Master Craftsman and Arcane Bond


Rules Questions


I'm curious if these two work together. If a Fighter 3/Wizard 2 has an arcane bond for a weapon, and the master craftsman feat in craft weaponry, does he qualify to enchant his bonded weapon as if he had the Craft Magic Arms & Armor feat?

"A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required item creation feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat."

And Master Craftsman lets you substitute your ranks in craft for your caster level for the appropriate item creation feat.

It seems like it should work, but I'm curious about what others think.

Contributor

I think it should work, though of course he'd need to take Craft Magic Arms and Armor if he wanted to enchant any other weapon, or to make magical ammo (if he has a bow or crossbow) and so on.

Plus he may want to make armor at some point too.

But for his bonded object? I see it as a popular option, and not obviously broken.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The Arcane Bond can only take the specific forms listed for it. It can not be any magic item or weapon. So in the Fighter's case his only weapon option would be a staff and what he could do with it would be limited by his caster level.

Dark Archive

LazarX wrote:
The Arcane Bond can only take the specific forms listed for it. It can not be any magic item or weapon. So in the Fighter's case his only weapon option would be a staff and what he could do with it would be limited by his caster level.

Actually, check out the PRD:

"Objects that are the subject of an arcane bond must fall into one of the following categories: amulet, ring, staff, wand, or weapon."

The Exchange

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Bob Hopp wrote:

Actually, check out the PRD:

"Objects that are the subject of an arcane bond must fall into one of the following categories: amulet, ring, staff, wand, or weapon."

So I guess the arcane bonded yoyo is right out. :-(

Dark Archive

delabarre wrote:


So I guess the arcane bonded yoyo is right out. :-(

"Master Yo's Returning disk flail" Martial light weapon* 1d4 x2 crit

*(if you’re one of those people who can get one of those things to work then me and my meaty hands hate you :-), but you can treat it as simple.)

enjoy!

The Exchange

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Dustin Brants wrote:
delabarre wrote:


So I guess the arcane bonded yoyo is right out. :-(

"Master Yo's Returning disk flail" Martial light weapon* 1d4 x2 crit

*(if you’re one of those people who can get one of those things to work then me and my meaty hands hate you :-), but you can treat it as simple.)

enjoy!

Or it could be an amulet. Connected to a ring.

By a string, yo.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Master Craftsman and Arcane Bond All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.