Saves vs. Entangle


Rules Questions


Do targets of an entangle spell get two saves the round that it is cast?

The text reads:

Quote:
Creatures that make their save can move as normal, but those that remain in the area must save again at the end of your turn. Creatures that move into the area must save immediately.

(my emphasis)

So, as a standard action, a druid casts entangle on a band of goblins, catching them all in the area of effect. They're goblins, so all but one fail their saves and are entangled.

The druid then uses a move action to pull out a potion, ending her turn.

Do the entangled goblins now get another save? (They have technically remained in the area.) Does the free goblin have to save again? (He's still there, too.)

The common sense test for me says that this takes effect at the end of the druids next turn. But I'd like to be sure, since I'm starting up a wilderness campaign this weekend.

The Exchange

Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Interesting, because I would play it as the save would begin on the creatures turn, not the druids. However the spell does mention the druid's turn not creatures, which would imply that yes they would have to make another save, even on the first turn. Note this this only applies to creatures that made their save, not to creatures that failed the save (As they are already entangled).

This may simply be a typo/error in the rules, but it does imply that on the round you cast the spell, everyone needs to make two saves, and if they fail either one they are entangled.


Alizor wrote:

Interesting, because I would play it as the save would begin on the creatures turn, not the druids. However the spell does mention the druid's turn not creatures, which would imply that yes they would have to make another save, even on the first turn. Note this this only applies to creatures that made their save, not to creatures that failed the save (As they are already entangled).

This may simply be a typo/error in the rules, but it does imply that on the round you cast the spell, everyone needs to make two saves, and if their fail either one they are entangled.

I'm leaning towards typo. That's awfully powerful for a 1st level spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Saves vs. Entangle All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.