Sorcerer draconic bloodline claws


Rules Questions


The claws that a sorcerer with the draconic bloodline gets state that they use full base attack bonus for attacks. Does that mean just base attack derived from class or does it include base attack plus ability modifiers?

EDIT: I'm assuming that where the rules reference "Full Base Attack Bonus" such as in the Cleave feat and in the Sorcerer draconic bloodline claws description, it means base attack from class plus related ability modifier but I wanted to clarify.


Toric wrote:

The claws that a sorcerer with the draconic bloodline gets state that they use full base attack bonus for attacks. Does that mean just base attack derived from class or does it include base attack plus ability modifiers?

EDIT: I'm assuming that where the rules reference "Full Base Attack Bonus" such as in the Cleave feat and in the Sorcerer draconic bloodline claws description, it means base attack from class plus related ability modifier but I wanted to clarify.

It means that the claws are considered natural weapons, and as such, the Sorcerer does not suffer from penalties for making two attacks (one for each Claw) with them.

Assuming a Sorcerer 4th/Fighter 2nd (BaB +4) with Str 14, the Full Attack will be: 2 Claws +6 (1d4+2).

The same Sorcerer wielding a manufactured weapon will have only a single attack at +6 - unless he uses a one-handed or light weapon and one of his claws, in which case he would use the rules for creatures with both manufactured and natural weapons (see page 182 on the bottom and page 184 on the top).


My question wasn't so much about the "Full" portion of the "Full Base Attack Bonus" as it was about whether you got your related ability modifier included in your full base attack bonus. I understand that the sorcerer with the draconic bloodline and claws gets two attacks at no two-weapon penalties. I just wanted to make sure full base attack bonus meant base attack derived from class plus appropriate ability modifier and not just base attack derived from class.


James Santagate wrote:
My question wasn't so much about the "Full" portion of the "Full Base Attack Bonus" as it was about whether you got your related ability modifier included in your full base attack bonus. I understand that the sorcerer with the draconic bloodline and claws gets two attacks at no two-weapon penalties. I just wanted to make sure full base attack bonus meant base attack derived from class plus appropriate ability modifier and not just base attack derived from class.

I'm pretty sure you would calculate your attack bonus as you would with a standard melee weapon, which would be to include your STR mod.

If anything "Full Base Attack Bonus" is probably just a fancy way of saying "no two-weapon fighting penalties."

Dark Archive

Shadow13.com wrote:
James Santagate wrote:
My question wasn't so much about the "Full" portion of the "Full Base Attack Bonus" as it was about whether you got your related ability modifier included in your full base attack bonus. I understand that the sorcerer with the draconic bloodline and claws gets two attacks at no two-weapon penalties. I just wanted to make sure full base attack bonus meant base attack derived from class plus appropriate ability modifier and not just base attack derived from class.

I'm pretty sure you would calculate your attack bonus as you would with a standard melee weapon, which would be to include your STR mod.

If anything "Full Base Attack Bonus" is probably just a fancy way of saying "no two-weapon fighting penalties."

Also, it distinguishes it from iterative attacks granted by a BAB of 6 or higher. A fighter with BAB +7 can make two sword attacks, but the second attack only gets +2 from his BAB (effectively). The sorcerer with a BAB of +4 can make two claw attacks with both of them getting the "full BAB" of +4.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sorcerer draconic bloodline claws All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.