Acrobatics question (tumbling)


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Starfinder Superscriber

Forgive me its late and we just played and ny brian is no working.

So when you tumble THROUGH an enemy space the check is 5 = CMD.

That is easy but it seems that the only pronlem with failure is just an attack of opprotunity.

So regaurdless of roll you can move through enemy space with acrobatics? Its just a question of do you get attacked?


Darius Silverbolt wrote:

Forgive me its late and we just played and ny brian is no working.

So when you tumble THROUGH an enemy space the check is 5 = CMD.

That is easy but it seems that the only pronlem with failure is just an attack of opprotunity.

So regaurdless of roll you can move through enemy space with acrobatics? Its just a question of do you get attacked?

The fundamental rule is you cannot move through an enemy, your tumble is trying to bypass that and so I say the fail signifies he has not let you through.

As with overrun, you cannot move through an enemy square normally and I would say if you fail the attempt this rule comes into force. Also if you are hit you are stopped in the space the AOO hit you anyway which likely will be before you manage to pass through. I personally believe in that specific case you cant move through as you have effectively been body blocked to signify your fail. If you are moving around the enemy the failure is just the AOO, i.e would be easier to dance around the foe even if you get an AOO going off.

Thats my thoughts.


The rules only talk about not provoking an AoO, so it seems a reasonable interpretation that you can attempt to tumble through someone, fail the check and still get past them at just the cost of provoking an AoO. There's certainly no support in the rules for the idea that if you're hit by the AoO your movement is stopped.

That said, I hope I'm misinterpreting those rules. That was the case in 3.0, and it was relatively common for someone to attempt to tumble through an opponent, fail the check by 22, and still be happy because they were now past the opponent.

Liberty's Edge

Starfinder Superscriber
udalrich wrote:

The rules only talk about not provoking an AoO, so it seems a reasonable interpretation that you can attempt to tumble through someone, fail the check and still get past them at just the cost of provoking an AoO. There's certainly no support in the rules for the idea that if you're hit by the AoO your movement is stopped.

That said, I hope I'm misinterpreting those rules. That was the case in 3.0, and it was relatively common for someone to attempt to tumble through an opponent, fail the check by 22, and still be happy because they were now past the opponent.

That was my thought as well.


udalrich wrote:

The rules only talk about not provoking an AoO, so it seems a reasonable interpretation that you can attempt to tumble through someone, fail the check and still get past them at just the cost of provoking an AoO. There's certainly no support in the rules for the idea that if you're hit by the AoO your movement is stopped.

That said, I hope I'm misinterpreting those rules. That was the case in 3.0, and it was relatively common for someone to attempt to tumble through an opponent, fail the check by 22, and still be happy because they were now past the opponent.

As Dracon said you have to successfully tumble to get through an opponents square.

Under Movement:
Tumbling: A trained character can attempt to use Acrobatics to move through a square occupied by an opponent (see the Acrobatics skill).

Failure to tumble means your "attempt" fails.


I see. They cleverly hid part of the description on how to use the skill in a section most players rarely look at. :-(


udalrich wrote:
I see. They cleverly hid part of the description on how to use the skill in a section most players rarely look at. :-(

Some of the rules are not laid out intuitively. Some of this is legacy, some is newly introduced.

Most folks assume that when it says you have to tumble through to move through an opponents square that the implication is you have to successfully tumble. My guess is the wording is omitted because they assume it's obvious.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Acrobatics question (tumbling) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.