Sunburst area?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

The short description for [i]sunburst[i] in the wizard/sorcerer spell list says "blinds all within 10 feet, deals 6d6 damage."

The statblock for the spell says: "Area: 80-ft-radius burst."

The spell description simply says, "All creatures in the globe are blinded and take 6d6 damage."

So which is it? Is the area of effect a 10' radius burst, or an 80' radius burst? Or is 10 feet the radius of the blindness effect, and 80 feet the radius for the damage? Or vice versa?


Michael Gentry wrote:
The short description for [i]sunburst[i] in the wizard/sorcerer spell list says "blinds all within 10 feet, deals 6d6 damage."

A typo in the short description?

Quote:
The statblock for the spell says: "Area: 80-ft-radius burst."

Text trumps table is applicable here I suppose. So 80 ft applies.

Quote:
The spell description simply says, "All creatures in the globe are blinded and take 6d6 damage."

It also says that a succesful save negates the blindness.

Quote:
So which is it? Is the area of effect a 10' radius burst, or an 80' radius burst? Or is 10 feet the radius of the blindness effect, and 80 feet the radius for the damage? Or vice versa?

80' burst for both effects. Saving halves damage and negates blindness.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sunburst area? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.