Bull's Strength


Rules Questions


What is the effect of this spell on a character with STR 18? 22 or 26?

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

22


The strength of the target has no bearing on what this spell does. It always adds +4 to his STR, which results in him gaining +2 to hit and +2 damage, along with other benefits like lifting and carrying more, etc.

It's always the same regardless of the original strentgh of the target you cast it on.

The only exception being if that targe already has something that gives him an enchantment bonus to his STR, because two enchantment bonuses will not stack (add together). In that case, you only apply the highest bonus and the other bonus is wasted.

So, for example, if the guy you cast this spell on has a STR of 16 and is wearing a +2 Belt of Giant Strength giving him a total STR of 18, and now you cast Bull's Strength on him, he really has a 16 STR with a +2 enchantment bonus and a +4 enchantment bonus, and only the highest is applied, bringing his STR to 20 (16 + 4) while the spell is in effect - when it wears off, he goes back to 18 (16 + 2) since the belt never wears off.


DM_Blake wrote:

The strength of the target has no bearing on what this spell does. It always adds +4 to his STR, which results in him gaining +2 to hit and +2 damage, along with other benefits like lifting and carrying more, etc.

It's always the same regardless of the original strentgh of the target you cast it on.

The only exception being if that targe already has something that gives him an enchantment bonus to his STR, because two enchantment bonuses will not stack (add together). In that case, you only apply the highest bonus and the other bonus is wasted.

So, for example, if the guy you cast this spell on has a STR of 16 and is wearing a +2 Belt of Giant Strength giving him a total STR of 18, and now you cast Bull's Strength on him, he really has a 16 STR with a +2 enchantment bonus and a +4 enchantment bonus, and only the highest is applied, bringing his STR to 20 (16 + 4) while the spell is in effect - when it wears off, he goes back to 18 (16 + 2) since the belt never wears off.

I think you mean enhancement bonuses. Unless you're talking about someone who is made to think they're stronger than they really are... ;)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bull's Strength All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.