Sorcerer questions


Rules Questions


My friends just rolled up some PCs, and I'm DMing. I have a few questions about the sorcerer:

1. Why does the sorcerer get Use Magic Device as a class skill? As I see it, the sorcerer can read any scroll or use any wand that a wizard could use, isn't that true? Basically, he'd only have to use this skill to use wands of cure or other Cleric spells as I see it.

2. The sorcerer in this campaign is taking the Arcane background. He doesn't want a familiar, he's going with the bonded item instead. The rules for bonded items are covered under Wizards and in that section the text pertaining to the bonded item mentions the wizard's spellbook. (I think it's something like "once per day, the bonded item can be used to cast any spell from the Wizard's book yadda yadda yadda"). Anyway, since Sorcerers don't use a book, do I just let the sorcerer cast one additional spell (from his spells known list) per day using the bonded item ability?


FrinkiacVII wrote:

1. Why does the sorcerer get Use Magic Device as a class skill? As I see it, the sorcerer can read any scroll or use any wand that a wizard could use, isn't that true? Basically, he'd only have to use this skill to use wands of cure or other Cleric spells as I see it.

That's about right. There are a few wizard spells that aren't sorcerer spells (Mnemonic Enhancer is the only one I'm thinking of, which would be useless to a sorcerer.)

UMD would let the sorcerer use wands/scroll of cleric or druid spells. This can be useful, especially if you don't have both. If you can read a scroll of Hide from Animals (druid only), sneaking past the guard dogs gets much easier.

As for why they have it, it does give them more versatility, which they are lacking. Sure, a wizard might know 500 spells, but can he cast Cure Light Wounds or Barkskin? A sorcerer with good UMD can. They are presented as having a more intuitive approach to magic, so being able to "fake" using a magic item fits in with that theme.

FrinkiacVII wrote:


2. The sorcerer in this campaign is taking the Arcane background. He doesn't want a familiar, he's going with the bonded item instead. The rules for bonded items are covered under Wizards and in that section the text pertaining to the bonded item mentions the wizard's spellbook. (I think it's something like "once per day, the bonded item can be used to cast any spell from the Wizard's book yadda yadda yadda"). Anyway, since Sorcerers don't use a book, do I just let the sorcerer cast one additional spell (from his spells known list) per day using the bonded item ability?

That sounds right. It does make it less useful for a sorcerer than a wizard. The wizard can cast a spell that he didn't prepare, but that concept doesn't exist for a sorcerer. Especially if the character seems underpowered, I might let him scribe a limited number of spells on his bonded item, using the rules for scribing spells into a spellbook. 1 (maybe 2) per spell level sounds reasonable. That gives it a bit of the "emergency trick" flavor that it has for the wizard.


Ok, thanks.

Sovereign Court

Don't forget the ability to emulate other races or alignments, or even higher caster levels to activate more powerful items. Being able to have a high use magic device score can doa lot of things for a character.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sorcerer questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.