Shield Slam + Great Cleave


Rules Questions


Can I make an attack as a standard action with a shield bash and Shield Slam, thereby getting a free bull rush to move the foe adjacent to another foe, and then Great Cleave into that foe, triggering another free bull rush to push that foe adjacent to a new foe, over and over until I run out of movement?


*Poke.* 'Allo?

Sczarni

Randall Jhen wrote:
*Poke.* 'Allo?

Nope. According to the Great Cleave feat, "You cannot attack an individual foe more than once during this attack action."


Ah hah. So, since Shield Slam grants a "free bull rush attack," which would be a second attack against the same foe, it doesn't work with Great Cleave. Got it. And since Cleave states, "You can only make one additional attack per round with this feat," it wouldn't allow you to use the free bull rush either.

I figured there was a reason that it wouldn't work, though it does make me a little sad that I can't make a skirmisher/battlefield controller like that.


Randall Jhen wrote:
Can I make an attack as a standard action with a shield bash and Shield Slam, thereby getting a free bull rush to move the foe adjacent to another foe, and then Great Cleave into that foe, triggering another free bull rush to push that foe adjacent to a new foe, over and over until I run out of movement?

I'd say yes as a house rule because I see the bull rush as part of the shield slam, even if technically they sound like two separate things. It would have to be setup just right. Imagine a line of enemy combatants. You start at one end, on a diagonal from the line. You shield slam A and bull rush A out of the line until you're in a diagonal with B, but A is still adjacent to B. Great cleave into B with a shield slam until you're in a diagonal with C, and so on. You only attack each opponent "once".

The question from the definition of Great cleave is, does the target need to be adjacent at the beginning or at the end of the first attack? It has to be at the end, because if it was at the start and after the first attack you're 15 feet away it makes no sense that you could attack an opponent that was adjacent at the beginning. Brilliant, as long as you can bull rush an opponent next to another (it doesn't have to be a line obviously). A little like billiards...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shield Slam + Great Cleave All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.