Channel energy in silence?

Rules Questions

In my last game we had an argument over channel energy.

I think that you need to be heard to make a channel energy but I dont find it anywere in the PFRPG.

Anybody knows if it's possible to make a Channel E. in a silence?

It's a supernatural ability. Supernatural abilities have no verbal, somatic (movement), focus or material components unless specifically mentioned in the ability's text.

In other words, if Channel Energy doesn't say it requires the cleric to speak, it doesn't require the cleric to speak. The only requirement listed in the ability entry is to be able to present a holy symbol, which is a somatic and divine focus component; no verbal component is mentioned. Channel Energy can be used in silence, even magically-enforced silence.


That's what we ruled last time.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Channel energy in silence? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.