Attacks of Opportunities while moving and later spellcasting


Combat & Magic


While playing a current Paizo adventure path with 3.5 rules, the following occurred that I need clarification on. It seems like there could be better wording (corrected in Pathfinder RPG to make it more clear than 3.5) so that is why I am brining it up here.

I was playing a cleric/fighter. I was currently threatened in hindering terrain (thus no 5 foot step allowed). I wanted to cast a spell. I sacrificed an attack of opportunity to move away from the creature (thus drawing an attack of opportunity, which is what I expected). I moved out of the threatened area with the move action. I then tried to cast a spell (a standard action while not being threatened). I was told that since the creature had combat reflexes, it was taking another attack of opportunity because of my casting the spell - even though I was now casting it beyond its range. I understand getting an AoO for the spell if I was casting it in the threatened area. What I don't understand is why I would get one for casting it outside the threatened area just because I provoked an AoO earlier by moving. I was told that the grabbing the components, holy symbol, and thinking about how to cast the spell happened during the move and therefore distracted me and caused me another AoO. I still don't understand this concept as I believed that spells were standard actions, not standard actions plus part of a move action.

Is this just a fluke and a misunderstanding with one of us or should Pathfinder RPG rules be written to make attacks of opportunity more clear than it was in 3.5?

Thanks.


sciencephile wrote:

While playing a current Paizo adventure path with 3.5 rules, the following occurred that I need clarification on. It seems like there could be better wording (corrected in Pathfinder RPG to make it more clear than 3.5) so that is why I am brining it up here.

I was playing a cleric/fighter. I was currently threatened in hindering terrain (thus no 5 foot step allowed). I wanted to cast a spell. I sacrificed an attack of opportunity to move away from the creature (thus drawing an attack of opportunity, which is what I expected). I moved out of the threatened area with the move action. I then tried to cast a spell (a standard action while not being threatened). I was told that since the creature had combat reflexes, it was taking another attack of opportunity because of my casting the spell - even though I was now casting it beyond its range. I understand getting an AoO for the spell if I was casting it in the threatened area. What I don't understand is why I would get one for casting it outside the threatened area just because I provoked an AoO earlier by moving. I was told that the grabbing the components, holy symbol, and thinking about how to cast the spell happened during the move and therefore distracted me and caused me another AoO. I still don't understand this concept as I believed that spells were standard actions, not standard actions plus part of a move action.

Is this just a fluke and a misunderstanding with one of us or should Pathfinder RPG rules be written to make attacks of opportunity more clear than it was in 3.5?

Thanks.

You provoke no attack of opportunity for casting the spell. Accessing material components and foci is a free action so long as they are accessible (hanging around your neck, belt pouch, in a handy haversack), and thus do not provoke, nor do they happen during your move. The only thing that happens during your move is moving (unless you have +1 BAB and choose to also draw a weapon as part of a move action, an action which provokes no attacks of opportunity anyway). Your DM is wrong for ruling otherwise, and his ruling has no basis in the rules, just fanciful 'this is how i think it should happen'.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion, Pawns, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

You DM just doesn't understand AoO rules. If you casted next to the creature then you would have given it an AoO.

Otherwise, like Squirrelloid said, no AoO should have been granted.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Roleplaying Game / Alpha Playtest Feedback / Alpha Release 2 / Combat & Magic / Attacks of Opportunities while moving and later spellcasting All Messageboards
Recent threads in Combat & Magic