Mage's Sword


Rules Questions


Just need a little clarification on this spell. Here it says that if you aren't directing the sword it will return to you.

Quote:
If the sword goes beyond the spell range from you, goes out of your sight, or you are not directing it, it returns to you and hovers.
And here it says that if you don't designate (direct) a new target it will continue to attack the previous one.
Quote:
Each round after the first, you can use a standard action to switch the sword to a new target. If you do not, the sword continues to attack the previous round's target.

These two things seem to contradict each other. So what my question is that if i cast this spell and designate a target that would count as my action for that round. But next round if i don't designate a new target, would I be able to cast another spell or do whatever and have the sword still take its attack?

Thanks for the help


Chris Walker wrote:
Just need a little clarification on this spell. Here it says that if you aren't directing the sword it will return to you.
Quote:
If the sword goes beyond the spell range from you, goes out of your sight, or you are not directing it, it returns to you and hovers.
And here it says that if you don't designate (direct) a new target it will continue to attack the previous one.
Quote:
Each round after the first, you can use a standard action to switch the sword to a new target. If you do not, the sword continues to attack the previous round's target.

These two things seem to contradict each other. So what my question is that if i cast this spell and designate a target that would count as my action for that round. But next round if i don't designate a new target, would I be able to cast another spell or do whatever and have the sword still take its attack?

Thanks for the help

I think it just means that if the target dies and you don't give it a new target it returns to you.

I think of it like well trained attack ferret. You tell it to fetch, and it goes after what you tell it to...as long as it can see you, and stays close enough to know you have its back. Once its target is dead, it either needs a new one, or comes back for a ferret treat =)

Dark Archive

Chris Walker wrote:
Just need a little clarification on this spell. Here it says that if you aren't directing the sword it will return to you.
Quote:
If the sword goes beyond the spell range from you, goes out of your sight, or you are not directing it, it returns to you and hovers.
And here it says that if you don't designate (direct) a new target it will continue to attack the previous one.
Quote:
Each round after the first, you can use a standard action to switch the sword to a new target. If you do not, the sword continues to attack the previous round's target.

These two things seem to contradict each other. So what my question is that if i cast this spell and designate a target that would count as my action for that round. But next round if i don't designate a new target, would I be able to cast another spell or do whatever and have the sword still take its attack?

Thanks for the help

I think what it is saying is that you can set it on someone as a standard action, then you can let it do it's thing. If you want to switch targets, it would require another standard action.

The "if you are not directing it" probably would come into effect if it killed one of your targets and you did not specify another one with a standard action.

that's how I would read it.

EDIT: Yeah, what Ninja Krigare said


OK, that is how I understood it, but just wanted to make sure.


Krigare wrote:


I think of it like well trained attack ferret. You tell it to fetch, and it goes after what you tell it to...as long as it can see you, and stays close enough to know you have its back. Once its target is dead, it either needs a new one, or comes back for a ferret treat =)

Clearly, you've never actually interacted with a ferret. :-P


It would seem like you could have any number of mage's swords up. You simply have to take a standard action to redirect them, one round at a time.

RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

udalrich wrote:
Clearly, you've never actually interacted with a ferret. :-P

I'm glad I'm not the only person who immediately had that thought.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mage's Sword All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.