On Grapple


Rules Questions


These might be simple questions but will appriciate answers

Rules state that "If you do not release the grapple, you must continue to make a check each round, as a standard action, to maintain the hold." right under this line it states that "If your target does not break the grapple, you get a +5 circumstance bonus on grapple checks made against the same target in subsequent rounds."

Are these two conditions the same ? In other words does the grappler does the continuation check with +5 and if succesfull able to pin the opponent, or she has to roll to keep grappling and has to roll seperatly to pin.

The second part of the question is; grappled condition lowers DEX score by -4. Which essentially means lowering CMD by -2. If continuation roll and pin rolls are the same, this really means the next roll be at +7 for the attacker.

Personally think that if attacker can pin as a part of continuation roll, the balance is in favor of the attacker.

Thanks for your answers.


Selcuk Gozubuyuk wrote:


Rules state that "If you do not release the grapple, you must continue to make a check each round, as a standard action, to maintain the hold." right under this line it states that "If your target does not break the grapple, you get a +5 circumstance bonus on grapple checks made against the same target in subsequent rounds."

Are these two conditions the same ? In other words does the grappler does the continuation check with +5 and if succesfull able to pin the opponent, or she has to roll to keep grappling and has to roll seperatly to pin.

You only roll once per round; if you succeed, you continue grappling plus you get to pin/damage/move on top of that.

Selcuk wrote:
The second part of the question is; grappled condition lowers DEX score by -4. Which essentially means lowering CMD by -2. If continuation roll and pin rolls are the same, this really means the next roll be at +7 for the attacker.

Yes, unless the grappler has the Agile Maneuvers feat (which uses Dex for CMB), in which case the grappler has a -2 penalty as well.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / On Grapple All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.