Combat Maneuver DC wording


Combat & Magic

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2009 Top 8

The alpha rules (p. 41) reads: "Determine Success: If your attack roll exceeds the DC of the target, your maneuver is a success and has the listed.".

So, if the DC is 18 (first level-fighter with 15 strength) than the attacker must get 19. 19 exceeds 18.

Regarding DC's, the SRD reads: Some checks are made against a Difficulty Class (DC). The DC is a number (set using the skill rules as a guideline) that you must score as a result on your skill check in order to succeed."

Either the alpha rules are changing the nature of DC, the wording is misleading, or I am misunderstanding something?

Scarab Sages

Tarren Dei wrote:

The alpha rules (p. 41) reads: "Determine Success: If your attack roll exceeds the DC of the target, your maneuver is a success and has the listed.".

So, if the DC is 18 (first level-fighter with 15 strength) than the attacker must get 19. 19 exceeds 18.

Regarding DC's, the SRD reads: Some checks are made against a Difficulty Class (DC). The DC is a number (set using the skill rules as a guideline) that you must score as a result on your skill check in order to succeed."

Either the alpha rules are changing the nature of DC, the wording is misleading, or I am misunderstanding something?

I would expect it is just poorly worded. The whole concept of DC is that it *is* the target number, not the target number - 1. :)

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Roleplaying Game / Alpha Playtest Feedback / Alpha Release 1 / Combat & Magic / Combat Maneuver DC wording All Messageboards
Recent threads in Combat & Magic