Pathfinder Society Rules 2.0 F.A.Q.


Pathfinder Society

401 to 450 of 594 << first < prev | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | next > last >>
Sovereign Court

JoelF847 wrote:
Isn't that the same in home play campaigns that have nothing to do with PFS? Why should PFS treat it any differently?

Well, game balance issues for one. Also, magic armors and weapons can be upgraded, but I can't find any rule that actually states it as so. Is it merely PFS exclusive, or something people have just adopted as a basic rule?

Liberty's Edge Venture-Agent, Online

Some friends and I were discussing traits for PFS characters and there seemed to be confusion.

Must one of the character's 2 traits be a faction trait, or can they pick both of their traits from two of the other lists (say Combat and Faith)?

Lantern Lodge Venture-Captain, Germany— Südwest

Michael Hallet wrote:

Some friends and I were discussing traits for PFS characters and there seemed to be confusion.

Must one of the character's 2 traits be a faction trait, or can they pick both of their traits from two of the other lists (say Combat and Faith)?

That's allready answered in the FAQ. Also the Campaign Guide says nothing about you having to take a faction trait.

Pick the traits as you wish, but only 1 from each category.

Lantern Lodge 5/5 Regional Venture-Coordinator, Asia-Pacific aka DarkWhite

Joshua Frost (Events Manager) wrote:
# On traits, as it says, you may select a faction trait as your campaign trait and then may select any other traits. So, yes, you could select a race trait and a region trait instead of one of the faction traits.

In other words, there are no restrictions on trait selection, other than the usual condition that no two traits may be selected from the same category. Note that Faction traits fall under the Campaign traits category, and are particularly appropriate for Society characters.

5/5 Regional Venture-Coordinator, Northeast aka Shivok

Can you use the Tiefling, Goblin, and Tengu races for characters?


Shivok wrote:
Can you use the Tiefling, Goblin, and Tengu races for characters?

No, just races from the PFRPG Core Rulebook (according to the document).


Shivok wrote:
Can you use the Tiefling, Goblin, and Tengu races for characters?

The guide says All of the options in the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Core Rulebook are available to you

So I would say that is a no. Unless they change it once the bestiary comes out

Edit awww Nintendo

Liberty's Edge Venture-Agent, Online

Wolf Alexander Vituschek wrote:

That's allready answered in the FAQ. Also the Campaign Guide says nothing about you having to take a faction trait.

Pick the traits as you wish, but only 1 from each category.

Thanks. I tried using the search feature, but it didn't turn up this thread and didn't feel like reading through 400+ posts to see if it had been asked before.

Hopefully the search feature can be enhanced or this is only likely to get worse as this FAQ thread gets even larger.

Liberty's Edge

I'm currently converting a Season 0 Pathfinder Society character, as per the guidelines in the PFS document.

What I observed was that the Prestige Points for my character are no longer synchronized with the record on the web site. Is this something that will be adjusted at some point in the future, or is this discrepancy expected?

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I recently ran a year 0 module that I had not played. I reported the module, but I have a few questions about how to report me eating the module. Do I simply add an extra player to the table (ie my character)?


Alceste008 wrote:
I recently ran a year 0 module that I had not played. I reported the module, but I have a few questions about how to report me eating the module. Do I simply add an extra player to the table (ie my character)?

yes.

Liberty's Edge 3/5

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
SpectacledBear wrote:

I'm currently converting a Season 0 Pathfinder Society character, as per the guidelines in the PFS document.

What I observed was that the Prestige Points for my character are no longer synchronized with the record on the web site. Is this something that will be adjusted at some point in the future, or is this discrepancy expected?

I would say this is an expected discrepancy. Heck, I am not even sure if actualy Prestige Points are accurate on-line. It depends on everything getting reported correctly and as a player that is out of your control.

The most accurate record will always be the certificates you fill out at the end of each adventure.

Liberty's Edge

Githzilla wrote:

I would say this is an expected discrepancy. Heck, I am not even sure if actualy Prestige Points are accurate on-line. It depends on everything getting reported correctly and as a player that is out of your control.

The most accurate record will always be the certificates you fill out at the end of each adventure.

Thank you for your reply! This is what I was leaning towards, but wanted to verify that it was legitimate before I played another scenario.


Wizards copying spells into their spellbooks from scrolls found during scenarios or from the spellbooks of other wizards (PC or NPC). How does this work in PFS? Lets say you have two PC wizards participating in the same mission. Assuming they have the time and money during the scenario to buy the necessary components, are they allowed to copy spells from each other's spellbooks?

Let's assume these two wizards are on about equal level and co-operate on most missions they play. Every time one of them learns a new spell, the other one copies the new spell into his own spellbook as well (again, assuming they have the required time and money available during the scenario). This means these two wizards effectively gain double the amount of new spells each level. When the wizards are of a high enough level, the cost to copy spells isn't really a problem anymore.

A wizard finds a scroll with a new spell during the scenario. He copies it into his spellbook. The scroll vanishes, obviously. Then it reappears on the chronicle sheet. Of course the other wizard in the party can also copy the new spell from the first wizard's spellbook.

Color me perplexed.


Are the "bonus" spells available in Gods and Magic legal for play in Pathfinder Society? I don't mean the "new" spells (such as a Cleric of Asmodeus being able to cast Infernal Healing), I know those are legal---I mean the spells that followers of certain gods can get that normally they wouldn't have access to. For example, bards of Sarenrae are able to cast Flame Blade second level per Gods and Magic.
Thanks


Kjob wrote:

Are the "bonus" spells available in Gods and Magic legal for play in Pathfinder Society? I don't mean the "new" spells (such as a Cleric of Asmodeus being able to cast Infernal Healing), I know those are legal---I mean the spells that followers of certain gods can get that normally they wouldn't have access to. For example, bards of Sarenrae are able to cast Flame Blade second level per Gods and Magic.

Thanks

Those options, like the class options earlier in the book, are not listed in Chapter 13 of the Guide, so they are not available.


I have a question about the spell "Beast Shape I". Do you acquire the natural armor of the creature polymorphed into? So, for example, if you cast Beast Shape I and changed into a small crocodile would your natural armor be +4 for the crocodile and then +1 bonus for the spell for a total of +5 to your ac from natural armor?

And what if you had a mage armor spell on you before you polymorphed? Would that bonus also still be active after you polymorphed into the above mentioned crocodile for a total of +9 to your ac?

Thank you in advance for your help.


I also have a question about the rage ability. Can a creature sneak attack while in a rage?

Can a creature use CMB while raging (to trip in particular)?

Can a creature use combat expertise while raging?

Thanks again!


Murgen wrote:
I have a question about the spell "Beast Shape I". Do you acquire the natural armor of the creature polymorphed into?

No, you get a +1 or +2 natural armor bonus, depending on whether you turned into a small or medium creature.

Murgen wrote:
And what if you had a mage armor spell on you before you polymorphed? Would that bonus also still be active after you polymorphed into the above mentioned crocodile for a total of +9 to your ac?

You would keep the mage armor spell, for a total of +6 to AC (+4 armor, +2 natural armor for a Medium creature).

Questions like these really belong in the Rules sub-forum, not the Pathfinder Society FAQ.


Polymorph: A polymorph spell transforms your physical body to take on the shape of another creature. While these spells make you appear to be the creature, granting you a +20 bonus on Disguise skill checks, they do not grant you all of the abilities and powers of the creature. Each polymorph spell allows you to assume the form of a creature of a specific type, granting you a number of bonuses to your ability scores and a bonus to your natural armor. In addition, each polymorph spell can grant you a number of other benefits, including movement types, resistances, and senses. If the form you choose grants these benefits, or a greater ability of the same type, you gain the listed benefit. If the form grants a lesser ability of the same type, you gain the lesser ability instead. Your base speed changes to match that of the form you assume. If the form grants a swim or burrow speed, you maintain the ability to breathe if you are swimming or burrowing. The DC for any of these abilities equals your DC for the polymorph spell used to change you into that form.

The whole "and a bonus to your natural armor." wording has me wondering whether or not a polymorphed creature gets to keep it's base natural armor. Because a bonus, to me, implies that you add it to something. Why would you say it that way if you were not adding the "bonus" to an existing natural armor? And since base race player characters don't come with natural armor I was left wondering if polymorphed creatures keep theirs.

I see that there is another Rules FAQ section in addition to this one. Will post my questions there also. Thanks.

Sovereign Court

Murgen wrote:

I also have a question about the rage ability. Can a creature sneak attack while in a rage?

Can a creature use CMB while raging (to trip in particular)?

Can a creature use combat expertise while raging?

Thanks again!

Not to nitpick too much, but these questions should probably be directed to the Pathfinder RPG Rules section, not in the Pathfinder Society section. This here is meant for questions regarding rules and contraditctions in Pathfinder Society, e.g. Nobility domain's 8th level ability (Leadership).

Seems like hogarth said the same thing. Why the second question? Ack, don't answer that.


Navdi wrote:
Wizards copying spells into their spellbooks from scrolls found during scenarios or from the spellbooks of other wizards (PC or NPC).

This has been answered already.

Wizards can copy spells from each other, and scrolls don't have to be purchased in order to scribe them. Scribing costs have to be paid.

---

I think we need some place to put all these questions and answers so that we don't have to go through a nine page thread to find them.


Callerno wrote:

I feel dull witted asking this.

My players have completed a scenario and one character wants to use Craft (Weapon) to make himself a crossbow. Does he do this in the normal manner described in the PFRPG core book? Is item crafting allowed or is the Craft skill only used for making money?

If allowed how should this be recorded on the Chronicle Sheet?
Craft (Weapon): Crossbow Xgp?

Please help!

The intent for PFS is that *no* item creation of any kind is allowed. As others have stated in your original thread the Day Job roll takes care of any money-making desires you might have with your Craft and Profession skills.

Owner - Pikes Comics

Can players purchase large or huge size weapons? (Even if it is just clubs and Qstaffs which cost 0)


A question about enchanting a wizard's bonded object.

A wizard wants to make his bonded ring into a ring of freedom of movement (market price: 40 000 gp, creation cost 20 000 gp). Let's assume he is sufficiently high level to do so and would succeed on any checks required, so core rules don't get in the way of this question. How much maximum prestige award does he require, if any?

a) No maximum prestige award required, because he's making it himself instead of buying from somewhere else.

b) Enough maximum prestige award points to buy an item worth the ring's creation cost (36 in this case to get access to items worth less than 23 000 gp), or none if he could buy it from a recent scenario chronicle.

c) Enough maximum prestige award points to buy an item even worth the ring's market price (45 in this case to get access to items worth less than 41 000 gp), or none if he could buy it from a recent scenario chronicle.

d) Something else, what?

Owner - Pikes Comics

lostpike wrote:
Can players purchase large or huge size weapons? (Even if it is just clubs and Qstaffs which cost 0)

Found it in the Guide. Can only purchase Medium or Small unless found during the mod. Question then is can I keep non-magical weapons that are large+ if I find them in a mod?

Paizo Employee Franchise Manager

lostpike wrote:
lostpike wrote:
Can players purchase large or huge size weapons? (Even if it is just clubs and Qstaffs which cost 0)
Found it in the Guide. Can only purchase Medium or Small unless found during the mod. Question then is can I keep non-magical weapons that are large+ if I find them in a mod?

Only if it's listed as available on your chronicle.

Owner - Pikes Comics

yoda8myhead wrote:
lostpike wrote:
lostpike wrote:
Can players purchase large or huge size weapons? (Even if it is just clubs and Qstaffs which cost 0)
Found it in the Guide. Can only purchase Medium or Small unless found during the mod. Question then is can I keep non-magical weapons that are large+ if I find them in a mod?
Only if it's listed as available on your chronicle.

But the problem with this is I thought they were only listing magic items therefore a nonmagical item woulnt get listed....

Paizo Employee Franchise Manager

lostpike wrote:
But the problem with this is I thought they were only listing magic items therefore a nonmagical item woulnt get listed....

It would if it were not available anytime. Since you can buy a +1 longsword at any time, even with no prestige, those won't ever show up on a chronicle. But you can't by a large maul under normal circumstances, even with 50 or 60 prestige points. So the only way to get one would be a) to use it during a scenario when a monster dropped it but not take it to the next scenario, or b) buy it at the end of said scenario if it appeared on your chronicle.


Lehmuska wrote:

A question about enchanting a wizard's bonded object.

A wizard wants to make his bonded ring into a ring of freedom of movement (market price: 40 000 gp, creation cost 20 000 gp). Let's assume he is sufficiently high level to do so and would succeed on any checks required, so core rules don't get in the way of this question. How much maximum prestige award does he require, if any?

a) No maximum prestige award required, because he's making it himself instead of buying from somewhere else.

b) Enough maximum prestige award points to buy an item worth the ring's creation cost (36 in this case to get access to items worth less than 23 000 gp), or none if he could buy it from a recent scenario chronicle.

c) Enough maximum prestige award points to buy an item even worth the ring's market price (45 in this case to get access to items worth less than 41 000 gp), or none if he could buy it from a recent scenario chronicle.

d) Something else, what?

A, though in reality he's not technically "making" the item, he's just using a class ability to imbue it with additional magical properties.


Deussu wrote:

A question about bows.

If you have a +1 Composite longbow with a strenght bonus of +1, can you upgrade the strength bonus by paying the difference (100 gp per increase)?

Josh, can we get an official answer on this? Seems like not being able to simply upgrade the strength bonus would be a huge penalty for ranged characters who manage to increase their character's strength.

ex. Having a +2 Flaming Composite Longbow Mighty +2, and wanting a +2 Flaming Composite Longbow Mighty +3 would cost the character 8,350 gp!


Upgrade by paying the difference.

The Exchange 5/5 Venture-Agent, Kentucky—Lexington

Joshua J. Frost wrote:
Upgrade by paying the difference.

Just to be sure, you are referring to both the Magical (+1 weapon to +2 weapon for 6000 gp) and the non-Magical (Masterwork Composite Longbow of +1 STR to +2 STR for 100 gp) are both available by paying the respective differences, 6000 gp and 100 gp?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

In the specific case of bows, yes.


Joshua J. Frost wrote:
Upgrade by paying the difference.

Thank you for the prompt reply! Archers rejoice!

The Exchange 5/5

Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I know this question has been asked elsewhere, but I haven't seen an official response on it. Is there a GP limit for the arcane bond item that a wizard receives at 1st level? I.E. would a Composite Longbow (Str +2) be out of question as being too expensive, or would it be a valid option for an elven wizard?


Page 78 of the PRPG Core Rulebook covers Arcane Bonded items.

As far as PFS and composite longbows are concerned, you can only start with a MW composite longbow (+0 Str) bonus at first level. If you later want to spend the 100 gp per Str bonus to increase that, you can, but you don't get a MW composite longbow with a Str bonus above +0 as your free weapon for the bonded item.

Liberty's Edge

After having read through all 9 pages of the thread, and at the risk of proving my ignorance... Do we follow the rule addage that New text trumps previous? I ask because as I was listing all the available/allowed weapons for society play I found a couple of discrepancies between a few weapons. Namely the Elven Curve Sword and Bladed Scarf. Elven Curve differs rather drastically between the Chronicles Campaign Setting and the PFRPG Core Rules, and the Bladed Scarf has some damage differences between the Curse of the Crimson Throne Players Guide and the Core Rules. I would assume that the Core Rules trumps the previous listing, but want to clarify.

Paizo Employee Franchise Manager

CorzatTheGray wrote:
After having read through all 9 pages of the thread, and at the risk of proving my ignorance... Do we follow the rule addage that New text trumps previous? I ask because as I was listing all the available/allowed weapons for society play I found a couple of discrepancies between a few weapons. Namely the Elven Curve Sword and Bladed Scarf. Elven Curve differs rather drastically between the Chronicles Campaign Setting and the PFRPG Core Rules, and the Bladed Scarf has some damage differences between the Curse of the Crimson Throne Players Guide and the Core Rules. I would assume that the Core Rules trumps the previous listing, but want to clarify.

In this case, I imagine that PFRPG versions of rules will always supersede 3.5 versions in the same way we use PFRPG power attack and not 3.5. For discrepancies among sources using the same rules set (hopefully that happens rarely) I think we'll have to rely on the table at the back of the GtPFSOP to tell us which is legal and which is/are not.

Liberty's Edge

yoda8myhead wrote:
In this case, I imagine that PFRPG versions of rules will always supersede 3.5 versions in the same way we use PFRPG power attack and not 3.5. For discrepancies among sources using the same rules set (hopefully that happens rarely) I think we'll have to rely on the table at the back of the GtPFSOP to tell us which is legal and which is/are not.

I agree with your imagining! PFRPG should indeed trump 3.5 versions of any rulings. As for legality, that's what I'm trying to pin down... which source is "more" legal in this case.

A little background on this: I was compiling a list of legal weapons from all sources as found in ch. 13 of the Guide to Society Play. In over 100 entries of weapons from the various tables found in the legal sources there were many repetitious entries. Upon comparing the entries the bladed scarf and elven curve blade were the only ones that had any discrepancy between themselves.

I'm not too worried about the possible typo that could be the cause for the bladed scarf's damage, as found in the Crimson Throne Player's Guide, listed as 1d3 for small and 1d6 for medium versus damage listed as 1d4 and 1d6 respectively in the Core Rulebook. Common sense and comparing the damages against others says that it more than likely is meant to be 1d4 and 1d6.

The elven curve blade, on the other hand, has differences in pricing, damage, crit threat and multiplier, and specials (such as a bonus to disarm attempts) between the two sources. This is a cause for concern for me since the differences are so drastic.

I may be making more of this than is strictly necessary, but when creating a 1st level pc I would rather only pay 24gp for the elven curve blade that is going to do 2d6 and 20/x3 crit with a bonus to disarm instead of an 80gp elven curve blade that will do 1d10 and 18-20/x2 and no bonus to disarm attempts. Much better bang for the buck as it were when only working with 150gp.

So, even though common sense and experience tell me that the newer text trumps old, I think a clear and concise clarification of which source is "MORE" legal in this, or any, case is in order.

Sorry, like I said, I may be making more of this than it needs to be.

Sovereign Court

From what I can tell, Elven Curved Blade switched from being a Greataxe clone (with disarm bonus) to a Falchion+ (average damage raised by ½).


Core rules always trump 3.5.


So players can purchase a +1 set of armor any time they have 1150gp, but characters who cannot wear armor have to wait until they have 9 PA to purchase Bracers of Armor +1?
The only characters that would use the Bracers are the ones who cannot wear armor (wizard, sorcerer and monk) and like the +1 magic armor it only adds one to AC, why do the three classes have to wait so long?
It seems unballanced.


BronzeSparrow wrote:

So players can purchase a +1 set of armor any time they have 1150gp, but characters who cannot wear armor have to wait until they have 9 PA to purchase Bracers of Armor +1?

The only characters that would use the Bracers are the ones who cannot wear armor (wizard, sorcerer and monk) and like the +1 magic armor it only adds one to AC, why do the three classes have to wait so long?
It seems unballanced.

Hey, you can always buy some potions of Mage Armor. :-)

Scarab Sages

What about the Loremaster? What are the requirements for that?


Sanakht Inaros wrote:
What about the Loremaster? What are the requirements for that?

Three metamagic feats and Skill Focus (Knowledge: any), I imagine.

Paizo Employee Franchise Manager

Sanakht Inaros wrote:
What about the Loremaster? What are the requirements for that?

I don't understand the question. The prerequisites are no different for the Loremaster in PFS than they are in the Core Rulebook, at least as far as I've read. Is there a particular reason this should be mentioned specifically in the Guide to PFS that I'm not grokking?


yoda8myhead wrote:
Sanakht Inaros wrote:
What about the Loremaster? What are the requirements for that?
I don't understand the question. The prerequisites are no different for the Loremaster in PFS than they are in the Core Rulebook, at least as far as I've read. Is there a particular reason this should be mentioned specifically in the Guide to PFS that I'm not grokking?

There are no item creation feats in PFS, and the prerequisites are:

"Any three metamagic or item creation feats, plus Skill Focus (Knowledge [any individual Knowledge skill])."

Presumably he's wondering if Spell Focus can substitute for item creation feats in the prerequisite list.

Paizo Employee Franchise Manager

hogarth wrote:
yoda8myhead wrote:
Sanakht Inaros wrote:
What about the Loremaster? What are the requirements for that?
I don't understand the question. The prerequisites are no different for the Loremaster in PFS than they are in the Core Rulebook, at least as far as I've read. Is there a particular reason this should be mentioned specifically in the Guide to PFS that I'm not grokking?

There are no item creation feats in PFS, and the prerequisites are:

"Any three metamagic or item creation feats, plus Skill Focus (Knowledge [any individual Knowledge skill])."

Presumably he's wondering if Spell Focus can substitute for item creation feats in the prerequisite list.

Ah, substitution. I just figured you'd take the three metamagic feats in addition to the spell focus. Sorry. I guess I should let Josh answer the questions here.

Scarab Sages

I could have sworn that someone else asked this question, but I couldn't find it.

401 to 450 of 594 << first < prev | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Pathfinder Society Rules 2.0 F.A.Q. All Messageboards