Protection Domain Power


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Quote:

Granted Powers: Your faith is your greatest source of

protection, and you can use that faith to defend others. In
addition, you receive a +1 resistance bonus on saving throws.
This bonus increases by 1 for every 5 levels you possess.

Am I correct in assuming this should read "for every cleric level you possess"? All the other domains include the cleric level caveat, but this one doesn't.

Sovereign Court

uriel222 wrote:
Quote:

Granted Powers: Your faith is your greatest source of

protection, and you can use that faith to defend others. In
addition, you receive a +1 resistance bonus on saving throws.
This bonus increases by 1 for every 5 levels you possess.
Am I correct in assuming this should read "for every cleric level you possess"? All the other domains include the cleric level caveat, but this one doesn't.

I've browsed through the domains a few times and never spotted this. Yes, I believe you are correct.

Dark Archive

uriel222 wrote:
Quote:

Granted Powers: Your faith is your greatest source of

protection, and you can use that faith to defend others. In
addition, you receive a +1 resistance bonus on saving throws.
This bonus increases by 1 for every 5 levels you possess.
Am I correct in assuming this should read "for every cleric level you possess"? All the other domains include the cleric level caveat, but this one doesn't.

Without any change, it's on par with the other Granted Powers that are not Su or Sp, which looks to be mostly one to three skills becoming class skills, a feat, an increase to the DC of your channel positive energy to harm undead, or and a ten foot increase to base land speed.

So yeah, a freed up item slot and the lack of need to spend up to 25,000gp is as worth it as any of those other benefits... Probably more so.

Looking at it the other way, a 10th level cleric is walking around with a +10 resistance bonus to fort, reflex, and will saves... That's waaaay too powerful, especially since he can give the bonus to anyone else for a minute at a time.

No, the PRGCR is correct... +1 per 5 levels.

Liberty's Edge

I'm pretty sure the OP is asking whether it should read +1 per 5 cleric levels instead of just "5 levels" which would apply to *any* character levels.

Yes, I would agree it should be "cleric" levels. Good catch.


Liquidsabre wrote:

I'm pretty sure the OP is asking whether it should read +1 per 5 cleric levels instead of just "5 levels" which would apply to *any* character levels.

Yes, I would agree it should be "cleric" levels. Good catch.

I'm not so sure it's supposed to be "cleric" levels. No other granted power is restricted for people who multiclass out of cleric. Rune domain clerics don't get Scribe Scroll only for cleric spells, for example.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Pawns, Rulebook Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Class abilities that refers to levels are always assumed to be talking about levels in the class that grants the ability unless specifically stated otherwise. As a result, while it does mean cleric levels, it doesn't qualify as an "error" per se.


Shisumo wrote:
Class abilities that refers to levels are always assumed to be talking about levels in the class that grants the ability unless specifically stated otherwise. As a result, while it does mean cleric levels, it doesn't qualify as an "error" per se.

I see no indication of such in Pathfinder. Can you give me a page reference? It's possible I just missed it.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Pawns, Rulebook Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

First paragraph on pg 31, last sentence: "The exception to this is class abilities, most of which are based on the total number of class levels that a character possesses of that particular class." It isn't as explicit as I would like, but it is placed in direct contrast to non-class abilities, which "are always based on the total number of levels or Hit Dice a character possesses, not just those from one class." This combines with the extremely explicit text from 3.5 to make me sure that, unless there's a very compelling reason to argue otherwise (and by that I mean text that says, "character level" in a class ability), you use the class level when you are talking about levels in a class ability.

Silver Crusade

Shisumo wrote:
First paragraph on pg 31, last sentence: "The exception to this is class abilities, most of which are based on the total number of class levels that a character possesses of that particular class." It isn't as explicit as I would like, but it is placed in direct contrast to non-class abilities, which "are always based on the total number of levels or Hit Dice a character possesses, not just those from one class." This combines with the extremely explicit text from 3.5 to make me sure that, unless there's a very compelling reason to argue otherwise (and by that I mean text that says, "character level" in a class ability), you use the class level when you are talking about levels in a class ability.

That's about what I was thinking, except that for every other domain power it explicitly states "cleric levels." This is probably just a stylistic error, but should be changed, if only for clarity and consistency's sake.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Protection Domain Power All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.