One hand Glaive... Reach or not?


Rules Questions


So If my medium sized human fighter uses a small sized glaive one handed (taking the -2 penalty to hit of course) does he still get reach from using a glaive? A small creature using it would, so I'm inclined to say yes, especially since the book doesn't say no (anywhere I could find it) but wanted to double check with the people on the boards.


as it is half size or less no. It's longsword size at most two handed sword sized maybe 4' long, no reach


By RAW, yes. A reach weapon is a reach weapon regardless of its size.

That said, I wouldn't allow it in my games.


@seeker: But if that's so (it's size-comparable to a longsword/greatsword), it shouldn't grant reach to a Small wielder either, should it? That said, I'm not sure where items are specified to be dimensionally half as big... AFAIK only their weight difference is specified. A Small-size Glaive may just be a BIT shorter (negligibly re: Reach), but slighter in thickness to match small hands.

rule zero: don't break the rules :-)


A small item isn't half the size, otherwise a halfling wouldn't get reach with it either, as it wouldn't go as far as a medium reach weapon. Since Medium and Small creatures have the same reach with and without a reach weapon I didn't see it as a huge thing.

Truthfully to do this you would be paying a lot. -2 to hit and reduced damage dice, as well as not getting the 1 1/2 strength on damage (and increase in power attack if you use it), for the benefit of using either a second weapon (with an additional penalty to hit due to two weapon fighting) or a shield.

However I could see problems with Large sized creatures and medium reach weapons since the base reach of the creatures involved are much different (and small creatures using tiny reach weapons for the same reason).


Are there any Tiny reach weapons?

Given that a Tiny reach weapon would presumably double the natural reach of a Tiny creature, I would presume it grants the same (+0ft. reach) bonus when it's wielded by anyone else.

Similarly, a Medium reach weapon doubles a Medium creatures natural reach - i.e. +5ft. So a Large creature wielding a Medium reach weapon would presumably have +5ft. reach, rather than the +10ft. it would have from a Large reach weapon.


Jabor wrote:

Are there any Tiny reach weapons?

Given that a Tiny reach weapon would presumably double the natural reach of a Tiny creature, I would presume it grants the same (+0ft. reach) bonus when it's wielded by anyone else.

Similarly, a Medium reach weapon doubles a Medium creatures natural reach - i.e. +5ft. So a Large creature wielding a Medium reach weapon would presumably have +5ft. reach, rather than the +10ft. it would have from a Large reach weapon.

This is how I have always ruled it in my games. Reach weapons provide reach for the size of the typical user or the current user, whichever is less.


Jabor wrote:
Similarly, a Medium reach weapon doubles a Medium creatures natural reach - i.e. +5ft. So a Large creature wielding a Medium reach weapon would presumably have +5ft. reach, rather than the +10ft. it would have from a Large reach weapon.

Great, there you go using common sense and stuff! Now I'm gonna have to fix my Ogre that uses 2 pencil thin, tiny glaives with 15' reach... just great! *storms off* :D

-----------------------
Drama and sarcasm aside... I wondered that question for 2 years while playing a 3.5E human chain-fighter. Seemed kinda silly that a Halfling would then wield a necklace thin spiked chain as it had the same reach and length, but less damage.

Scarab Sages

Daniel Moyer wrote:
Great, there you go using common sense and stuff! Now I'm gonna have to fix my Ogre that uses 2 pencil thin, tiny glaives with 15' reach... just great! *storms off* :D

You win the thread.

Grand Lodge

seekerofshadowlight wrote:
as it is half size or less no. It's longsword size at most two handed sword sized maybe 4' long, no reach

As far as size of weapons go...

Pathfinder RD wrote:
A weapon's size category isn't the same as its size as an object. Instead, a weapon's size category is keyed to the size of the intended wielder. In general, a light weapon is an object two size categories smaller than the wielder, a one-handed weapon is an object one size category smaller than the wielder, and a two-handed weapon is an object of the same size category as the wielder.

A small creature wielding a reach weapon has a reach of 5 ft doubled to 10 ft.

A medium creature is exactly the same indicating that although a Guisarme for a medium creature is about 8 ft. in length a small Guisarme is still at least 6ft. in length granting enough reach to hit that 10 ft space.

Creatures of Tiny size or smaller "DO NOT HAVE REACH" so the table:Creature size and scale should list a "-" instead of "0" for their natural reach. This means that reach weapons "Double" a wielder's natural reach and 0 x 2 is still 0.

Even with Lunge a Tiny or smaller creature would not gain any benefit from this feat since having no reach you cannot add +5 to something you do not possess. If reach was 0 then you could lunge up to 5 feet but thats not what the rules state.

pres man wrote:
Jabor wrote:

Are there any Tiny reach weapons?

Given that a Tiny reach weapon would presumably double the natural reach of a Tiny creature, I would presume it grants the same (+0ft. reach) bonus when it's wielded by anyone else.

Similarly, a Medium reach weapon doubles a Medium creatures natural reach - i.e. +5ft. So a Large creature wielding a Medium reach weapon would presumably have +5ft. reach, rather than the +10ft. it would have from a Large reach weapon.

This is how I have always ruled it in my games. Reach weapons provide reach for the size of the typical user or the current user, whichever is less.

There are no Tiny Reach weapons. As a good houserule for reach weapons that I used in 3.5 and works fine here;

A reach weapon reduces the reach provided by -5 feet for each size category smaller and increases the reach provided by +5 feet for each size category larger than its intended wielder but always provides at least +5 ft reach.

It should be noted that a whip effectively gives you a reach of 15 feet which is the same as adding +10 to your reach. for each size category increase on a whip increase the reach by the following table:
Large +20 ft
Huge +30 ft
Guargantuan +40 ft
Colossal +50 ft

Example: A colossal creature with a colossal whip has a reach of 80 feet (natural reach = 30 + 50 ft.) NOT 75 ft. (15 ft x 5 size categories).

Creature Size - Weapon Size
Medium - Large reach weapon (whip is currently the only weapon in this category). A large whip provides 25ft reach.
Medium - Medium reach weapon doubles the weapons reach.
Medium - Small reach weapon provides 10 ft reach and is wielded as a one handed weapon. The whip has a reach of 15 ft but functions as a light weapon (reducing the offhand penalty when fighting with it in offhand.)

Large (tall) - Huge whip provides 5-40ft reach
Large (tall) - Medium reach weapon provides 10-15 ft reach. A medium whip provides 5-15ft reach
Large (tall) - Small reach weapon provides 10-15 ft reach.

Huge (tall) - Gargantuan whip provides 5-55 ft reach.
Huge (tall) - Large reach weapon provides 15-25 ft reach. A large whip provides 5-30 ft reach
Huge (tall) - Medium reach weapon provides 15-20 ft reach.

Gargantuan (tall) - Colossal whip provides 5-70 ft reach.
Gargantuan (tall) - Huge reach weapon provides 20-35 ft reach. A huge whip provides 5-45 ft reach
Gargantuan (tall) - Large reach weapon provides 20-30 ft reach.

Colossal (tall) - Guargantuan reach weapon provides 30-50 ft reach. A Gargantuan whip provides 5-65 ft reach
Colossal (tall) - Huge reach weapon provides 30-45 ft reach.

Those who are good at spotting math puzzles will notice that the maximum reach granted by a reach weapon (excluding the whip) is infact identical to the natural reach of a creature of that size. for example a huge creature has a natural reach of 15, wielding a large reach weapon he adds the natural reach of a large creature (10) to determine his reach with the weapon for a total reach of 25. wielding a medium creatures (5) reach weapon he has a total reach of 20.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / One hand Glaive... Reach or not? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.