Although they show important differences, like double damage if you have a bracing weapon (spears, halberd, etc.), the Setting against a charge and the Hold the line feat, duplicate similar effects.
1. Should they both apply if you have the feat AND ready against a charge ? This would mean double damage from the readying AND an AoO from your opponent entering the square.
2. Forgetting the Hold the line feat for a second: readying with a reach weapon, would you get an attack at double damage AND an AoO from your opponent leaving the square to get to you?
3. What do you think about a new version of the Hold the line feat that would state that it acts as if you are always ready to receive (meaning double damage with a bracing weapon, but no Ready AND AoO as in question 1)?
|Disciple of Sakura|
I'll try my best to answer:
1) Yes. They'd get both the AoO and the readied attack. It's best not to charge these folks.
2) Yes. They'd get both the AoO and the readied attack. This is better than Hold the Line, though I think Hold the Line would net you an extra AoO assuming you had any, because they're provoking via a different set of circumstances. You really don't want to charge these guys.
3) I think that'd overall be better than the current Hold the Line, mostly because it's rather situational, and because I've never seen a spear-wielder ready a weapon against a charge and then be charged. Afterall, if someone is within charge range, has a pole-arm that can be set, and doesn't actually do anything on their turn, you'd be crazy to charge them.
Ouch! That was my guess, but I thought it too good to be tr... Wait a minute, no one ever charges a readied longspear wielding person!
I guess it balances the lance wielding cavalier with feats that make you wanna make a run for it...
I think I will include that new Hold the line feat in my house rules.