Required Level and Enchanting


Rules Questions


The enchanting rules state that the only requirement that can not be bypassed is the specific feat for the enchanting.

Does this mean that the Caster level can also be bypassed at an addional +4 to teh target DC?

Example A) Level 12 Wizard with Spellcraft of 26 (12 ranks +3 Class skill +5 int +6 Skill Focus) wants to enchant a +5 sword. Usually this would require a caster level of 15. Can he enchant the sword with a Spell craft roll of 25? 5 + 15 (caster level required for +5 sword) +5 (does not meet requirement of caster level)? Automatic Success.

Example B) The same wizard wants to create a +5 tome of understanding. 5 + 17 (caster level required for Tome) +5 (not meeting the caster level requirement) +5 (does not know wish) = 32 Which he can make on a 6 or higher?

I Suspect that the Caster level like feat SHOULD be un-bypassable, but want to verify this.


The rules do explicitly say that you can create an item with a caster level lower than your own, but they don't say you can create one with a higher caster level. It's a bit unclear, but it probably means you can't create items with a higher caster level than your own.


Quote:
For potions, scrolls, and wands, the creator can set the caster level of an item at any number high enough to cast the stored spell but not higher than her own caster level. For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the item itself. In this case, the creator's caster level must be as high as the item's caster level (and prerequisites may effectively put a higher minimum on the creator's level).

This suggests that caster level is not required as a prerequisite that can be bypassed.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Required Level and Enchanting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.