3 Questions blind fighting, Lay hands, grapple


Rules Questions


1)Blind feat it keeps you from losing your dex vs invisible people but doesnt say any thing about darkness or blinded fighting some one... The feat name is blind-fighting and yet when blinded or in darkness you dont retain your dex is this right?

2)Lay of hands can get a mercy that heals the nauseated condition. Nauseated keeps you from attacking, casting spells, concentrating on spells, ("or do anything else requiring attention"<< I hate how open that comet is in the book) the only thing you can do is use a move action while nauseated. Since paladins can lay hands them self for a swift action can you use your move action to lay hands your self healing your nauseated condition? Since a stander action can be used for another move action, move actions can be used as swift actions right? and if so Lay hands is a (su) ability meaning its not a spell thus one of the actions you can use while nauseated?

3) If you have both improved grapple and greater grapple can you use your stander action to grab some one (and since the Greater grapple feat lets you use a move action to "maintain" as it says and do 2 grapple checks in the same round) also use your move action grapple check to move some one (all in the same round)?

Thanks for every ones time in this.

Scarab Sages

mooinglink wrote:
1)Blind feat it keeps you from losing your dex vs invisible people but doesnt say any thing about darkness or blinded fighting some one... The feat name is blind-fighting and yet when blinded or in darkness you dont retain your dex is this right?

You don't lose your dex bonus normally against someone attacking you from the darkness.

mooinglink wrote:


2)Lay of hands can get a mercy that heals the nauseated condition. Nauseated keeps you from attacking, casting spells, concentrating on spells, ("or do anything else requiring attention"<< I hate how open that comet is in the book) the only thing you can do is use a move action while nauseated. Since paladins can lay hands them self for a swift action can you use your move action to lay hands your self healing your nauseated condition? Since a stander action can be used for another move action, move actions can be used as swift actions right? and if so Lay hands is a (su) ability meaning its not a spell thus one of the actions you can use while nauseated?

You could use your single move action while nauseated to Lay on Hands yourself and remove it, yes.

mooinglink wrote:


3) If you have both improved grapple and greater grapple can you use your stander action to grab some one (and since the Greater grapple feat lets you use a move action to "maintain" as it says and do 2 grapple checks in the same round) also use your move action grapple check to move some one (all in the same round)?

Thanks for every ones time in this.

If you have all your actions and use your Standard one to initiate a grapple, and succeed, then yes. You could then use your move action (on the same turn) to attempt another Grapple check that would allow you to move the opponent.

Your God of Knowledge,
Nethys


Nethys thanks for your reply I see that you seem to answer every one I was just wondering are you apart of the pathfinders team or just really into answering a lot of questions? Reason I ask is I know my D&D group will. Thanks again.

Scarab Sages

I am only a deity interested in seeing the rules of Pathfinder understood wholly and completely.

Your God of Knowledge,
Nethys


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber
Nethys wrote:

...

mooinglink wrote:


2)Lay of hands can get a mercy that heals the nauseated condition. Nauseated keeps you from attacking, casting spells, concentrating on spells, ("or do anything else requiring attention"<< I hate how open that comet is in the book) the only thing you can do is use a move action while nauseated. Since paladins can lay hands them self for a swift action can you use your move action to lay hands your self healing your nauseated condition? Since a stander action can be used for another move action, move actions can be used as swift actions right? and if so Lay hands is a (su) ability meaning its not a spell thus one of the actions you can use while nauseated?

You could use your single move action while nauseated to Lay on Hands yourself and remove it, yes.

...

As as DM I don't think I would hesitate to allow my paladin player to use his LOH in this way, but you can't do it by the rules as written.

Move actions can't be downgraded into swift actions. As far as I know that only works in Star Wars SAGA not in 3.5 or PRPG (unless I just didn't see it in PRPG). As the condition specifically says only move actions allowed their is no way to get off the LOH.

Scarab Sages

ShadowChemosh wrote:


As as DM I don't think I would hesitate to allow my paladin player to use his LOH in this way, but you can't do it by the rules as written.

Move actions can't be downgraded into swift actions. As far as I know that only works in Star Wars SAGA not in 3.5 or PRPG (unless I just didn't see it in PRPG). As the condition specifically says only move actions allowed their is no way to get off the LOH.

In this case, it doesn't matter.

PRPG wrote:


Restricted Activity: In some situations, you may be unable to take a full round's worth of actions. In such cases, you are restricted to taking only a single standard action or a single move action (plus free and swift actions as normal). You can't take a full-round action (though you can start or complete a full-round action by using a standard action; see below).
PRPG wrote:


You can take a swift action anytime you would normally be allowed to take a free action.

Being Nauseated results in a restricted activity where you can only take a single move action. Free and swift actions can be performed as normal.

Your God of Knowledge,
Nethys


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber
Nethys wrote:

...

PRPG wrote:


Restricted Activity: In some situations, you may be unable to take a full round's worth of actions. In such cases, you are restricted to taking only a single standard action or a single move action (plus free and swift actions as normal). You can't take a full-round action (though you can start or complete a full-round action by using a standard action; see below).

...

Thanks had not seen that yet in PRPG.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / 3 Questions blind fighting, Lay hands, grapple All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.