Master Craftsman Clarification


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

The description of the Master Craftsman feat makes it sound like you can use any Craft of Profession skill as a prereq, that you can then take either the CMA&A or CWI feat, that you can substitute your selected Craft or Profession skill check for the check to create your item. Is that really the intent? Profession (Midwife) can be used to create a suit of armor? Or does the craft/profession skill need to be related to the task at hand as in the magic item creation rules?


Sir George Anonymous wrote:
The description of the Master Craftsman feat makes it sound like you can use any Craft of Profession skill as a prereq, that you can then take either the CMA&A or CWI feat, that you can substitute your selected Craft or Profession skill check for the check to create your item. Is that really the intent? Profession (Midwife) can be used to create a suit of armor? Or does the craft/profession skill need to be related to the task at hand as in the magic item creation rules?

The craft or profession has to be related to the task at hand. Check this out, it should make things fairly straight forward for you:

Magic Item Creation in PRD


I read the section on magic item creation, hence my question. If that is the intent of the feat (which I agree is probably the case), it should be reworded slightly, or receive an official clarification. As written, it indicates that any Craft or Profession skill can be used.

Cheers,

Sir George Anonymous


Sir George Anonymous wrote:

I read the section on magic item creation, hence my question. If that is the intent of the feat (which I agree is probably the case), it should be reworded slightly, or receive an official clarification. As written, it indicates that any Craft or Profession skill can be used.

Cheers,

Sir George Anonymous

You must not have scrolled down enough in the page I linked you to.

Creating Magic Armor
<snip>
Skill Used in Creation: Spellcraft or Craft (armor).

Creating Magic Weapons
<snip>
Skill Used in Creation: Spellcraft, Craft (bows) (for magic bows and arrows), or Craft (weapons) (for all other weapons).

Etc.

Creating Wondrous Items
<snip>
Skill Used In Creation: Spellcraft or an applicable Craft or Profession skill check.

Emphasis is mine.

There is such a wide variety in wonderous items that they expect you to apply some common sence, but they clearly state that the skill has to be applicable. Figurines will likely be sculpture, belts will likely be leatherworking, etc.


I *did* read that portion of the rules. *That* coupled with the wording in the Master Craftsman feat is what prompted my question. My point is that the Master Craftsman feat seems to bypass that requirement and allow *any* Craft or Profession feat to be used for either. I'm not arguing that it *should*, only that it isn't clear. My question was is that the intent, or should the specific Craft or Profession skill be drawn from the magic item creation rules.

Cheers,

Sir George Anonymous


Sir George Anonymous wrote:

I *did* read that portion of the rules. *That* coupled with the wording in the Master Craftsman feat is what prompted my question. My point is that the Master Craftsman feat seems to bypass that requirement and allow *any* Craft or Profession feat to be used for either. I'm not arguing that it *should*, only that it isn't clear. My question was is that the intent, or should the specific Craft or Profession skill be drawn from the magic item creation rules.

Cheers,

Sir George Anonymous

I don't see what isn't clear. You want to make magic items, check the magic item creation rules to see what you can make...

You want to make magical items with your profession midwife? Do wonderous items, and make up some related items... Baby extractor of painlessness, oil of fast labour, etc.

RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

PRD - Magic Item Creation wrote:
At the end of this process, the spellcaster must make a single skill check (usually Spellcraft, but sometimes another skill) to finish the item. If an item type has multiple possible skills, you choose which skill to make the check with.

You can use alternate skills as indicated without the Master Craftsman feat. Master Craftsman provides different benefits.

PRD - Master Craftsman wrote:
Benefit: Choose one Craft or Profession skill in which you possess at least 5 ranks. You receive a +2 bonus on your chosen Craft or Profession skill. Ranks in your chosen skill count as your caster level for the purposes of qualifying for the Craft Magic Arms and Armor and Craft Wondrous Item feats. You can create magic items using these feats, substituting your ranks in the chosen skill for your total caster level. You must use the chosen skill for the check to create the item. The DC to create the item still increases for any necessary spell requirements (see the magic item creation rules in Magic Items). You cannot use this feat to create any spell-trigger or spell-activation item.

The first bolded line probably indicates that you simply can't create anything which your profession wouldn't normally allow. The second one could call that into question, implying an exception to a rule which would otherwise allow you to create those items with whatever craft/profession you have. However, there are listed alternate skills for scrolls, staffs and wands; I believe Master Craftsman is simply excluding those.


It seems that Master Craftsman limits a would-be weapon- and armorsmith to choose one or the other, and not both.

And there is no text stating that the feat can be taken multiple times (which would be nice), thus limiting, say a Fighter to either forge arms or armor.

Any reason for this? Would it be to game-breaking to let a Fighter create both his sword and his shield?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Master Craftsman Clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.