The extent of teleportation


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Can a spellcaster or creature teleport out of manacles? A creature's grasp? Out of their very clothes? To what extent does teleport allow?

Do the manacles/creature/clothes HAVE to come with you when you teleport? Or are you automatically freed from such things?

Can you choose what goes and what stays behind?


A very interesting question.

As for the manacles and the clothes, I can't say without guessing.

But for 'a creatures grasp', yes, as long as all the other pre-requisites for successful casting in a grapple are met, i.e. Still Spell feat {for negating any somatic components} , concentration check successful, and any material components already in hand. Highly situational, but possible.

As far as a guess for manacles: normally, no; with Still Spell, yes {bound wrists interfere with somatic spell-casting}.

And as far as clothes.... I believe one chooses which {if any} items are teleported. This makes for an interesting gray area.


This came up with the local group for teleport as well as various other spells of similar nature. It was ruled that the caster may, at the time of casting, designate items carried to not be teleported. This means if the caster is unaware of any items on their person, those are teleported. Otherwise, the caster would have to keep accurate stock of all their belongings when teleporting.


Dimension Door only has a verbal component.


KaeYoss wrote:
Dimension Door only has a verbal component.

so does teleport


hmm.. I think I'll let the player decide what he can leave with or without :

1) he must specifically state to leave items worn or carried behind

2) only objects / creatures the wizard could possibly escape from using a sucessful escape artist check

(manacles are fine, but no escape being covered with oil or acid)

Sovereign Court

Well you can always choose not to bring people along with you, since you have to pick who your bringing with normally.

As for clothes, I'd say no, and for the sake of what I think is fun I'm going to say no to manacles as well. Especially considering there is already a verbal only spell that's a much lower level that helps get you out of those called Knock.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Remco Sommeling wrote:

hmm.. I think I'll let the player decide what he can leave with or without :

1) he must specifically state to leave items worn or carried behind

2) only objects / creatures the wizard could possibly escape from using a sucessful escape artist check

(manacles are fine, but no escape being covered with oil or acid)

I really like this interpretation. I didn't even think of using it to get out of something like ongoing acid burn.

What other abuses might be had by creative munchkins I wonder?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
KaeYoss wrote:
Dimension Door only has a verbal component.

Concentration check still applies.

Dark Archive

the other question is can an grappler consider themselves a "Willing target" to be taken with the caster. This would most likely take a spellcraft check to know what spell they are casting, but would you allow it?


Happler wrote:
the other question is can an grappler consider themselves a "Willing target" to be taken with the caster. This would most likely take a spellcraft check to know what spell they are casting, but would you allow it?

Targets are chosen by the caster, not by the target.


Without any specific rules backing, I'd say yes to all. I'd probably also allow teleporting out from being covered in acid/oil/fire with a higher Concentration check.

Sovereign Court

Nowhere near being official word, but IMCs, I use the same definition of "aura" as I do for determining what stays visible when an invisible person picks up a visible object. To wit: there is an invisible "aura" extending about 1 foot from each creature, and effects like Invisibility and Teleport work on things in that aura. So, IMC, no you can't teleport out of manacles/ropes/chains etc, and if you slap manacles on an invisible foe, they disappear as soon as all of the parts of the manacles are within 12" of the invisible creature.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / The extent of teleportation All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.