Alchemist's Brew Potion bonus feat: it's pretty clear from context that the alchemist doesn't need to meet the prerequisite, but it couldn't hurt to clarify.
- Alchemist's Throw Anything bonus feat: there's no prerequisite, so there's no need to add any boilerplate
- Cavalier's Mount's Light Armor Proficiency bonus feat: there's no prerequisite
- Cavalier's Tactician bonus feats: it's clear that the cavalier needs to meet the prerequisites. It's not absolutely clear (to me, anyway) if the cavalier can grant the use of this feat to someone who doesn't meet the prerequisites (e.g. can a non-spellcaster get the benefit of the Allied Spellcaster feat?).
- Cavalier's bonus combat feat: it doesn't mention whether the cavalier needs to meet the prerequisites for his bonus combat feats. Note that the wording is pretty much the same as the description of a fighter's bonus feats in the Core Rulebook (i.e. it's not specified whether the fighter needs to qualify for a bonus combat feat); unfortunately, that's a step backwards from 3.5, where it clearly stated "A fighter must still meet all prerequisites for a bonus feat, including ability score and base attack bonus minimums."
- Order of the Cockatrice Braggart bonus feat: it doesn't say whether the cavalier needs the prerequisite. Note that ignoring the prerequisite doesn't make sense in the case of Dazz[e]ling Display, since it requires you to wield a "weapon in which you have Weapon Focus". So this is a bit of a problem.
- Order of the Shield's Stem the Tide bonus feat: it says you don't need to meet the prerequisites.
- Order of the Sword's Mounted Mastery bonus feats: it says you do need to meet the prerequisites.
- Inquisitor's bonus teamwork feats: it says you do need to meet the prerequisites.
- Battle Oracle's Resiliency bonus feat: it says you don't need to meet the prerequisites.
- Bones Oracle's Undead Servitude bonus feat: it gives you the prerequisite automatically.
- Flame Oracle's Cinder Dance bonus feats: it says you do not need to meet the prerequisites.
- Stone Oracle's Stone Stability bonus feats: it says you do not need to meet the prerequisites.
- Waves Oracle's Fluid Nature bonus feat: it says you do not need to meet the prerequisites.
- Summoner's Eidolon's Multiattack bonus feat: it specifies that you do need to meet the prerequisite (among other things).
- Summoner's Eidolon's Weapon Training bonus feat: Simple Weapon Proficiency has no prerequisite.
So the potentially unclear cases are the Order of the Cockatrice's Dazzling Display, the Cavalier's combat bonus feats, whether the Cavalier's tactitian feats works on non-qualified individuals, and maybe the Alchemist's Brew Potion (although you'd have to be an extreme literalist to suggest that an Alchemist gets the Brew Potion feat but can't use it...).
Now, let the cries of "the DM can clarify all of this" ring out from the highest mountaintop! :-)
|Jason Bulmahn Director of Game Design|