Mage Armor


General Discussion (Prerelease)


Since we don't have a spell section yet, I hope it is OK to post thie question here. Does the armor bonus from Mage Armor stack with normal non-magical armor?

In many years of DMing, I've haven't had many gish characters so this has not come up. I would think that one could have the bonus but it would not stack with magical enhancements on the armor. For example, a PC with leather armor, and Mage Armor would have an AC of 16 (10 +2 +4).

Just thought I'd check as I couldn't really find this addressed.


Gray wrote:

Since we don't have a spell section yet, I hope it is OK to post thie question here. Does the armor bonus from Mage Armor stack with normal non-magical armor?

Nope, since both armor and spell provide an armor bonus(Beta: p108 and p246) to AC. Same bonuses from different sources normally don't stack, see Pathfinder Beta, page 131 for further details.


Nor should it IMO! It's cool that the wizard gets an alternate form of (weightless) armor, but it shouldn't stack with regular armor. Now, there's a separate question as to whether you should be allowed to enchant your mage armor like regular armor. ;)

The Exchange

varianor wrote:
Nor should it IMO! It's cool that the wizard gets an alternate form of (weightless) armor, but it shouldn't stack with regular armor. Now, there's a separate question as to whether you should be allowed to enchant your mage armor like regular armor. ;)

I would allow it if made permanent, but that really hurts for dispel magic.


Thanks. I especially overlooked the paragraph on pg 108; Armor/Shield bonus. For some reaon, I had it in my mind that only "magical" armor bonuses did not stack.

Scarab Sages

Another thing you can ponder for your own games is if magical enhancements on real armor should stack with the armor bonus of MA.

For example.

Gene-Erik Guy is a sorcerer in +5 magic leather (having taken the feats to make leather comfortable for his casting). Obviously he gets a +2 armor bonus, and a +5 enhancement bonus (AC 17).

If he casts MA, can he then claim a +4 armor bonus, and a +5 enhancement bonus (AC 19)? He's not violating any stacking rules, though a lot of people balk at the idea.


Owen K. C. Stephens wrote:


For example.

Gene-Erik Guy is a sorcerer in +5 magic leather (having taken the feats to make leather comfortable for his casting). Obviously he gets a +2 armor bonus, and a +5 enhancement bonus (AC 17).

If he casts MA, can he then claim a +4 armor bonus, and a +5 enhancement bonus (AC 19)? He's not violating any stacking rules, though a lot of people balk at the idea.

No, it doesn't work that way.

Pathfinder Beta, p340 wrote:


In general, magic armor protects the wearer to a greater extent than nonmagical armor. Magic armor bonuses are enhancement bonuses, never rise above +5, and stack with regular armor bonuses (and with shield and magic shield enhancement bonuses).

I can see that the phrasing could lead to some arguments, but a magic armor bonus might be named an enhancement bonus but is still considered to be an armor bonus which is explicitly allowed to stack with the regular armor bonus from the armor(or shield for that matter) itself.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Another question is if a natural armor bonus stacks with mage armor. For example, a sorcerer with draconic bloodline has a +1 natural armor bonus from one of the bloodline abilities, would this stack with mage armor?


Rimrock wrote:
Another question is if a natural armor bonus stacks with mage armor. For example, a sorcerer with draconic bloodline has a +1 natural armor bonus from one of the bloodline abilities, would this stack with mage armor?

Yes, they'd stack since they are different bonus types. See Pathfinder Beta page 131 and 156.

Edit: If said sorcerer would put on an amulet of natural armor +1, it would not stack.


Amulets give an enhancement bonus to natural armor. It would stack with the feat, provided that it is not an enhancement bonus. For the same reason, you can Alter Self into a Lizardfolk for unnamed natural armor, and still benefit from your amulet of NA as an enhancement bonus.


Crusader of Logic wrote:
Amulets give an enhancement bonus to natural armor. It would stack with the feat, provided that it is not an enhancement bonus. For the same reason, you can Alter Self into a Lizardfolk for unnamed natural armor, and still benefit from your amulet of NA as an enhancement bonus.

Yes, of course I forgot about that and didn't bother to look into the rules. *slaps his head*


Fake Healer wrote:
varianor wrote:
Nor should it IMO! It's cool that the wizard gets an alternate form of (weightless) armor, but it shouldn't stack with regular armor. Now, there's a separate question as to whether you should be allowed to enchant your mage armor like regular armor. ;)
I would allow it if made permanent, but that really hurts for dispel magic.

I think if I allowed this variant, the enchanted mage armor would return full strength plus enhancements at next casting.


varianor wrote:
Now, there's a separate question as to whether you should be allowed to enchant your mage armor like regular armor. ;)

All joking aside, the "mages armor" (Bracers of Armor) can now hold armor enchantments as well as armor bonuses.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Roleplaying Game / General Discussion (Prerelease) / Mage Armor All Messageboards
Recent threads in General Discussion (Prerelease)
Druid / Monk?