Earth Mastery question


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Card Game, Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

Hello,

I'm prepping an upcoming encounter with earth elementals (ee), and I'm trying to wrap my head around Earth Mastery.

Can ee end their turn within stone?
I'm assuming they can. So, in effect, they could attack, then sink/move into the floor? If that is the case ee's just became much tougher.

Thanks!

RPG Superstar 2009 Top 8

Elorebaen wrote:

Hello,

I'm prepping an upcoming encounter with earth elementals (ee), and I'm trying to wrap my head around Earth Mastery.

Can ee end their turn within stone?
I'm assuming they can. So, in effect, they could attack, then sink/move into the floor? If that is the case ee's just became much tougher.

Thanks!

Provided the floor is something they can actually sink into, then yes I believe they can.

Note that this will not make it as hard as you think since, once the elementals use this tactic for a round. The party will quickly adapt by readying their action.

"I attack as soon as it rises from the ground"


Not only that the player would get an attack of opportunity as it left (unless it did a 5 ft step and was less then 5 ft tall).

So if its a man sized (M) elemental it can MOVE to get all the way udner the ground (which provokes an attack of opportunity). Or it can take a 5' step downward which leaves part of it still above the ground and able to be attacked.

Scarab Sages

Or it can attack and disappear for a few turns, until the party does something else...then attack again, from the ceiling...or the wall as it moves around...


Pathfinder Card Game, Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

Thank you for the thoughts everyone!

Scarab Sages

Elorebaen wrote:

Hello,

I'm prepping an upcoming encounter with earth elementals (ee), and I'm trying to wrap my head around Earth Mastery.

Can ee end their turn within stone?
I'm assuming they can. So, in effect, they could attack, then sink/move into the floor? If that is the case ee's just became much tougher.

Thanks!

Yes, they are to Earth as a fish is to Water. They can thus take 5 ft. steps 'into' the Earth, move into it, withdraw into it, etc.

Your God of Knowledge,
Nethys

Grand Lodge

A great attack for Earth Elementals is Spring Attack. Essentially the EE can move, make its attack, and continue moving INTO the ground, without provoking an AoO.

Just a NASTY combination.

Now this assumes in the Bestiary that EEs can manage to meet the prereqs.


Hehe... an Earth Elemental with Dodge... Nifty!

Wow! Did you just see how that Lump of dirt moved? Yeah.. Real Ninja-like.. Dang!

Makes me giggle a bit... It is possible I guess. There are always the freaks of nature...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Earth Mastery question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.