Grapple Question


Rules Questions


I was running a Monster Mash using CR5 - CR8 creatures (from the bonus and preview bestiaries) and 8th level characters and we ran into some issues with grapple.

The Huge Ant-Lion was grappling the Dire Tiger and the guy running the Dire Tiger wanted to know if he could use his rake attack while being grappled.

From reading the rules on Rake it seemed like you could only use it when grappling, not being grappled. Is that correct?

BTW, I love the addition of grappling and being grappled. One of my players favorite tricks was as soon as he was grappled to pin the guy who grabbed him. In 5 rounds of grappling all they did was reverse grappler and grapplie positions. Then the Dire Tiger rolled a 1 and things went down hill.


Cainus wrote:


From reading the rules on Rake it seemed like you could only use it when grappling, not being grappled. Is that correct?

I think the rule requiring the critter to be the grappler to do the rake is reasonable. Having been owned by up to five cats at once (you don't own them, they own you), I can say from experience and many scratches that a cat will generally only attempt a rake if it has its front paws around its opponent, thus being the grappler.

However, there is a case in which there is a mutual grapple: Say the ant-lion has the cat about the neck, and the cat is on its back and has front paws grabbing the ant-lion's head/pincers. In this case, the cat will rake. A cat will generally prefer to use a rake when on its back, where leverage against the ground helps apply greater force.

I need to check to see if the rules accommodate a mutual grapple...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Grapple Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.