Monk Attack Bonus Confusion


Rules Questions


I guess I would just like clarification of under what conditions a monk is using his level in place of BAB.

As I read it: Flurry of Blows = monk level, >= level 3 = monk level, normal attacks = monk level (maybe), qualifications = BAB

Under Flurry of Blows it also states: "For the purpose of these
attacks, the monk’s base attack bonus is equal to his monk
level. For all other purposes, such as qualifying for a feat or a
"prestige class, the monk uses his normal base attack bonus."

Does this mean that a monk making a standard action attack using unarmed strike or monk weapons uses his monk level as BAB?

Thanks!


Monks use their level in place of their BAB when using their Flurry of Blows ability. That said, as Flurry of Blows is essentially considered two-weapon fighting these attacks suffer the normal -2 penalty to hit.

At 3rd level, monks can begin using their level in place of their BAB for the purpose of determining their Combat Maneuver Bonus.

For all other purposes, monks use their normal BAB as given in Table 3-10: Monk.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monk Attack Bonus Confusion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.