Caster Levels and Magic Item Crafting


Rules Questions

Sczarni RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32

I looked over the magic item crafting rules and was unable to find an explicit statement on this question: Does creating a magic item require the creator to be of the same or higher caster level of the item itself?

The ambiguity comes in the fact that the item's caster level is not listed in the prerequisites in the magic item lists, and the only relevant text I can find reads, "A creator can create an item at a lower caster level than her own, but never lower than the minimum level needed to cast the needed spell."

This doesn't seem to square with the CLs listed for specific magic items; for instance, a Belt of Giant Strength +2 has CL 8th, but the only spell required in its creation, bull's strength, has a minimum caster level of 3.

Am I missing anything here?


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber
Mattrex wrote:

...

This doesn't seem to square with the CLs listed for specific magic items; for instance, a Belt of Giant Strength +2 has CL 8th, but the only spell required in its creation, bull's strength, has a minimum caster level of 3.

Am I missing anything here?

The CL of 8 is used to determine its relative power and how hard it is to use Dispel Magic against. Its not actually the CL required to craft the item. The CL3 for casting Bull's Strength would be correct not CL8.

I am drawing from the magic item desc section found on page460 or on the PRD in Magic Items.

Here is the specific section I am looking at.
Caster Level (CL): The next item in a notational entry gives the caster level of the item, indicating its relative power. The caster level determines the item's saving throw bonus, as well as range or other level-dependent aspects of the powers of the item (if variable). It also determines the level that must be contended with should the item come under the effect of a dispel magic spell or similar situation.

Of course I am drawing also from my 3.5 knowledge so I am happy to be shown if something changed in PRPG that I missed.


Quote:
For potions, scrolls, and wands, the creator can set the caster level of an item at any number high enough to cast the stored spell but not higher than her own caster level. For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the item itself. In this case, the creator's caster level must be as high as the item's caster level (and prerequisites may effectively put a higher minimum on the creator's level).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Caster Levels and Magic Item Crafting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.