Lamia Matriarch in Humanoid Form


Rise of the Runelords


L.M's suffer a stat change and loss of certain powers when they take humanoid form.

Is there an opinion (or definitive answer in case an Editor wanders by) on their 9 points of natural armor?

You think that remains the same when they change forms?

If I take it as RAW, it would.. but tossing it out there to see what folks think.


Yes.

Reason? Them b*&#hs are scary.


How about the size of their weapons? If one is carrying a rapier is it Large or Medium?

Sean Mahoney


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
Sean Mahoney wrote:
How about the size of their weapons? If one is carrying a rapier is it Large or Medium?

From the Alternate Form rules:

If the creature changes size, any gear it wears or carries that can be worn or carried in its new form changes size to match the new size.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
Watcher wrote:

L.M's suffer a stat change and loss of certain powers when they take humanoid form.

Is there an opinion (or definitive answer in case an Editor wanders by) on their 9 points of natural armor?

You think that remains the same when they change forms?

If I take it as RAW, it would.. but tossing it out there to see what folks think.

Which rules are you referencing? Taking humanoid form is listed in their description as an alternate form ability, which comes with specific rules. One of them is: The creature loses the natural weapons, natural armor, and movement modes of its original form, as well as any extraordinary special attacks of its original form not derived from class levels (such as the barbarian’s rage class feature).

This doesn't mean that this isn't contradicted someplace. My question about which rules you're referencing is sincere, not sarcasm.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

If this means that a lamia matriarch is best off switching to her true form to enter combat, I'm cool with that.

Paizo Employee Director of Brand Strategy

The Great Oz has spoken!


tbug wrote:
This doesn't mean that this isn't contradicted someplace. My question about which rules you're referencing is sincere, not sarcasm.

I chose my words poorly, Tbug. Though thanks for tipping me off that it wasn't sarcasm, that really helps. Sincerely.

I guess I should have phrased it:

Me wrote:

L.M's suffer a stat change and loss of certain powers when they take humanoid form.

Is there an opinion (or definitive answer in case an Editor wanders by) on their 9 points of natural armor?

You think that remains the same when they change forms?

If I don't read into the stat block any further than what it says, I guess it would... but tossing it out there to see what folks think.

It didn't sound particularly like a question, but I was actually trying to found out if my assumption was correct. It wasn't, but I got my answer thanks to you!

:) Does that make sense? I was trying to find out if there was a rule that governed that or not, because one wasn't jumping out at me.

I don't know why I just didn't ask the question more directly.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Thanks for the response, and I'm very glad that I could help. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Path / Rise of the Runelords / Lamia Matriarch in Humanoid Form All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rise of the Runelords