
![]() |

Hey all.
Not sure I'm reading this correctly, but the rules for potion seem to be suddenly standing out as really different then what I thought they were before. Maybe it's a case of I was just mislead about the old rules, or maybe I'm too used to things having to be worded perfectly but it could be intentional changed too. I didn't see anyone else addressing this so far.
A potion is a magic liquid that produces its effect when imbibed. Potions vary incredibly in appearance. Magic oils are similar to potions, except that oils are applied externally rather than imbibed. A potion or oil can be used only once. It can duplicate the effect of a spell of up to 3rd level that has a casting time of less than 1 minute and targets one or more creatures. The price of a potion is equal to the level of the spell × the creator's caster level × 50 gp. If the potion has a material component cost, it is added to the base price and cost to create.
The bolding is the part I'm curious is correct or not. No more weapon oils (magic weapon, bless weapon, shillelagh, etc) seems to immediately spring to mind here, since I can't think up any possible way to consider a weapon a creature in a reasonable manner. Perhaps this is intentional, I'm a bit curious about it since a little vial of magic weapon oil always seemed like a good idea to keep on hand at lower levels.
Now my next question is a bit more rules lawyerish, but my reading of it is what it is. The spell you wish to make a potion out of would be required, as I'm reading it, to have a target line similar to Target: One Creature. Something along the lines of Target: Creature Touched wouldn't qualify for a proper potion or oil. Is that wrong? Is it Correct? Is it Intentional? Did potions of Cure Light Wounds just disappear?

Dilvish the Danged |

I just looked at the 3.5 SRD, and the "targets one or more creatures" language is in there also. There definately are oils and healing potions in 3.5
My interpretation is to infer "or objects at hand" into the text. You can not brew a potion of 'detect secret doors', or a potion of 'magic circle vs evil', but oils and healing potions are still good.

ShadowChemosh |

The next paragraph I think clears it up actually.
"Potions are like spells cast upon the imbiber. The character taking the potion doesn't get to make any decisions about the effect—the caster who brewed the potion has already done so. The drinker of a potion is both the effective target and the caster of the effect (though the potion indicates the caster level, the drinker still controls the effect)."
Which is why you can't have a potion of Shield, but can of Mage Armor. Shield is has no target only 'Range: Personal' and Mage Armor has 'Target: Creature Touched'.

![]() |

The next paragraph I think clears it up actually.
"Potions are like spells cast upon the imbiber. The character taking the potion doesn't get to make any decisions about the effect—the caster who brewed the potion has already done so. The drinker of a potion is both the effective target and the caster of the effect (though the potion indicates the caster level, the drinker still controls the effect)."
Which is why you can't have a potion of Shield, but can of Mage Armor. Shield is has no target only 'Range: Personal' and Mage Armor has 'Target: Creature Touched'.
I am inclined to disagree, that paragraph seems to be talking about the use of potions rather then the creation. :(

Jabor |

Did potions of Cure Light Wounds just disappear?
Does "Cure Light Wounds" target a creature?
It doesn't matter whether the spell targets "the caster of the spell" or "a creature" or "a touched creature" or "a creature within 30'" or even "a creature on the same plane" - it is still targeting a creature.

![]() |

Okay, I've asked a few rules questions in my time, and I usually get the answer: "If it doesn't specifically say you can't do something, then you can do it."
So, go ahead and make your weapon oils, your healing potions, and anything else that you think makes sense for a potion or oil. How about an oilflask of fireball? Watch where you're throwing that thing.

ShadowChemosh |

..
Still wondering why we lost weapon oils though too.
Using Magic Weapon as an example it has 'Range: Touch; Target: Weapon touched' as part of the spell. So it would work as potion(ie oils) just fine as what ever you poured it on would be the Weapon Touched. Or I am I missing something?

![]() |

To clarify, you can have a potion of shield: "personal" is still targeting a creature: you.
No Personal is not one or more creatures. You have to be able to cast the spell on other creatures for it to be eligible for a Potion. I'm fairly sure they will errata the feat to include objects for Oils like Magic Weapon or Bless Weapon.
This is no different that 3.5 where personal spells were illegal as well.
--Naval Vrockade

![]() |

Morgen wrote:Using Magic Weapon as an example it has 'Range: Touch; Target: Weapon touched' as part of the spell. So it would work as potion(ie oils) just fine as what ever you poured it on would be the Weapon Touched. Or I am I missing something?..
Still wondering why we lost weapon oils though too.
Weapons are not Creatures, and the spell a potion can contain must target One or More Creatures.

Remco Sommeling |

Potions were never intended to apply personal effects to other creatures, and to my knowledge they never could unless you had another skill for that.
As for oils I think brew potion needs another paragraph to include the brewing of oils specifically, I hardly think it was the intention to leave those out.