Death Domain (Bleeding Touch) - stack the damage?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

In the beta rules it specifically mentioned that touching a creature affected by this ability caused the duration to reset but the effects did not stack. It also mentioned that the damage caused was bleed damage which is also defined as not stacking.

The new rules now do not mention either reference. In case this was an oversight, I thought I should mention it, as right now it appears the damage does stack in the consecutive rounds. (albeit the effect duration is now much shorter, and its use is limited).


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber
Kor - Orc Scrollkeeper wrote:

In the beta rules it specifically mentioned that touching a creature affected by this ability caused the duration to reset but the effects did not stack. It also mentioned that the damage caused was bleed damage which is also defined as not stacking.

The new rules now do not mention either reference. In case this was an oversight, I thought I should mention it, as right now it appears the damage does stack in the consecutive rounds. (albeit the effect duration is now much shorter, and its use is limited).

Bleed is a condition listed on pg565 and it says "Bleed effects do not stack with each other unless they deal different kinds of damage."

Hope that helps.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
ShadowChemosh wrote:
Kor - Orc Scrollkeeper wrote:

In the beta rules it specifically mentioned that touching a creature affected by this ability caused the duration to reset but the effects did not stack. It also mentioned that the damage caused was bleed damage which is also defined as not stacking.

The new rules now do not mention either reference. In case this was an oversight, I thought I should mention it, as right now it appears the damage does stack in the consecutive rounds. (albeit the effect duration is now much shorter, and its use is limited).

Bleed is a condition listed on pg565 and it says "Bleed effects do not stack with each other unless they deal different kinds of damage."

Hope that helps.

Thanks for trying to help, but you are only restating what I already stated "It also mentioned that the damage caused was bleed damage which is also defined as not stacking." :)

What I am pointing out, is that this ability no longer mentions that it is a bleed effect -- therefore the effects appear to stack.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber
Kor - Orc Scrollkeeper wrote:

..

Thanks for trying to help, but you are only restating what I already stated "It also mentioned that the damage caused was bleed damage which is also defined as not stacking." :)

What I am pointing out, is that this ability no longer mentions that it is a bleed effect -- therefore the effects appear to stack.

Yep guess I read your question a little quickly. The ability says "As a melee touch attack, you can cause a living creature to take 1d6 points of damage per round." It doesn't actually say a type of damage so without an errata it does appear that they would stack.

Going by the fact that its only usable x times per day instead of at will I think it is meant to stack to keep it useful. I mean if I have the Fire domain each Fire Bolt causes 1d6 damage so why not the one from the Death Domain.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
ShadowChemosh wrote:
Going by the fact that its only usable x times per day instead of at will I think it is meant to stack to keep it useful. I mean if I have the Fire domain each Fire Bolt causes 1d6 damage so why not the one from the Death Domain.

Yes, I think they probably average out close to the same, so now I am fairly certain that it is meant to stack. The energy attacks like fire do 1d6 +1 per 2 cleric levels, where-as the Bleeding Touch only does 1d6 damage per round (no bonus damage), but continues for a few rounds. So I am even more convinced that failing to term this as "bleed" damage (like they did in BETA) was not an oversight :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Death Domain (Bleeding Touch) - stack the damage? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.