Eldritch Knight


Rules Questions


I am planning on playing an Eldritch Knight-Fighter 3, Wizard 5, Eldritch Knight 10 for the River Kingdoms AP. I have a few simple questions first.

I am thinking of playing an Elf and having him use an Elven Quick Blade. Then I started thinking about casting and having a hand "free" while using a two handed weapon. Could he hold the Quick Blade in one hand and cast or is it that not workable? If not what weapon would work well?

Second question is about Arcane Strike. Will the caster levels of EK stack with Wizard for this feat?

I have never played 3.5 or pathfinder before but I have looked at the books and ran sample characters. (Old 1E player from the 80's).

The other members of the party will be a Cleric and Ranger(TreantMonk's switch hitter build) with the fourth either a Fighter or Druid.


Daniel Waugh wrote:

I am planning on playing an Eldritch Knight-Fighter 3, Wizard 5, Eldritch Knight 10 for the River Kingdoms AP. I have a few simple questions first.

I am thinking of playing an Elf and having him use an Elven Quick Blade. Then I started thinking about casting and having a hand "free" while using a two handed weapon. Could he hold the Quick Blade in one hand and cast or is it that not workable? If not what weapon would work well?

Second question is about Arcane Strike. Will the caster levels of EK stack with Wizard for this feat?

I have never played 3.5 or pathfinder before but I have looked at the books and ran sample characters. (Old 1E player from the 80's).

The other members of the party will be a Cleric and Ranger(TreantMonk's switch hitter build) with the fourth either a Fighter or Druid.

Yes, he could hold the blade in one hand while casting a spell. Yes, EK stacks with wizard for the feat.

That's my story and I'm stickin' to it! :0)


i seriously recommend you just grab 2 levels of fighters and use the trait that let you increase your CL up to your HD.

Shadow Lodge

being that he wouldn't be attacking with the blade at the same time as casting a spell, I believe that it would be allowable, yes. You don't need to have both hands on the weapon at all times, just when attacking with it.
As for Arcane Strike, being that Eldritch Knight increases the caster level of the arcane spellcasting class you already have, it would count.


Magical Knack is the trait you want, or you could import the good old Practised Caster feat from 3.5 which would eliminate all four lost caster levels from your planned character. The other thing you could import from 3.5 is the Elven Thinblade if you feel a 2-handed blade is a bit much - finesseable, 1d8 base damage and critical on an 18-20.


What about the following for feats?

1-Weapon Focus-curved blade, Weapon finesse
2-Power Attack
3-Cleave
4-Evoker(banned charm and necro), Bond-familiar
5-Improved Initiative
7-Combat Casting
8-Craft Item
9-Improved Sunder, Greater Sunder
11-Improved Critical-curved blade
13-Critical Focus, Vital Strike
15-Bleeding Critical
17-Improved Vital Strike, Spell Penetration

Elf would be the race. He can inflict serious damage with the curved blade and still cast spells up to 7th level. He can also make magic items for enhancements and scribe scrolls for the ones he wants for contingency or in extra numbers. Thoughts?


Not bad. I would consider adding Arcane Strike in there - although you have to do a swift action every round to keep using it, its got an effective free bonus to attack and damage for no other penalty. I'd also consider Practised Caster, or if you cannot get it, Spell Penetration and Greater Spell Penetration - otherwise those lost casting levels are going to hurt at higher level when you run into nasties with spell resistance.


Dane Pitchford wrote:

being that he wouldn't be attacking with the blade at the same time as casting a spell, I believe that it would be allowable, yes. You don't need to have both hands on the weapon at all times, just when attacking with it.

As for Arcane Strike, being that Eldritch Knight increases the caster level of the arcane spellcasting class you already have, it would count.

Ok, after reading in another thread I have a couple more questions.

If I go with the Elf with the Quick Blade can I use a buckler also? If so can I cast spells with the buckler while holding the Quick blade in one hand?

If I decided to import the Elven Thinblade(one handed, 1d8, 18-20 crit, finessable) could I carry a light shield and still cast? How about a buckler?

I am looking to eventually use celestial armor which is alot cheaper than +8 bracers and a buckler or shield would be a big advantage.


Daniel Waugh wrote:
If I go with the Elf with the Quick Blade can I use a buckler also?

If the Quick blade is a two handed weapon, then you can wear the buckler, but you won't gain any AC from it. You will also take a -1 to attacks.

Daniel Waugh wrote:
If so can I cast spells with the buckler while holding the Quick blade in one hand?

Yes. Remember to check for Arcane Spell Failure, depending on material used to create the buckler.

Daniel Waugh wrote:
If I decided to import the Elven Thinblade(one handed, 1d8, 18-20 crit, finessable) could I carry a light shield and still cast? How about a buckler?

yes on buckler, yes (I think) on light shield.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Eldritch Knight All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.