Question about Wolves and Trip


Rules Questions


In the 3.5 SRD, a wolf gains a free trip attack if it hits with it's bite, essentially pulling it's victim off his feet. This free trip attack gains no AoO, and cannot be counter-tripped.

Not yet having monster information specific to Pathfinder, should I assume this rule holds true in the Pathfinder system, and that the victim not only doesn't get an AoO, against the trip, but that the wolf cannot trip itself up by missing it's attempt by more than 10?

Liberty's Edge

rando1000 wrote:

In the 3.5 SRD, a wolf gains a free trip attack if it hits with it's bite, essentially pulling it's victim off his feet. This free trip attack gains no AoO, and cannot be counter-tripped.

Not yet having monster information specific to Pathfinder, should I assume this rule holds true in the Pathfinder system, and that the victim not only doesn't get an AoO, against the trip, but that the wolf cannot trip itself up by missing it's attempt by more than 10?

The Pathfinder stats for the wolf are included in the free Bestiary Preview PDF. There's no detail on the trip attack: the damage just says "1d6+1 plus trip." Which suggests to me that it should be treated like a regular trip attack.

RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

Dunno. That text could be read as automatically tripping: it's part of the damage line, after the attack has already been resolved.

Making it a separate CM roll would be a little odd considering that a CM roll virtually consists of both a touch attack and a Strength check, of which the former is unnecessary because the wolf's already got its teeth in your ankle.

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game, Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

The trip (as well as grab) are explained in the Bonus Bestiary.

But they work as explained above with the exception that the wolf has no chance at tripping itself. And no the touch attack is not required, it jumps right to the trip attempt.

It took me a second to realize what they did with those special attackes such as trip and grab, etc. They are now listed with the attack, which makes sense, instead of its own listing like in 3.5.


/v5748btpy89m5]Bestiary Preview PDF[/url]. There's no detail on the trip attack: the damage just says "1d6+1 plus trip." Which suggests to me that it should be treated like a regular trip attack.

Yeah, I found that kind of weird considering how specific the 3.5 SRD was on the topic.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about Wolves and Trip All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.