List of 3 rules questions


Rules Questions


1. Claws and light shields
Could you use your claw attacks with the same arm that has your light shield on?
2. Say you are using two light shields and have claws.
Would your TWF or other minuses apply to using claws with the shields on?
3. Greater Vital Strike and Improved Vital strike; do they replace each other?
Say you have TWF and you have both of these feats, could you apply 1 vital strike feat to one of your two attacks at your highest base attack bonus, and then apply one to your other attack at your other highest base attack bonus attack?

Thank You

Scarab Sages

Sir Hexen Ineptus wrote:

1. Claws and light shields

Could you use your claw attacks with the same arm that has your light shield on?
2. Say you are using two light shields and have claws.
Would your TWF or other minuses apply to using claws with the shields on?
3. Greater Vital Strike and Improved Vital strike; do they replace each other?
Say you have TWF and you have both of these feats, could you apply 1 vital strike feat to one of your two attacks at your highest base attack bonus, and then apply one to your other attack at your other highest base attack bonus attack?

Thank You

1. You cannot use a weapon, even a natural one, in the same hand as a light or heavy shield.

2. You could not do this. See #1.
3. You can only make a single attack with any Vital Strike as an attack action, usually a Standard Action. You cannot use Vital Strike with a Full Attack Action.

Your God of Knowledge,
Nethys


Nethys wrote:

1. You cannot use a weapon, even a natural one, in the same hand as a light or heavy shield.
2. You could not do this. See #1.
3. You can only make a single attack with any Vital Strike as an attack action, usually a Standard Action. You cannot use Vital Strike with a Full Attack Action.

Your God of Knowledge,
Nethys

1 & 2: OK

3: Where are you getting this standard action language from the feats or rules? An attack action is an attack action, and if you have a full round action you get multiple attack actions if you have the feats, and base attack bonus to grant you such. So two weapon fighting grants you two attack actions at your highest base attack bonus.

To say otherwise means you can't perform multiple Combat maneuvers during an full round attack action with the combat maneuvers that use an attack action.

Scarab Sages

Sir Hexen Ineptus wrote:


1 & 2: OK
3: Where are you getting this standard action language from the feats or rules? An attack action is an attack action, and if you have a full round action you get multiple attack actions if you have the feats, and base attack bonus to grant you such. So two weapon fighting grants you two attack actions at your highest base attack bonus.

To say otherwise means you can't perform multiple Combat maneuvers during an full round attack action with the combat maneuvers that use an attack action.

First of all, none of the Combat Maneuevers use an attack action. They are used as a Standard Action or in "place of an attack". Sunder is the only one that mentions attack actions, but even then it says "as part of an attack action in place of an attack".

Second:

Jason Bulmahn wrote:

Hey there all,

Couple of notes. Generally speaking, when reading feats, the descriptive sentence at the very beginning is just that, descriptive. It is not generally rules text.

As for the Vital Strike issue... just roll the damage dice for the weapon twice. Everything else is as normal. If you normally deal 1d8+4 with a longsword, you would deal 2d8+4 with a longsword using Vital Strike.

Vital Strike is an attack action, btw, which is a standard action. You cannot use it as part of a full-attack action.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing

This should clear things up. He does add a bit more to that in another thread, that it can be used in some unique situations such as a Charge, but no matter what you can only make a single attack in a turn you use it.

I will agree that the 'attack action' language is a bit confusing, and it almost implies that Sunder is part of a 'standard action'. This should hopefully be clarified with errata in the future.

Your God of Knowledge,
Nethys


Sir Hexen Ineptus wrote:


2. Say you are using two light shields and have claws.

I think there's the Improved Ridiculous Character Build feat for that ;-P

Sir Hexen Ineptus wrote:


Say you have TWF and you have both of these feats, could you apply 1 vital strike feat to one of your two attacks at your highest base attack bonus, and then apply one to your other attack at your other highest base attack bonus attack?

Vital strike is when you get one attack, and one attack only.

Doesn't work that well with two-weapon fighting, but the question is: should it?


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber
Sir Hexen Ineptus wrote:

1. Claws and light shields

Could you use your claw attacks with the same arm that has your light shield on?
2. Say you are using two light shields and have claws.
Would your TWF or other minuses apply to using claws with the shields on?
3. Greater Vital Strike and Improved Vital strike; do they replace each other?
Say you have TWF and you have both of these feats, could you apply 1 vital strike feat to one of your two attacks at your highest base attack bonus, and then apply one to your other attack at your other highest base attack bonus attack?

Thank You

1) Just to point out you could use a Buckler and a Claw attack. As a light shield and buckler give the same +1 Shield bonus it makes little difference. Normal rules apply and you take a -1 to hit and lose the shields AC until next round.

1a) From Complete Warrior pg100 you could take Improved Buckler Defense and keep your buckler AC even when using that off-hand claw attack.
2) Even if you did have two bucklers in this case you only get +1 to your AC as the same named bonuses (ie shield) do not stack, but you would take the -1 to hit with each claw.
3) Nethys covered that one really well.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / List of 3 rules questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.